Garmin Forerunner 205 vs Garmin Forerunner 305

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Forerunner 205 compared with Forerunner 305
GarminForerunner 205GarminForerunner 305
Overview
Released20062006
Display
Case sizes53.3 mm53.3 mm
Always-on displayYesYes
Display detailBacklit 33 × 20.3 mm monochrome display, 160 × 100 pixels; configurable training screens and physical buttons. Panel technology is not specified by Garmin.Backlit 33 × 20.3 mm monochrome display, 160 × 100 pixels; configurable training screens and physical buttons. Panel technology is not specified by Garmin.
Health and fitness
ECGNoNo
Blood oxygenNoNo
Skin temperatureNoNo
Sleep apnoea alertsNoNo
High blood pressure alertsNoNo
Body compositionNoNo
Fall detectionNoNo
Crash detectionNoNo
GPSSingle-bandSingle-band
SensorsHigh-sensitivity SiRFstarIII GPS receiver with antenna wrapped towards the sky; the 205 does not support the heart-rate or speed/cadence accessories of the 305.High-sensitivity SiRFstarIII GPS receiver, included wireless heart-rate chest strap and optional GSC 10 cycling speed/cadence sensor; no optical wrist sensor.
Fitness featuresRunning, cycling and other-sport profiles; quick, interval and advanced workouts, course racing, Virtual Partner, Auto Pause, Auto Lap and pace, time and distance alerts.Running, cycling and other-sport profiles; quick, interval and advanced workouts, course racing, Virtual Partner, Auto Pause, Auto Lap and heart-rate, pace, time and distance alerts.
Safety featuresStores 100 locations and 50 routes; basic route display, direction to a stored location and navigation back to the start. No base maps.Stores 100 locations and 50 routes; basic route display, direction to a stored location and navigation back to the start. No base maps.
Battery and connections
Battery life (maker's claim)Up to 10 hoursUp to 10 hours
Mobile data optionNoNo
Works withNo phone pairingNo phone pairing
Battery life detailInternal rechargeable lithium-ion battery; ten hours of typical use.Internal rechargeable lithium-ion battery; ten hours of typical use.
ChargingDocking cradle with AC charger and USB cable.Docking cradle with AC charger and USB cable.
ConnectivityUSB computer transfer through the cradle; Garmin Training Center software and MotionBased analysis were supplied at launch. No direct phone pairing.USB computer transfer through the cradle; Garmin Training Center software and MotionBased analysis were supplied at launch. Wireless heart-rate and cycling sensor connections; no direct phone pairing.
StorageUp to 1,000 laps; smart recording or one-second recording.Up to 1,000 laps; smart recording or one-second recording.
Design
Weight (lightest version)77 g77 g
SoftwareGarminGarmin
Case materialsIPX7 immersion protection, one metre for thirty minutes; the owner's manual says it is not intended for swimming.IPX7 immersion protection, one metre for thirty minutes; the owner's manual says it is not intended for swimming.
Size53.3 × 68.6 × 17.8 mm and 77 g. Width is used as the case size.53.3 × 68.6 × 17.8 mm and 77 g. Width is used as the case size.
BandsVinyl wrist strap with an expander strap; fabric strap available separately.Vinyl wrist strap with an expander strap; fabric strap available separately.
In the boxWatch, wrist and expander straps, docking cradle, AC charger, USB cable, Garmin Training Center software and documentation.Watch, heart-rate chest strap, wrist and expander straps, docking cradle, AC charger, USB cable, Garmin Training Center software and documentation.

More comparisons