Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M1) vs Apple iPad Pro 11″ (M2)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

iPad Pro 11″ (M1) compared with iPad Pro 11″ (M2)
AppleiPad Pro 11″ (M1)AppleiPad Pro 11″ (M2)
Overview
ReleasedMay 2021October 2022
Display
Screen size11″11″
Resolution2388 × 16682388 × 1668
Sharpness265 pixels per inch265 pixels per inch
PanelLCDLCD
Refresh rate120 Hz120 Hz
Brightness600 nits600 nits
Display typeLiquid Retina display, LED-backlit IPS LCDLiquid Retina display, LED-backlit IPS LCD
Pixel density264 ppi264 ppi
Display featuresProMotion up to 120Hz (TechRadar); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating with 1.8% reflectivity; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coatingProMotion up to 120Hz (Notebookcheck); wide colour (P3); True Tone; fully laminated; anti-reflective coating with 1.8% reflectivity; fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating
Performance
ChipM1M2
Memory8 GB – 16 GB8 GB – 16 GB
Storage128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB
CPU8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores; 8GB RAM on 128–512GB models, 16GB on 1–2TB models8-core CPU with 4 performance and 4 efficiency cores; 8GB RAM on 128–512GB models, 16GB on 1–2TB models
GPU8-core GPU10-core GPU; 100GB/s memory bandwidth; Media Engine with hardware-accelerated H.264, HEVC, ProRes and ProRes RAW, video encode/decode and ProRes encode/decode
AI engine16-core Neural Engine16-core Neural Engine
Cameras
Rear camera12 MP12 MP
Ultra wide camera10 MP10 MP
Front camera12 MP12 MP
Rear camera12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8, autofocus with Focus Pixels; 10MP Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 125°; five-element lenses; 2x optical zoom out, up to 5x digital zoom; True Tone flash; Smart HDR 3; sapphire crystal lens cover12MP Wide, ƒ/1.8, autofocus with Focus Pixels; 10MP Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 125°; five-element lenses; 2x optical zoom out, up to 5x digital zoom; True Tone flash; Smart HDR 4; sapphire crystal lens cover
Front camera12MP TrueDepth Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 122°; Center Stage; Portrait mode and Portrait Lighting; Smart HDR 3; Retina Flash; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps12MP TrueDepth Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.4, 122°; Center Stage; Portrait mode and Portrait Lighting; Smart HDR 4; Retina Flash; 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps
Video recording4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps (Wide); 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264; stereo recordingProRes up to 4K at 30 fps (1080p at 30 fps on 128GB models); 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps (Wide); 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps; 720p at 30 fps; slo-mo 1080p at 120 or 240 fps; cinematic video stabilisation; HEVC and H.264; stereo recording
Depth sensorLiDAR ScannerLiDAR Scanner
Battery and connections
Battery life (maker's claim)Up to 10 hoursUp to 10 hours
Battery capacity28.65 Wh28.65 Wh
Mobile data optionYesYes
StylusSupported, sold separatelySupported, sold separately
Keyboard made for itYesYes
Battery life detailUp to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile dataUp to 10 hours surfing the web on Wi-Fi or watching video; up to 9 hours surfing the web on mobile data
ChargingVia USB-C power adapter or computer; 20W adapter included, maximum charging power not specified by AppleVia USB-C power adapter or computer; 20W adapter included, maximum charging power not specified by Apple
USB-CUSB-C with charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 4 up to 40Gb/s, USB 3.1 Gen 2 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60HzUSB-C with charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 4 up to 40Gb/s, USB 3.1 Gen 2 up to 10Gb/s; one external display up to 6K at 60Hz
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), simultaneous 2.4GHz and 5GHz, HT80 with MIMOWi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) with 2x2 MIMO; up to 2.4Gb/s
BluetoothBluetooth 5.0Bluetooth 5.3
Mobile networkOptional 5G and LTE; nano-SIM and eSIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; 470g for Wi-Fi + Cellular, 466g for Wi-Fi; mmWave limited to US modelsOptional 5G and LTE; nano-SIM and eSIM; GPS/GNSS on cellular models; 468g for Wi-Fi + Cellular, 466g for Wi-Fi; mmWave limited to US models
Stylus supportApple Pencil (2nd generation) and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; USB-C Pencil compatibility added after launchApple Pencil (2nd generation) and Apple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately; hover detected up to 12mm above the display; USB-C Pencil compatibility added after launch
KeyboardsMagic Keyboard and Smart Keyboard Folio, sold separately; Smart ConnectorMagic Keyboard and Smart Keyboard Folio, sold separately; Smart Connector
Design
Weight466 g466 g
Thickness5.9 mm5.9 mm
Height × width247.6 × 178.5 mm247.6 × 178.5 mm
Operating systemiPadOSiPadOS
BiometricsFace ID via TrueDepth cameraFace ID via TrueDepth camera
SpeakersFour-speaker audioFour-speaker audio
MicrophonesFive studio-quality microphonesFive studio-quality microphones
SensorsThree-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compassThree-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor, digital compass
MaterialsEnclosure made with 100% recycled aluminiumEnclosure made with 100% recycled aluminium
ColoursSilver, Space GreySilver, Space Grey
Software at launchiPadOS 14.5; Apple's support page was subsequently updated to iPadOS 15iPadOS 16
In the boxiPad Pro, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m), 20W USB-C Power AdapteriPad Pro, USB-C Charge Cable (1 m), 20W USB-C Power Adapter

More comparisons