Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Honor MagicPad2
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleiPad Air 13″ (M2) | HonorMagicPad2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | May 2024 | 2024 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 12.9″ | 12.3″ |
| Resolution | 2732 × 2048 | 3000 × 1920 (better) |
| Sharpness | 265 pixels per inch | 290 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | LCD | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 60 Hz | 144 Hz (better) |
| Brightness | 600 nits | – |
| Display type | Liquid Retina display, LED-backlit IPS LCD; sold as 13-inch, 12.9 inches diagonally as a rectangle | OLED; 290 ppi; 92% screen-to-body ratio |
| Brightness detail | – | Maker maximum 1,600 nits; no separate typical SDR figure published here |
| Pixel density | 264 ppi | – |
| Display features | 60Hz refresh (Expert Reviews); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating | 1.07 billion colours, DCI-P3; 1,000,000:1 contrast; 4,320 Hz PWM dimming at low brightness; IMAX Enhanced; TÜV Rheinland hardware Low Blue Light and Flicker Free |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | M2 | Snapdragon 8s Gen 3 |
| Memory | 8 GB | 12 GB (better) |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB (better) | 256 GB |
| CPU | 8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores | Snapdragon 8s Gen 3, octa-core (one Cortex-X4 at 3.0 GHz, four Cortex-A720 at 2.8 GHz, three Cortex-A520 at 2.0 GHz); TSMC 4 nm |
| GPU | 9-core GPU per Apple's corrected specifications; Media Engine with hardware-accelerated H.264 and HEVC, video encode and decode | – |
| AI engine | 16-core Neural Engine | – |
| Cameras | ||
| Rear camera | 12 MP | 13 MP (better) |
| Ultra wide camera | None | None |
| Front camera | 12 MP (better) | 9 MP |
| Rear camera | 12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8; five-element lens; autofocus with Focus Pixels; up to 5x digital zoom; Smart HDR 4; panorama up to 63MP | 13 MP f/2.0 autofocus |
| Front camera | Landscape 12MP Center Stage camera, ƒ/2.0; Smart HDR 4; Retina Flash with True Tone; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps | 9 MP f/2.2 fixed focus |
| Video recording | 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264 | – |
| Battery and connections | ||
| Battery (mAh) | – | 10,050 mAh |
| Fastest charging | – | 66 W |
| Battery life (maker's claim) | Up to 10 hours | – |
| Battery capacity | 36.59 Wh | – |
| Mobile data option | Yes | No |
| Stylus | Supported, sold separately | Supported, sold separately |
| Keyboard made for it | Yes | Yes |
| Battery life detail | Up to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile data | 10,050 mAh typical, 10,000 mAh rated lithium-polymer battery |
| Charging | Via USB-C power adapter or computer; power adapter not included in the UK box; Apple does not specify maximum charging power | 66 W HONOR SuperCharge; UK standard-box list does not include an adapter |
| USB-C | USB-C with charging, DisplayPort and USB 3 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60Hz | USB-C with OTG support; USB generation not specified by the maker UK sheet |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) with 2x2 MIMO | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, 2x2 MIMO; 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.3, BLE; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX and aptX HD |
| Mobile network | Optional 5G (sub-6 GHz) with 4x4 MIMO and Gigabit LTE with 4x4 MIMO; eSIM only, no physical SIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; 618g for Wi-Fi + Cellular, 617g for Wi-Fi | – |
| Stylus support | Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; Apple Pencil hover; magnetic pairing and charging for Pencil Pro | HONOR Magic-Pencil 3; maker 2 ms latency, tilt sensitivity and zero-pressure ink; promotional bundles vary |
| Keyboards | Magic Keyboard, available in black or white; Smart Connector; sold separately | HONOR MagicPad2 Smart Bluetooth Keyboard; no trackpad (TechAdvisor) |
| Design | ||
| Weight | 617 g | 555 g (better) |
| Thickness | 6.1 mm | 5.8 mm (better) |
| Height × width | 280.6 × 214.9 mm | 274.5 × 180.5 mm |
| Operating system | iPadOS | Android |
| Biometrics | Touch ID in the top button | – |
| Speakers | Landscape stereo speakers with Spatial Audio; twice the bass of the 11-inch M2 Air, according to Apple | Eight speakers with HONOR Spatial Audio and IMAX Enhanced |
| Microphones | Dual microphones | Three microphones |
| Sensors | Three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compass | Accelerometer, Hall and gravity sensors |
| Materials | Enclosure made with 100% recycled aluminium | Metallic body with brocade fibre rear material |
| Colours | Blue, Purple, Starlight, Space Grey | Moonlight White and Black |
| Software at launch | iPadOS 17 | MagicOS 8.0.1 based on Android 14; GSMArena launch coverage gave planned China availability of 19 July 2024, without confirming actual sales in that report |
| In the box | iPad Air, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m) | Tablet with battery, USB-C cable, quick-start guide and warranty card; pen and keyboard may be separate promotional gifts |
More comparisons
- Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Air 13″ (M4)
- Apple iPad Air 11″ (M4) vs Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2)
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Honor MagicPad4
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Samsung Galaxy Tab S11
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Honor MagicPad3
- Honor MagicPad2 vs OnePlus Pad 3
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Honor Pad 10
- Apple iPad Air 11″ (M3) vs Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Air 13″ (M3)
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Lenovo Yoga Tab Plus
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Xiaomi Xiaomi Pad 7 Pro
- Honor MagicPad2 vs Samsung Galaxy Tab S10+
- Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Pro 12.9″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Air 11″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2)
- Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Xiaomi Xiaomi Pad 6S Pro 12.4
- Apple iPad Air 13″ (M2) vs Apple iPad Air (5th generation)

