Sony Digital Mavica MVC-FD5 vs Sony Digital Mavica MVC-FD7

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Digital Mavica MVC-FD5 compared with Digital Mavica MVC-FD7
SonyDigital Mavica MVC-FD5SonyDigital Mavica MVC-FD7
Overview
ReleasedJuly 1997August 1997
Image and sensor
Camera typeCompactBridge
Sensor formatOtherOther
Sensor typeCCDCCD
Largest image640 × 480640 × 480
RAW recordingNoNo
Sensor detail1/4-inch CCD is an optical-format designation, not a published physical diagonal. Contemporary PC Watch coverage gives 410,000 total CCD pixels; effective still-image sensor pixel count is not specified.1/4-inch CCD is an optical-format designation, not a published physical diagonal. Contemporary PC Watch coverage gives 410,000 total CCD pixels; effective still-image sensor pixel count is not specified.
Image formatsJPEG (.JPG) with camera-only .411 index files; Standard and Fine quality settings; 640 × 480 maximum image sizeJPEG (.JPG) with camera-only .411 index files; Standard and Fine quality settings; 640 × 480 maximum image size
Lens and shooting
Built-in lens47 mm equivalent40–400 mm equivalent
Maximum aperturef/2f/1.8–2.9
Optical zoom–10×
Lens detailBuilt-in fixed lens; actual focal length 4.8 mm, equivalent to 47 mm on a 35 mm still camera; f/2 maximum aperture.Built-in 10× zoom; actual focal length 4.2–42 mm; f/1.8–2.9 maximum aperture. Equivalent focal lengths are Sony’s published 35 mm still-camera equivalents.
AutofocusNo autofocus; normal fixed-focus position and a macro switch for subjects approximately 8–25 cm from the lens.Autofocus with manual-focus switch and near/far dial; approximately 1 cm minimum distance at wide angle and 100 cm at telephoto. Some Program AE modes restrict close focusing.
Stabilisation detailField mode reduces camera-shake blur; Frame mode captures more detail but can blur moving subjects. This is the manual’s capture-mode distinction, not a claim of optical or sensor-shift stabilisation.Field mode reduces camera-shake blur; Frame mode captures more detail but can blur moving subjects. This is the manual’s capture-mode distinction, not a claim of optical or sensor-shift stabilisation.
FlashBuilt-in flash, manually selected; Sony specifies a recording distance of 2–4 m. Flash recording uses Field mode even when Frame is selected.Built-in flash, manually selected; Sony specifies a recording distance of 2–4 m. Flash recording uses Field mode even when Frame is selected.
Exposure controlsAutomatic exposure and white balance; ±1.5 EV exposure compensation; approximately 10-second self-timerAutomatic exposure and white balance; ±1.5 EV compensation when Program AE is disabled; Soft Portrait, Sports Lesson, Beach & Ski, Sunset & Moon and Landscape Program AE modes; Pastel, Negative Art, Sepia and Black & White effects
Screen and viewfinder
ViewfinderNoneNone
Screen size2.5″2.5″
Screen dots61,38061,380
Display detail2.5-inch TFT LCD with 61,380 dots, brightness controls and six-image index playback; framing uses the LCD2.5-inch TFT LCD with 61,380 dots, brightness controls and six-image index playback; framing uses the LCD
Connections and design
Battery life (maker's claim)540 photographs500 photographs
Body weight470 g (better)600 g
Release detailJapan on-sale date 10 July 1997 and announcement date 11 June 1997 reported by contemporary PC Watch launch coverage; the linked Sony press release is no longer availableJapan on-sale date 1 August 1997 and announcement date 11 June 1997 reported by contemporary PC Watch launch coverage; the linked Sony press release is no longer available
Recording media3.5-inch 2HD floppy disk, MS-DOS formatted, 1.44 MB. Approximately 30–40 images per disk in Standard or 15–20 in Fine, depending on subject. The removable medium is not built-in storage.3.5-inch 2HD floppy disk, MS-DOS formatted, 1.44 MB. Approximately 30–40 images per disk in Standard or 15–20 in Fine, depending on subject. The removable medium is not built-in storage.
Battery life detailSony NP-F530 InfoLITHIUM rechargeable battery; approximately 540 shots / 95 minutes without flash on a full charge, under Sony’s continuous recording test at 25°C with 10-second intervals. This is not a CIPA rating.Sony NP-F530 InfoLITHIUM rechargeable battery; approximately 500 shots / 90 minutes without flash on a full charge, under Sony’s continuous recording test at 25°C with 10-second intervals. This is not a CIPA rating.
ChargingIncluded BC-V615 external charger; approximately 165 minutes for a normal charge or 225 minutes for a full charge, starting with an empty batteryIncluded BC-V615 external charger; approximately 165 minutes for a normal charge or 225 minutes for a full charge, starting with an empty battery
DimensionsApproximately 126.5 × 110.5 × 62.5 mm (width × height × depth)Approximately 126.5 × 110.5 × 73.3 mm (width × height × depth)
Weight detailApproximately 470 g excluding battery and floppy disk, from Sony’s manualApproximately 600 g excluding battery and floppy disk, from Sony’s manual
In the boxNP-F530 battery, BC-V615 charger, mains cable and shoulder strap; floppy disk is not suppliedNP-F530 battery, BC-V615 charger, mains cable and shoulder strap, plus lens cap; floppy disk is not supplied
Video
Video detailStill photographs only; no movie recording described in the manualStill photographs only; no movie recording described in the manual

More comparisons