Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI) compared with LED Cinema Display (27-inch)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)AppleLED Cinema Display (27-inch)
Overview
ReleasedJuly 2004September 2010
Display
Screen size23″27″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)2560 × 1440 (QHD) (better)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch109 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 23-inch datasheet, which lists later panel specifications)IPS
Refresh rate60 Hz60 Hz
Brightness (typical)270 nits375 nits (better)
Contrast ratio400:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified
Response time detailApple specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions; not entered in the grey-to-grey row. Its later Japanese sheet lists 14 ms.Typical 12 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing anglesOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.178° horizontally and vertically
Eye care–Ambient light sensor adjusts brightness automatically
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsDVIMini DisplayPort
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
Speakers–Yes
Webcam–iSight camera with microphone
DisplayPort detail–Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; audio support depends on the host Mac
Other connectionsCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computerThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data, camera, microphone and speakers. Device charging works without a host connected.
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 system with 49 W output
Webcam detail–Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesYes
Weight with stand7.03 kg10.7 kg
VESA patternOptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 CRequires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand536 × 450 × 187 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specificationsCurrent UK specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). Original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm; both give 10.7 kg.
ControlsSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferencesBrightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursAluminium enclosureAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 90 W; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less
Power supplyExternal A1097 90 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC outputInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Separate captive universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareApple's UK announcement specifies July 2004 availability. Original manual supports Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later on listed DVI Macs, with compatible DVI-equipped Windows PCs also possible. Original manual explicitly specifies 1920 × 1200 at 60 Hz. Main weight follows archived maker specs (7.03 kg); original manual gives 6.75 kg without explaining the discrepancy.Original requirement Mac with Mini DisplayPort and Mac OS X 10.6.4 or later. July 2010 announcement specifies September availability.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 5.0; EPEAT Gold in the US, Canada, France, Germany and UK
In the boxDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning clothDisplay, AC power cord and printed documentation

More comparisons