Sony FE 50mm F2.5 G vs Sony FE 50mm F2.8 Macro

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

FE 50mm F2.5 G compared with FE 50mm F2.8 Macro
SonyFE 50mm F2.5 GSonyFE 50mm F2.8 Macro
Overview
ReleasedApril 2021September 2016
Optics
Lens typePrimePrime
Focal length50 mm50 mm
Maximum aperturef/2.5f/2.8
Minimum aperturef/22f/16
Macro lens–Yes
Optical constructionNine elements in nine groupsEight elements in seven groups
Special elementsTwo aspherical elements and ED glassED glass and aspherical elements; counts not specified in the cited maker feature text
DiaphragmSeven rounded bladesSeven rounded blades
Angle of view47° full frame; 32° APS-C47° full frame; 32° APS-C
Mount and compatibility
MountsSony ESony E
Image circleFull frameFull frame
Image circle detailFull-frame coverage; 75 mm equivalent field of view on APS-CFull-frame coverage; 75 mm equivalent field of view on APS-C
Teleconverter supportNot compatible with SEL14TC or SEL20TCNot compatible with Sony E-mount teleconverters
Focus and stabilisation
AutofocusYesYes
Minimum focus distance0.31 m (manual focus)0.16 m
Maximum magnification0.21× (manual focus)1×
Optical stabilisationNoNo
Autofocus detailTwo linear motors; internal focusing. Maker does not designate these motors XD–
Focus distance detailMinimum focus 0.35 m in AF or 0.31 m in MF; Linear Response MF0.16 m minimum from the image sensor; working distance approximately 50 mm or less at closest focus
Magnification detailMaximum magnification 0.18× in AF or 0.21× in MF1.0× life-size maximum magnification
Stabilisation detailNo lens stabilisation; compatible bodies provide stabilisationNo optical stabilisation; compatible body stabilisation can be used
Design
Dust and moisture resistantYesYes
Filter diameter49 mm55 mm
Maximum diameter68 mm70.8 mm
Length45 mm71 mm
Weight174 g (better)236 g
ControlsAperture ring with click on/off switch, AF/MF switch and one customisable focus-hold buttonManual-focus ring, AF/MF switch, focus-range limiter and focus-hold button; magnification and distance markings
Weather resistanceDust- and moisture-resistant design; not guaranteed completely dust- or moisture-proofDust and moisture resistant design; not guaranteed to prevent all ingress
Dimensions detailAluminium exterior and hood; internal focusing preserves lens length70.8 mm maximum diameter × 71 mm length
Weight detailApproximately 174 g lens; separate hood and caps excludedApproximately 236 g lens; separate caps excluded
Lens hoodALC-SH166 cap-type hoodNo hood listed by Sony
In the boxALC-SH166 hood, ALC-F49S front cap and ALC-R1EM rear cap; no case listedALC-F55S front cap and ALC-R1EM rear cap; no case listed
Release detailSony Europe specified April 2021 availability, separately from the 23 March announcement. Photography Blog Mark Goldstein and Digital Camera World Rod Lawton independently reviewed this exact model. Sony specifies two linear motors and two aspherical elements, correcting Photography Blog’s XD and three-aspherical descriptions. Maker 0.35 m AF / 0.31 m MF corrects Photography Blog’s swapped macro-section distances. No unconfirmed fluorine coating is importedSony Canada announcement dated 30 August 2016 gives September availability; Sony Japan specifies 24 September 2016. Main release retains September precision because exact first global day is not established. Two independent full reviews retained: Photography Blog credited Mark Goldstein on Alpha 7S and Sony Alpha Blog Marc Alhadeff on Alpha 7R II. Amateur Photographer Richard Sibley was also read but closely overlaps Photography Blog wording, so it is not counted as an independent second review. Reviews disagree on detected colour fringing and barrel material; maker does not specify barrel material here, so it is omitted

More comparisons