Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M1) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleiPad Pro 12.9″ (M1) | AppleiPad Pro 12.9″ (M2) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | May 2021 | October 2022 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 12.9″ | 12.9″ |
| Resolution | 2732 × 2048 | 2732 × 2048 |
| Sharpness | 265 pixels per inch | 265 pixels per inch |
| Panel | Mini-LED | Mini-LED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Brightness | 600 nits | 600 nits |
| HDR peak brightness | 1,600 nits | 1,600 nits |
| Display type | Liquid Retina XDR display, mini-LED-backlit IPS LCD; 2596 full-array local dimming zones; 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio | Liquid Retina XDR display, mini-LED-backlit IPS LCD; 2596 full-array local dimming zones; 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio |
| Pixel density | 264 ppi | 264 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Up to 1000 nits full-screen HDR; 1600 nits peak for HDR content only | Up to 1000 nits full-screen HDR; 1600 nits peak for HDR content only |
| Display features | ProMotion up to 120Hz (TechRadar); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating with 1.8% reflectivity; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating | ProMotion up to 120Hz (TechRadar); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating with 1.8% reflectivity; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | M1 | M2 |
| Memory | 8 GB – 16 GB | 8 GB – 16 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB |
| CPU | 8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores; 8GB RAM on 128–512GB models, 16GB on 1–2TB models | 8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores; 8GB RAM on 128–512GB models, 16GB on 1–2TB models |
| GPU | 8-core GPU | 10-core GPU; 100GB/s memory bandwidth; Media Engine with hardware-accelerated H.264, HEVC, ProRes and ProRes RAW, video encode/decode and ProRes encode/decode |
| AI engine | 16-core Neural Engine | 16-core Neural Engine |
| Cameras | ||
| Rear camera | 12 MP | 12 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 10 MP | 10 MP |
| Front camera | 12 MP | 12 MP |
| Rear camera | 12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8, autofocus with Focus Pixels; 10MP Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 125°; five-element lenses; 2x optical zoom out, up to 5x digital zoom; True Tone flash; Smart HDR 3; sapphire crystal lens cover | 12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8, autofocus with Focus Pixels; 10MP Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 125°; five-element lenses; 2x optical zoom out, up to 5x digital zoom; True Tone flash; Smart HDR 4; sapphire crystal lens cover |
| Front camera | 12MP TrueDepth Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 122°; Center Stage; Portrait mode and Portrait Lighting; Smart HDR 3; Retina Flash; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps | 12MP TrueDepth Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 122°; Center Stage; Portrait mode and Portrait Lighting; Smart HDR 4; Retina Flash; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps |
| Video recording | 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps (Wide); 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264; stereo recording | ProRes up to 4K at 30 fps (1080p at 30 fps on 128GB models); 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps (Wide); 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264; stereo recording |
| Depth sensor | LiDAR Scanner | LiDAR Scanner |
| Battery and connections | ||
| Battery life (maker's claim) | Up to 10 hours | Up to 10 hours |
| Battery capacity | 40.88 Wh | 40.88 Wh |
| Mobile data option | Yes | Yes |
| Stylus | Supported, sold separately | Supported, sold separately |
| Keyboard made for it | Yes | Yes |
| Battery life detail | Up to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile data | Up to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile data |
| Charging | Via USB-C power adapter or computer; 20W adapter included, maximum charging power not specified by Apple | Via USB-C power adapter or computer; 20W adapter included, maximum charging power not specified by Apple |
| USB-C | USB-C with charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 4 up to 40Gb/s, USB 3.1 Gen 2 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60Hz | USB-C with charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 4 up to 40Gb/s, USB 3.1 Gen 2 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60Hz |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), simultaneous 2.4GHz and 5GHz, HT80 with MIMO | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) with 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.0 | Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Mobile network | Optional 5G and LTE; nano-SIM and eSIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; 685g for Wi-Fi + Cellular, 682g for Wi-Fi; mmWave limited to US models | Optional 5G and LTE; nano-SIM and eSIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; 684g for Wi-Fi + Cellular, 682g for Wi-Fi; mmWave limited to US models |
| Stylus support | Apple Pencil (2nd generation) and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; USB-C Pencil compatibility added after launch | Apple Pencil (2nd generation) and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; hover detected up to 12mm above the display; USB-C Pencil compatibility added after launch |
| Keyboards | Magic Keyboard and Smart Keyboard Folio, sold separately; Smart Connector | Magic Keyboard and Smart Keyboard Folio, sold separately; Smart Connector |
| Design | ||
| Weight | 682 g | 682 g |
| Thickness | 6.4 mm | 6.4 mm |
| Height × width | 280.6 × 214.9 mm | 280.6 × 214.9 mm |
| Operating system | iPadOS | iPadOS |
| Biometrics | Face ID via TrueDepth camera | Face ID via TrueDepth camera |
| Speakers | Four-speaker audio | Four-speaker audio |
| Microphones | Five studio-quality microphones | Five studio-quality microphones |
| Sensors | Three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compass | Three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compass |
| Materials | Enclosure made with 100% recycled aluminium | Enclosure made with 100% recycled aluminium |
| Colours | Silver, Space Grey | Silver, Space Grey |
| Software at launch | iPadOS 14.5; Apple's support page was subsequently updated to iPadOS 15 | iPadOS 16 |
| In the box | iPad Pro, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m), 20W USB-C Power Adapter | iPad Pro, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m), 20W USB-C Power Adapter |
More comparisons
- Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M1) vs Apple iPad Pro 13″ (M5)
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M5) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M5) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M1)
- Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 13″ (M5)
- Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 13″ (M4)
- Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M4) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M4) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M1)
- Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M1) vs Apple iPad Pro 13″ (M4)
- Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2) vs Xiaomi Xiaomi Pad 6S Pro 12.4
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M1)
- Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M1) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (2nd generation) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (4th generation) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)

