Google Pixel 4 vs Google Pixel 5

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Pixel 4 compared with Pixel 5
GooglePixel 4GooglePixel 5
Overview
ReleasedOctober 2019October 2020
Display
Screen size5.7″6″
Resolution2280 × 10802340 × 1080 (better)
Sharpness443 pixels per inch (better)430 pixels per inch
PanelOLEDOLED
Refresh rate90 Hz90 Hz
Display typeFlexible OLED; 19:9 aspect ratio; 2,280 × 1,080 resolution confirmed by NotebookcheckFlexible OLED; 19.5:9 aspect ratio; hole-punch camera
Pixel density444 ppi432 ppi
Always-on displayAlways-on display; Now PlayingNow Playing
Screen protectionCorning Gorilla Glass 5Corning Gorilla Glass 6
Display featuresAmbient EQ; Smooth Display up to 90 Hz depending on content; UHDA-certified HDR; 100,000:1 contrast ratio; 24-bit colour; true blackSmooth Display up to 90 Hz; HDR support; 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio; 24-bit colour
Performance
ChipQualcomm Snapdragon 855Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G
Memory6 GB8 GB (better)
Storage64 GB, 128 GB128 GB
CPU64-bit octa-core CPU; maker lists 2.84 GHz + 1.78 GHz; Titan M security module64-bit octa-core CPU; 2.4/2.2/1.8 GHz; Titan M security module
GPUAdreno 640Adreno 620
Storage type6 GB LPDDR4x RAM; UFS 2.1 storage identified by Notebookcheck; no microSD slot128 GB storage; 8 GB LPDDR4x RAM; no microSD slot
Cameras
Main camera12.2 MP12.2 MP
Ultra wide cameraNone16 MP
Telephoto camera16 MPNone
Optical zoom2× (better)None
Front camera8 MP8 MP
Main cameraDual-pixel phase-detection autofocus; f/1.7; 1.4 μm pixels; 77° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisationDual-pixel phase-detection autofocus; f/1.7; 1.4 μm pixels; 77° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation
Ultra wide camera–f/2.2; 1.0 μm pixels; 118.7° maximum field of view with RAW capture enabled
Telephoto cameraPhase-detection autofocus; f/2.4; 1.0 μm pixels; 52° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation; 2× optical zoom identified by Notebookcheck–
Front cameraf/2.0; 1.22 μm pixels; fixed focus; 90° field of viewf/2.0; 1.12 μm pixels; fixed focus; 83° field of view
Video recordingRear 4K at 30 fps; 1080p at 30/60/120 fps; 720p at 240 fpsRear 4K at 30/60 fps; 1080p at 30/60/120/240 fps
Front video1080p at 30 fps1080p at 30 fps
Camera featuresNight Sight with astrophotography; Live HDR+; dual exposure controls; Super Res ZoomNight Sight in Portrait Mode; astrophotography; Portrait Light; Cinematic Pan; Super Res Zoom
Battery and charging
Battery2,800 mAh4,080 mAh (better)
Wired chargingUp to 18 WUp to 18 W
Wireless chargingYes (wattage not published)Yes (wattage not published)
Battery life detail2,800 mAh; actual endurance varies with useTypical 4,080 mAh, minimum 4,000 mAh; maker claims all-day use or up to 48 hours with Extreme Battery Saver
Wired chargingUp to 18 W using supplied USB-C adaptor; USB-PD 2.0; actual rates may varyUp to 18 W using the supplied USB-C adaptor; USB-PD 2.0; actual rates may vary
Wireless chargingQi-certified wireless charging; maker hardware sheet does not specify wattageQi-compatible wireless charging; charger sold separately; maker hardware sheet does not specify wattage
Charges other devices–Battery Share wirelessly charges Qi-certified devices; cases can interfere and charging reduces phone battery life
Design
TypeStandardStandard
Weight162 g151 g (better)
Thickness8.2 mm8 mm (better)
Height × width147.1 × 68.8 mm144.7 × 70.4 mm
Water and dust resistanceIP68IP68
MaterialsAluminium frame with matte hybrid coating; Gorilla Glass 5 front and back; soft-touch or polished rear finishBack housing made from 100% recycled aluminium
ColoursJust Black, Clearly White, limited-edition Oh So OrangeJust Black, Sorta Sage
ButtonsPower button and volume controls; Active Edge squeeze gesturePower button and volume controls
Water resistance detailMaker lists IP68 dust and water protection; footnote refers to IPx8 water protection; charger and accessories are not water resistant; protection can diminish with wear, repair or damageIP68; charger and accessories are not water or dust resistant; protection can diminish with wear, repair or damage
BiometricsFace unlock using near-infrared flood emitter, dot projector and two NIR cameras; no fingerprint sensorPixel Imprint rear fingerprint sensor
SensorsProximity and ambient light; accelerometer; gyrometer; magnetometer; barometer; Android Sensor Hub; spectral and flicker sensor; Motion Sense radarProximity and ambient light; accelerometer; gyrometer; magnetometer; barometer; spectral and flicker sensor
SpeakersStereo speakersStereo speakers
MicrophonesThree microphones with noise suppressionThree microphones with noise suppression
Software
Operating systemAndroidAndroid
Software at launchAndroid 10Android 11
Software updatesNo longer receives Android version or security updates according to Google's current support policy; original promise was at least three yearsNo longer receives Android version or security updates according to Google's current support policy; original promise was at least three years
AI featuresPixel Neural Core for on-device processing; Recorder with on-device English transcription and search at launch; Google Assistant; Motion Sense skips songs and silences alarms, timers and calls, with regional restrictionsRecorder with on-device transcription and audio editing; Google Assistant; Hold for Me launched as a US preview, not a UK launch feature
Safety featuresPersonal Safety app; car crash detection initially available in English in the USPersonal Safety app; functions vary by region
In the boxUK package includes 18 W USB-C power adaptor, USB-C to USB-C cable (1 m, USB 2.0), Quick Switch adaptor, SIM tool and quick start guide; USB-C earbuds included only in certain other regionsUK package includes 18 W USB-C power adaptor, USB-C to USB-C cable (1 m, USB 2.0), Quick Switch adaptor, SIM tool and quick start guide; earbuds included only in certain other regions
Connectivity
Mobile networkLTE Cat 18 download up to 1.2 Gbps and Cat 13 upload up to 150 Mbps; up to five-carrier aggregation, LAA and 4x4 downlink MIMO; no 5GUK GTT9Q supports sub-6 GHz 5G and LTE; US GD1YQ adds mmWave; network and operator dependent
SIMOne nano-SIM and eSIM; eSIM enabled in selected markets including the UK; operator dependentOne nano-SIM and eSIM; operator dependent
Wi-FiDual-band 2.4/5 GHz 802.11a/b/g/n/ac; 2x2 MIMODual-band 2.4/5 GHz 802.11a/b/g/n/ac; 2x2 MIMO
BluetoothBluetooth 5.0 + LE; aptX, aptX HD and LDACBluetooth 5.0 + LE; A2DP; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC
NFCNFC; Google Cast; FeliCa on Japanese modelsNFC; Google Cast
USBUSB-C 3.1 Gen 1; supplied cable runs at USB 2.0; no 3.5 mm headphone jackUSB-C 3.1 Gen 1; supplied cable runs at USB 2.0; no 3.5 mm headphone jack
PositioningMaker specifies dual-band GNSS (L1 + L5 and E1 + E5a), GPS, GLONASS and Galileo, plus BeiDou outside the US; Notebookcheck's review reported no dual-band supportDual-band GNSS; GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou and NavIC outside the US

More comparisons