Creative Sound Blaster Katana SE vs Creative Sound Blaster Katana V2X

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Sound Blaster Katana SE compared with Sound Blaster Katana V2X
CreativeSound Blaster Katana SECreativeSound Blaster Katana V2X
Overview
ReleasedMay 2023September 2022
Sound
TypeSoundbarSoundbar
Channels5.1 virtual2.1
Dolby AtmosNoNo
DriversFour active drivers: midrange and tweeter pairs, each independently powered in a one-piece enclosure; no separate subwoofer.Two 63 mm midrange drivers and two 19 mm tweeters in the soundbar; one 133 mm driver in the supplied wired subwoofer.
AmplifiersBi-amplified four-driver design controlled by a multicore DSP; maker rates total system power up to 90 W RMS and 180 W peak.DSP-controlled tri-amplified design. Maker rates total output up to 90 W RMS and 180 W peak: 50 W RMS soundbar and 40 W RMS subwoofer.
Frequency response55–20,000 Hz (maker specification; tolerance not stated).50–20,000 Hz (maker specification; tolerance not stated).
Audio formatsDolby Digital decoding over HDMI ARC or optical; 5.1 USB input on supported Windows, Mac and PlayStation platforms, with virtual surround from the single soundbar. USB high-resolution audio is supported up to 24-bit/96 kHz on supported sources.Dolby Digital decoding via HDMI ARC or optical; USB supports 5.1 input and high-resolution playback up to 24-bit/96 kHz on supported platforms. The physical system is 2.1; surround presentation is virtual.
Room tuningCreative Acoustic Engine, EQ and Scout Mode; SXFI Battle and personalised Super X-Fi processing for headphones. Personalisation uses the SXFI app.Sound Blaster Acoustic Engine, EQ, Scout Mode and headphone-only SXFI Battle Mode. Super X-Fi headphone personalisation uses a head-and-ear profile made in the SXFI app.
Connections
Wi-FiNoNo
BluetoothYesYes
AirPlayNoNo
HDMI eARCNoNo
Voice assistantsNoneNone
BluetoothBluetooth 5.0, SBC codec, A2DP and AVRCP; maker quotes up to 10 m open-space range.Bluetooth 5.0 receiver; SBC codec, A2DP and AVRCP. Maker quotes up to 10 m in open space; walls and structures affect range.
PortsHDMI ARC, USB-C audio, optical input, 3.5 mm AUX input, headphone/headset output, SXFI-out and DC power; no HDMI video passthrough.HDMI ARC, optical input, USB-C audio, 3.5 mm AUX input, headphone/headset output, SXFI-out, subwoofer connection and DC power. HDMI is for television return audio, not video passthrough.
StreamingBluetooth audio from compatible devices; no Wi-Fi or AirPlay receiver.Bluetooth audio from a compatible source; no Wi-Fi or AirPlay receiver.
AppCreative app for EQ, processing, mixer, controls and RGB lighting; SXFI app creates the headphone personalisation profile.Creative app for EQ, audio processing, mixer, RGB lighting and programmable controls; SXFI app for headphone personalisation. Maker lists Windows, macOS, iOS and Android application support, with functions varying by platform.
Design
Weight2.67 kg1.52 kg (better)
ControlsSoundbar controls, front display and supplied IR remote, with RGB lighting and selectable audio modes.Soundbar buttons and supplied IR remote; six customisable remote buttons, source selection, volume, bass/treble, EQ and RGB lighting presets.
MicrophonesDual front beamforming microphones for calls; no built-in voice assistant.Dual built-in beamforming microphones for calls; this is not a built-in voice-assistant system.
MountingTabletop placement or wall mounting beneath a television.Desk placement or wall mounting with the supplied mounting hardware.
SizeMaker lists 650 × 109 × 78 mm; soundbar weight 2.67 kg.Maker dimensions: soundbar 600 × 95 × 62 mm, 1.52 kg; subwoofer 116 × 250 × 423 mm, 3.3 kg. Listed weight is the soundbar alone, not the combined system.
ColoursBlackBlack
In the boxSoundbar, IR remote, power adapter and regional plugs, USB-C to USB-A cable, optical cable, wall-mount hardware and printed documentation.Soundbar, wired subwoofer, IR remote, power adapter with regional AC plugs, USB-C to USB-A cable, optical cable, wall-mount brackets and mounting kit, plus printed documentation.

More comparisons