Apple iPad Air 11″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M2)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

iPad Air 11″ (M2) compared with iPad Pro 11″ (M2)
AppleiPad Air 11″ (M2)AppleiPad Pro 11″ (M2)
Overview
ReleasedMay 2024October 2022
Display
Screen size10.86″11″
Resolution2360 × 16402388 × 1668 (better)
Sharpness265 pixels per inch265 pixels per inch
PanelLCDLCD
Refresh rate60 Hz120 Hz (better)
Brightness500 nits600 nits (better)
Display typeLiquid Retina display, LED-backlit IPS LCD; sold as 11-inch, 10.86 inches diagonally as a rectangleLiquid Retina display, LED-backlit IPS LCD
Pixel density264 ppi264 ppi
Display features60Hz refresh (Notebookcheck); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coatingProMotion up to 120Hz (Notebookcheck); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating with 1.8% reflectivity; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating
Performance
ChipM2M2
Memory8 GB8 GB – 16 GB (better)
Storage128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB (better)
CPU8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores; 8GB RAM on 128–512GB models, 16GB on 1–2TB models
GPU9-core GPU per Apple's corrected specifications; Media Engine with hardware-accelerated H.264 and HEVC, video encode and decode10-core GPU; 100GB/s memory bandwidth; Media Engine with hardware-accelerated H.264, HEVC, ProRes and ProRes RAW, video encode/decode and ProRes encode/decode
AI engine16-core Neural Engine16-core Neural Engine
Cameras
Rear camera12 MP12 MP
Ultra wide cameraNone10 MP
Front camera12 MP12 MP
Rear camera12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8; five-element lens; autofocus with Focus Pixels; up to 5x digital zoom; Smart HDR 4; panorama up to 63MP12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8, autofocus with Focus Pixels; 10MP Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 125°; five-element lenses; 2x optical zoom out, up to 5x digital zoom; True Tone flash; Smart HDR 4; sapphire crystal lens cover
Front cameraLandscape 12MP Center Stage camera, ƒ/2.0; Smart HDR 4; Retina Flash with True Tone; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps12MP TrueDepth Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 122°; Center Stage; Portrait mode and Portrait Lighting; Smart HDR 4; Retina Flash; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps
Video recording4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264ProRes up to 4K at 30 fps (1080p at 30 fps on 128GB models); 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps (Wide); 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264; stereo recording
Depth sensor–LiDAR Scanner
Battery and connections
Battery life (maker's claim)Up to 10 hoursUp to 10 hours
Battery capacity28.93 Wh (better)28.65 Wh
Mobile data optionYesYes
StylusSupported, sold separatelySupported, sold separately
Keyboard made for itYesYes
Battery life detailUp to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile dataUp to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile data
ChargingVia USB-C power adapter or computer; power adapter not included in the UK box; Apple does not specify maximum charging powerVia USB-C power adapter or computer; 20W adapter included, maximum charging power not specified by Apple
USB-CUSB-C with charging, DisplayPort and USB 3 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60HzUSB-C with charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 4 up to 40Gb/s, USB 3.1 Gen 2 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60Hz
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) with 2x2 MIMOWi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) with 2x2 MIMO; up to 2.4Gb/s
BluetoothBluetooth 5.3Bluetooth 5.3
Mobile networkOptional 5G (sub-6 GHz) with 4x4 MIMO and Gigabit LTE with 4x4 MIMO; eSIM only, no physical SIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; both Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi + Cellular models weigh 462gOptional 5G and LTE; nano-SIM and eSIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; 468g for Wi-Fi + Cellular, 466g for Wi-Fi; mmWave limited to US models
Stylus supportApple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; Apple Pencil hover; magnetic pairing and charging for Pencil ProApple Pencil (2nd generation) and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; hover detected up to 12mm above the display; USB-C Pencil compatibility added after launch
KeyboardsMagic Keyboard, available in black or white; Smart Connector; sold separatelyMagic Keyboard and Smart Keyboard Folio, sold separately; Smart Connector
Design
Weight462 g (better)466 g
Thickness6.1 mm5.9 mm (better)
Height × width247.6 × 178.5 mm247.6 × 178.5 mm
Operating systemiPadOSiPadOS
BiometricsTouch ID in the top buttonFace ID via TrueDepth camera
SpeakersLandscape stereo speakers with Spatial AudioFour-speaker audio
MicrophonesDual microphonesFive studio-quality microphones
SensorsThree-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compassThree-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compass
MaterialsEnclosure made with 100% recycled aluminiumEnclosure made with 100% recycled aluminium
ColoursBlue, Purple, Starlight, Space GreySilver, Space Grey
Software at launchiPadOS 17iPadOS 16
In the boxiPad Air, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m)iPad Pro, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m), 20W USB-C Power Adapter

More comparisons