Google Pixel 4 vs Google Pixel 4 XL
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| GooglePixel 4 | GooglePixel 4 XL | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | October 2019 | October 2019 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 5.7″ | 6.3″ |
| Resolution | 2280 × 1080 | 3040 × 1440 (better) |
| Sharpness | 443 pixels per inch | 534 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 90 Hz | 90 Hz |
| Display type | Flexible OLED; 19:9 aspect ratio; 2,280 × 1,080 resolution confirmed by Notebookcheck | Flexible OLED; 19:9 aspect ratio; 3,040 × 1,440 resolution confirmed by Notebookcheck and TechRadar |
| Pixel density | 444 ppi | 537 ppi |
| Always-on display | Always-on display; Now Playing | Always-on display; Now Playing |
| Screen protection | Corning Gorilla Glass 5 | Corning Gorilla Glass 5 |
| Display features | Ambient EQ; Smooth Display up to 90 Hz depending on content; UHDA-certified HDR; 100,000:1 contrast ratio; 24-bit colour; true black | Ambient EQ; Smooth Display up to 90 Hz depending on content; UHDA-certified HDR; 100,000:1 contrast ratio; 24-bit colour; true black |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 | Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 |
| Memory | 6 GB | 6 GB |
| Storage | 64 GB, 128 GB | 64 GB, 128 GB |
| CPU | 64-bit octa-core CPU; maker lists 2.84 GHz + 1.78 GHz; Titan M security module | 64-bit octa-core CPU; maker lists 2.84 GHz + 1.78 GHz; Titan M security module |
| GPU | Adreno 640 | Adreno 640 |
| Storage type | 6 GB LPDDR4x RAM; UFS 2.1 storage identified by Notebookcheck; no microSD slot | 6 GB LPDDR4x RAM; UFS 2.1 storage identified by Notebookcheck; no microSD slot |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 12.2 MP | 12.2 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | None | None |
| Telephoto camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Optical zoom | 2× | 2× |
| Front camera | 8 MP | 8 MP |
| Main camera | Dual-pixel phase-detection autofocus; f/1.7; 1.4 μm pixels; 77° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation | Dual-pixel phase-detection autofocus; f/1.7; 1.4 μm pixels; 77° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation |
| Telephoto camera | Phase-detection autofocus; f/2.4; 1.0 μm pixels; 52° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation; 2× optical zoom identified by Notebookcheck | Phase-detection autofocus; f/2.4; 1.0 μm pixels; 52° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation; 2× optical zoom identified by Notebookcheck |
| Front camera | f/2.0; 1.22 μm pixels; fixed focus; 90° field of view | f/2.0; 1.22 μm pixels; fixed focus; 90° field of view |
| Video recording | Rear 4K at 30 fps; 1080p at 30/60/120 fps; 720p at 240 fps | Rear 4K at 30 fps; 1080p at 30/60/120 fps; 720p at 240 fps |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps | 1080p at 30 fps |
| Camera features | Night Sight with astrophotography; Live HDR+; dual exposure controls; Super Res Zoom | Night Sight with astrophotography; Live HDR+; dual exposure controls; Super Res Zoom |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 2,800 mAh | 3,700 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 18 W | Up to 18 W |
| Wireless charging | Yes (wattage not published) | Yes (wattage not published) |
| Battery life detail | 2,800 mAh; actual endurance varies with use | 3,700 mAh; actual endurance varies with use |
| Wired charging | Up to 18 W using supplied USB-C adaptor; USB-PD 2.0; actual rates may vary | Up to 18 W using supplied USB-C adaptor; USB-PD 2.0; actual rates may vary |
| Wireless charging | Qi-certified wireless charging; maker hardware sheet does not specify wattage | Qi-certified wireless charging; maker hardware sheet does not specify wattage |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 162 g (better) | 193 g |
| Thickness | 8.2 mm | 8.2 mm |
| Height × width | 147.1 × 68.8 mm | 160.4 × 75.1 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | IP68 |
| Materials | Aluminium frame with matte hybrid coating; Gorilla Glass 5 front and back; soft-touch or polished rear finish | Aluminium frame with matte hybrid coating; Gorilla Glass 5 front and back; soft-touch or polished rear finish |
| Colours | Just Black, Clearly White, limited-edition Oh So Orange | Just Black, Clearly White, limited-edition Oh So Orange |
| Buttons | Power button and volume controls; Active Edge squeeze gesture | Power button and volume controls; Active Edge squeeze gesture |
| Water resistance detail | Maker lists IP68 dust and water protection; footnote refers to IPx8 water protection; charger and accessories are not water resistant; protection can diminish with wear, repair or damage | Maker lists IP68 dust and water protection; footnote refers to IPx8 water protection; charger and accessories are not water resistant; protection can diminish with wear, repair or damage |
| Biometrics | Face unlock using near-infrared flood emitter, dot projector and two NIR cameras; no fingerprint sensor | Face unlock using near-infrared flood emitter, dot projector and two NIR cameras; no fingerprint sensor |
| Sensors | Proximity and ambient light; accelerometer; gyrometer; magnetometer; barometer; Android Sensor Hub; spectral and flicker sensor; Motion Sense radar | Proximity and ambient light; accelerometer; gyrometer; magnetometer; barometer; Android Sensor Hub; spectral and flicker sensor; Motion Sense radar |
| Speakers | Stereo speakers | Stereo speakers |
| Microphones | Three microphones with noise suppression | Three microphones with noise suppression |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | Android 10 | Android 10 |
| Software updates | No longer receives Android version or security updates according to Google's current support policy; original promise was at least three years | No longer receives Android version or security updates according to Google's current support policy; original promise was at least three years |
| AI features | Pixel Neural Core for on-device processing; Recorder with on-device English transcription and search at launch; Google Assistant; Motion Sense skips songs and silences alarms, timers and calls, with regional restrictions | Pixel Neural Core for on-device processing; Recorder with on-device English transcription and search at launch; Google Assistant; Motion Sense skips songs and silences alarms, timers and calls, with regional restrictions |
| Safety features | Personal Safety app; car crash detection initially available in English in the US | Personal Safety app; car crash detection initially available in English in the US |
| In the box | UK package includes 18 W USB-C power adaptor, USB-C to USB-C cable (1 m, USB 2.0), Quick Switch adaptor, SIM tool and quick start guide; USB-C earbuds included only in certain other regions | UK package includes 18 W USB-C power adaptor, USB-C to USB-C cable (1 m, USB 2.0), Quick Switch adaptor, SIM tool and quick start guide; USB-C earbuds included only in certain other regions |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | LTE Cat 18 download up to 1.2 Gbps and Cat 13 upload up to 150 Mbps; up to five-carrier aggregation, LAA and 4x4 downlink MIMO; no 5G | LTE Cat 18 download up to 1.2 Gbps and Cat 13 upload up to 150 Mbps; up to five-carrier aggregation, LAA and 4x4 downlink MIMO; no 5G |
| SIM | One nano-SIM and eSIM; eSIM enabled in selected markets including the UK; operator dependent | One nano-SIM and eSIM; eSIM enabled in selected markets including the UK; operator dependent |
| Wi-Fi | Dual-band 2.4/5 GHz 802.11a/b/g/n/ac; 2x2 MIMO | Dual-band 2.4/5 GHz 802.11a/b/g/n/ac; 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.0 + LE; aptX, aptX HD and LDAC | Bluetooth 5.0 + LE; aptX, aptX HD and LDAC |
| NFC | NFC; Google Cast; FeliCa on Japanese models | NFC; Google Cast; FeliCa on Japanese models |
| USB | USB-C 3.1 Gen 1; supplied cable runs at USB 2.0; no 3.5 mm headphone jack | USB-C 3.1 Gen 1; supplied cable runs at USB 2.0; no 3.5 mm headphone jack |
| Positioning | Maker specifies dual-band GNSS (L1 + L5 and E1 + E5a), GPS, GLONASS and Galileo, plus BeiDou outside the US; Notebookcheck's review reported no dual-band support | Dual-band GNSS (L1 + L5 and E1 + E5a); GPS, GLONASS and Galileo, plus BeiDou outside the US |
More comparisons
- Google Pixel 11 vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 11 Pro XL vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 11 Pro vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 11 Pro Fold vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 11 Pro XL vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 11 vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 11 Pro vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 11 Pro Fold vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 10a vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 10a vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 10 Pro Fold vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 10 Pro Fold vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 10 vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 10 Pro vs Google Pixel 4
- Google Pixel 10 vs Google Pixel 4 XL
- Google Pixel 10 Pro vs Google Pixel 4 XL