Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleMacintosh PowerBook 100 | AppleMacintosh PowerBook 140 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | October 1991 | October 1991 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 9″ | 10″ |
| Resolution | 640 × 400 | 640 × 400 |
| Touchscreen | No | No |
| Display type | 9-inch backlit FSTN monochrome LCD, 640 × 400 pixels at 1-bit colour (Apple service guide). | 10-inch backlit FSTN monochrome LCD, 640 × 400 pixels at 1-bit colour. Apple's 1991 product information rounds the diagonal to 10 inches; some later catalogues call it 9.8 inches. |
| Performance | ||
| Processor | 68000 16 MHz (PowerBook 100) | 68030 16 MHz (PowerBook 140) |
| CPU cores | 1 | 1 |
| Memory | 2 MB | 2 MB or 4 MB (better) |
| Storage | 20 MB to 40 MB | 20 MB to 40 MB |
| CPU | 16 MHz Motorola 68000; no FPU or processor cache. | 16 MHz Motorola 68030 with an integrated memory-management unit and no floating-point coprocessor. |
| Memory type | 2 MB on the logic board and one expansion slot; 8 MB maximum. | 2 MB pseudostatic RAM on the logic board and one expansion slot; 8 MB maximum. |
| Storage type | 20 MB or 40 MB internal SCSI hard drive; no built-in floppy drive. The HDI-20 port accepts an external floppy drive. | Original 20 MB and 40 MB internal SCSI hard-drive configurations; built-in 1.4 MB SuperDrive floppy drive. Apple's later support sheet lists 40–80 MB internal drives. |
| Battery and size | ||
| Battery life (maker's claim) | Up to 4 hours | Up to 3 hours |
| Weight | 2.3 kg (better) | 3.03 kg |
| Battery life detail | Sealed lead-acid battery; Apple claimed 2–4 hours of use before recharging. | Removable nickel-cadmium battery; Apple claimed 2–3 hours of use before recharging. |
| Connections | ||
| Operating system | macOS | macOS |
| Port detail | One Apple Desktop Bus (ADB) port, HDI-20 external floppy connector, HDI-30 SCSI connector, printer serial port and speaker output. No built-in Ethernet or video output. | One Apple Desktop Bus (ADB) port, HDI-30 SCSI connector, two RS-422 serial ports, mono audio input and stereo output. An internal 2400-baud fax modem was optional. |
| Keyboard | – | Built-in keyboard with a centred 30 mm trackball below the keys. |
| Trackpad | Built-in trackball. | Built-in trackball. |
| In the box | Original system software was System 7.0.1. Apple dates the model's introduction to 21 October 1991; its technical sheet does not state a separate first-sale day. | System 7.0.1, battery and AC adapter. Apple dates the model's introduction to 21 October 1991; the technical sheet does not state a separate first-sale day. |
More comparisons
- Apple MacBook Air 13″ (M5) vs Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (15-inch, Double-Layer SD)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (17-inch, Double-Layer SD)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (15-inch, Double-Layer SD)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (17-inch, Double-Layer SD)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (15-inch, 1.67/1.5GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (17-inch, 1.67GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (15-inch, 1.67/1.5GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (17-inch, 1.67GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (12-inch, 1.5GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (12-inch, 1.5GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (12-inch, 1.33GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (15-inch, 1.5/1.33GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (12-inch, 1.33GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 140 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (15-inch, 1.5/1.33GHz)
- Apple Macintosh PowerBook 100 vs Apple PowerBook G4 (17-inch, 1.5GHz)