Garmin Forerunner 205 vs Garmin Forerunner 301

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Forerunner 205 compared with Forerunner 301
GarminForerunner 205GarminForerunner 301
Overview
Released20062005
Display
Case sizes53.3 mm82.8 mm
Always-on displayYesYes
Display detailBacklit 33 × 20.3 mm monochrome display, 160 × 100 pixels; configurable training screens and physical buttons. Panel technology is not specified by Garmin.Backlit monochrome screen, 36.49 × 23.35 mm and 100 × 64 pixels; physical button controls. Panel technology is not specified in Garmin's manual.
Health and fitness
ECGNoNo
Blood oxygenNoNo
Skin temperatureNoNo
Sleep apnoea alertsNoNo
High blood pressure alertsNoNo
Body compositionNoNo
Fall detectionNoNo
Crash detectionNoNo
GPSSingle-bandSingle-band
SensorsHigh-sensitivity SiRFstarIII GPS receiver with antenna wrapped towards the sky; the 205 does not support the heart-rate or speed/cadence accessories of the 305.Twelve-channel GPS receiver and included digitally coded heart-rate chest strap; no optical wrist sensor.
Fitness featuresRunning, cycling and other-sport profiles; quick, interval and advanced workouts, course racing, Virtual Partner, Auto Pause, Auto Lap and pace, time and distance alerts.Running, biking and other-sport profiles; advanced and interval workouts, Virtual Partner, Auto Pause, Auto Lap, Auto Scroll and heart-rate, pace, time and distance alerts. AutoLearn adjusts heart-rate zones as fitness changes.
Safety featuresStores 100 locations and 50 routes; basic route display, direction to a stored location and navigation back to the start. No base maps.Basic map display, up to 100 stored locations and navigation back to the start or a saved location; no base maps.
Battery and connections
Battery life (maker's claim)Up to 10 hoursUp to 14 hours
Mobile data optionNoNo
Works withNo phone pairingNo phone pairing
Battery life detailInternal rechargeable lithium-ion battery; ten hours of typical use.Built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery; fourteen hours of typical use.
ChargingDocking cradle with AC charger and USB cable.AC charger and USB connection.
ConnectivityUSB computer transfer through the cradle; Garmin Training Center software and MotionBased analysis were supplied at launch. No direct phone pairing.USB computer interface; supplied Garmin Training Center software for analysing activities and creating workouts. No direct phone pairing.
StorageUp to 1,000 laps; smart recording or one-second recording.Up to 5,000 laps, with approximately two years of training history according to Garmin's series datasheet.
Design
Weight (lightest version)77 g (better)78 g
SoftwareGarminGarmin
Case materialsIPX7 immersion protection, one metre for thirty minutes; the owner's manual says it is not intended for swimming.Sealed high-impact plastic-alloy housing; IPX7 immersion protection, one metre for thirty minutes.
Size53.3 × 68.6 × 17.8 mm and 77 g. Width is used as the case size.82.8 × 43.4 × 17.5 mm; approximately 78 g. Width is used as the case size.
BandsVinyl wrist strap with an expander strap; fabric strap available separately.–
In the boxWatch, wrist and expander straps, docking cradle, AC charger, USB cable, Garmin Training Center software and documentation.Watch, wrist strap, expander strap, AC charger, USB cable, digitally coded heart-rate monitor, Training Center software and documentation.

More comparisons