AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AMDRyzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX | AMDRyzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | September 2020 | September 2020 |
| Cores and clocks | ||
| Cores | 12 | 16 (better) |
| Threads | 24 | 32 (better) |
| Base clock | 4 GHz | 3.9 GHz |
| Boost clock | 4.3 GHz | 4.3 GHz |
| L3 cache | 64 MB | 64 MB |
| Cores | Castle Peak; Zen 2. Tray ID 100-000000168. Announced 14 July 2020. Lenovo stated September 2020 availability for the first ThinkStation P620 systems, and confirmed them shipping on 14 October. Release is kept at OEM month precision; an exact first-sale day for this model is unpublished. The socket is sWRX8 according to LDLC’s exact tray listing; AMD’s current support page omits it. | Castle Peak; Zen 2. Boxed product ID 100-100000167WOF; tray ID 100-000000167. Announced 14 July 2020. Lenovo stated September 2020 availability for the first ThinkStation P620 systems, and confirmed them shipping on 14 October. Release is kept at OEM month precision; an exact first-sale day for this model is unpublished. AMD later announced March 2021 standalone retail availability for this model. |
| Clocks | Precision Boost 2; maximum boost up to 4.3 GHz. Locked for overclocking. | Precision Boost 2; maximum boost up to 4.3 GHz. Locked for overclocking. |
| Cache | L1 768 KB; L2 6 MB; L3 64 MB | L1 1024 KB; L2 8 MB; L3 64 MB |
| Graphics and AI | ||
| Built-in graphics | No | No |
| Graphics | A separate graphics card is required | A separate graphics card is required |
| Platform | ||
| Socket | sWRX8 | sWRX8 |
| Base power | 280 W | 280 W |
| Unlocked | No | No |
| Memory support | DDR4; eight channels; up to 3200 MT/s. AMD’s exact-model launch table supports up to 2 TB ECC UDIMM, RDIMM or LRDIMM memory; motherboard and system limits can be lower. | DDR4; eight channels; up to 3200 MT/s. AMD’s exact-model launch table supports up to 2 TB ECC UDIMM, RDIMM or LRDIMM memory; motherboard and system limits can be lower. |
| PCIe | PCIe 4.0; AMD’s exact-model launch table lists 128 lanes | PCIe 4.0; AMD’s exact-model launch table lists 128 lanes |
| Process | CPU cores: TSMC 7 nm FinFET | CPU cores: TSMC 7 nm FinFET |
| Cooler | AMD’s current specification does not state whether a cooler is included. Maximum operating temperature 90°C. | AMD’s current specification does not state whether a cooler is included. Maximum operating temperature 90°C. |
More comparisons
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9960X vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9970X vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9980X vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9960X vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9970X vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9980X vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9955WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9965WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9975WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9985WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3945WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9995WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9955WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9965WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9975WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9985WX
- AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9995WX
