Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

LED Cinema Display (27-inch) compared with Thunderbolt Display
AppleLED Cinema Display (27-inch)AppleThunderbolt Display
Overview
ReleasedSeptember 2010September 2011
Display
Screen size27″27″
Resolution2560 × 1440 (QHD)2560 × 1440 (QHD)
Sharpness109 pixels per inch109 pixels per inch
PanelIPSIPS
Refresh rate60 Hz60 Hz
Brightness (typical)375 nits375 nits
Contrast ratio1,000:11,000:1
Screen finishGlossyGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specifiedUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detailTypical 12 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey rowApple specifies 12 ms without identifying the transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing angles178° horizontally and vertically178° horizontally and vertically
Eye careAmbient light sensor adjusts brightness automaticallyAmbient light sensor automatically adjusts brightness
Connections
Video inputsMini DisplayPortThunderbolt
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports3 × USB-A3 × USB-A
Ethernet–Yes
SpeakersYesYes
WebcamiSight camera with microphoneFaceTime HD camera with microphone
Thunderbolt detail–Captive first-generation Thunderbolt input cable; two bidirectional 10 Gbps channels. Requires a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, not a Mini DisplayPort-only Mac.
Other connections–Gigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000Base-T), FireWire 800 with up to 7 W power, downstream Thunderbolt port and Kensington security slot
Daisy chaining–Downstream Thunderbolt supports compatible devices and a second Thunderbolt Display where the Mac permits it. The port does not directly support Mini DisplayPort, DVI or VGA displays or adapters.
DisplayPort detailCaptive Mini DisplayPort cable; audio support depends on the host Mac–
USB hub detailThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data, camera, microphone and speakers. Device charging works without a host connected.Three powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; device charging can work without a host attached
Speaker detailBuilt-in 2.1 system with 49 W outputBuilt-in 2.1 speaker system with 49 W output
Webcam detailBuilt-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figureFaceTime HD camera and microphone; Apple does not publish a megapixel figure in the specifications
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesYes
Weight with stand10.7 kg10.8 kg
Tilt–Tilt adjustment only; no height, swivel or pivot adjustment (Macworld)
VESA patternRequires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter KitRequires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with standCurrent UK specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). Original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm; both give 10.7 kg.Current UK support specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). The original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm and 10.7 kg rather than the support page's 10.8 kg.
ControlsBrightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld)Brightness and colour profile through macOS Displays preferences; no on-screen menu or physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursAluminium enclosure with black glass bezelAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or lessMaximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 2 W or less. Apple environmental report at 230 V gives 108 W on at full brightness, 1.9 W sleep and 0.75 W off.
Power supplyInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 HzInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop chargingSeparate captive universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W; no USB-C power deliveryCaptive Universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W separately from the Thunderbolt cable; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareOriginal requirement Mac with Mini DisplayPort and Mac OS X 10.6.4 or later. July 2010 announcement specifies September availability.Original requirement OS X 10.6.8 or later and a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac. Announced 20 July 2011 with availability within 60 days; September sale month follows contemporary MacRumors reports of customer shipments, rather than the announcement date.
CertificationsENERGY STAR 5.0; EPEAT Gold in the US, Canada, France, Germany and UKENERGY STAR 5.1; EPEAT Gold in the US and Canada
Warranty–One-year limited warranty and 90 days of telephone support
In the boxDisplay, AC power cord and printed documentationThunderbolt Display, AC power cord and printed documentation

More comparisons