Honda CB750 Hornet (2025 generation) vs Triumph Trident 660 (2026)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| HondaCB750 Hornet (2025 generation) | TriumphTrident 660 (2026) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | 2025 | 2026 |
| Engine and transmission | ||
| Powertrain | Petrol | Petrol |
| Engine capacity | 755 cc | 660 cc |
| Cylinders | 2 | 3 |
| Power | 67.5 kW | 70 kW |
| Torque | 75 Nm | 68 Nm |
| Engine details | Liquid-cooled, four-stroke, SOHC eight-valve parallel twin with a 270-degree crankshaft; 87 × 63.5 mm bore and stroke; 11:1 compression ratio; PGM-FI electronic injection. | Liquid-cooled inline three-cylinder engine, 12 valves and DOHC; bore × stroke 74 × 51.1 mm, compression 12:1. Multipoint sequential electronic fuel injection and electronic throttle control; revised 2026 engine uses three individual throttle bodies |
| Power details | 67.5 kW at 9,500 rpm. | Maker 70 kW / 95 PS at 11,250 rpm; current UK table also labels the figure 95 bhp, an inconsistent unit equivalence |
| Torque details | 75 Nm at 7,250 rpm. | 68 Nm at 8250 rpm |
| Gearbox | Six-speed manual gearbox. E-Clutch operates the clutch automatically when starting, stopping and shifting, while the rider selects gears using the foot pedal; manual clutch-lever control remains available. | Six-speed gearbox with standard Triumph Shift Assist up/down quickshifter |
| Clutch | Wet multiplate assist/slipper clutch; optional E-Clutch actuator system adds 4 kg. E-Clutch shift-pedal resistance can be adjusted separately for upshifts and downshifts. | Wet multi-plate slip-and-assist clutch |
| Final drive | Chain. | X-ring chain |
| Restricted versions | Honda's 26YM technical table lists the A2 version at 34.5 kW at 5,250 rpm and 66 Nm at 4,750 rpm; introductory prose rounds the restricted output to 35 kW. | Optional Triumph A2 restriction kit; headline figures describe the unrestricted standard motorcycle |
| Chassis and dimensions | ||
| Style | Naked | Naked |
| Seat height | 795 mm | 810 mm |
| Road-ready weight | 192 kg | 195 kg |
| Frame | Steel diamond frame. | Tubular steel perimeter frame with twin-sided fabricated steel swingarm |
| Front suspension | 41 mm Showa Separate Function Fork Big Piston upside-down fork; 130 mm wheel travel. | Showa 41 mm upside-down separate-function big-piston forks, 120 mm wheel travel; non-adjustable |
| Rear suspension | Pro-Link monoshock; 150 mm wheel travel; seven-step spring-preload adjustment. | Showa monoshock with adjustable preload and rebound damping, 130 mm wheel travel |
| Brakes | Twin 296 mm front discs with radial-mount Nissin four-piston calipers; 240 mm rear disc with single-piston caliper; two-channel ABS. | Front twin fixed 310 mm discs with two-piston sliding calipers; rear single 255 mm disc with single-piston sliding caliper. Optimised Cornering ABS |
| Wheels and tyres | Cast aluminium five-Y-spoke wheels; 17 × MT3.5 front and 17 × MT4.5 rear rims; 120/70 ZR17 M/C (58W) front and 160/60 ZR17 M/C (69W) rear tyres. | Cast aluminium five-spoke wheels, 17 × 3.5 inches front and 17 × 5.5 inches rear; tyres 120/70 R17 and 180/55 R17. Michelin Road 5 tyres |
| Geometry | 1,420 mm wheelbase; 25-degree rake; 99 mm trail; 140 mm ground clearance; 2.7 m turning radius. | Wheelbase 1402 mm, rake 24.5° and trail 108 mm |
| Dimensions | 2,090 × 780 × 1,085 mm (length × width × height). | Width 815 mm and height 1088 mm |
| Seat height details | – | Standard seat height 810 mm; split rider and passenger seats, with alternative accessory seats |
| Weight conditions | Honda publishes 192 kg kerb/wet weight for the standard manual and 196 kg for E-Clutch. Fuel-fill percentage is not specified in the cited specification table; these are not dry weights. | Maker 195 kg wet weight; the exact fuel-fill condition is not stated in the current UK table. Optional accessories alter weight |
| Fuel and range | ||
| Fuel tank | 15.2 litres | 14 litres |
| Fuel consumption | Standard version 4.3 litres/100 km (WMTC); restricted version 4.1 litres/100 km. Actual consumption varies with riding conditions, load and maintenance. | Maker 4.9 litres/100 km; test conditions under regulation 168/2013/EC are comparative and may differ from road use |
| Emissions | Standard version 99 g/km CO₂ (WMTC); restricted version 95 g/km. | Maker CO₂ 110 g/km, Euro 5+ |
| Equipment | ||
| ABS | Yes | Yes |
| Traction control | Yes | Yes |
| Rider aids | Three-level Honda Selectable Torque Control with integrated wheelie control, or off; selectable engine power and engine braking; Emergency Stop Signal and self-cancelling indicators. | Six-axis IMU, Optimised Cornering ABS, switchable Optimised Cornering Traction Control, standard cruise control and Triumph Shift Assist |
| Riding modes | Honda's 26YM release describes Sport, Standard and Rain presets plus User 1 and User 2. The UK comparison table abbreviates this to four modes with a single User entry. | Sport, Road and Rain |
| Display | Five-inch colour TFT with three display layouts and four-way handlebar control. | LCD multifunction instruments with integrated colour TFT screen |
| Connectivity | Honda RoadSync smartphone connection for navigation and other functions; USB-C socket. Calls and audio functions require a compatible Bluetooth helmet headset. | Standard My Triumph Bluetooth connectivity system |
| Lighting | Dual-projector LED headlight and LED rear lighting. | LED lighting and self-cancelling indicators |
| Equipment and options | Heated grips, flyscreen and luggage are optional accessories. The quickshifter accessory is for the non-E-Clutch model; an under cowl is standard with E-Clutch and optional on the manual version. | Stainless-steel three-into-one exhaust with low single-sided silencer; flyscreen, luggage and other accessories are optional |
| Warranty | – | Two years, unlimited mileage; service every 12 months or 10,000 miles / 16,000 km, whichever comes first |
| Release and generation details | The 2025 hardware update introduced the dual-projector LED headlight, revised fork and shock settings, and updated five-inch TFT display. The 2026 update adds optional E-Clutch, announced on 4 November 2025. Exact first-sale month for the 2025 update is unconfirmed. Honda confirms the 2027 model is mechanically unchanged, with new colours. | Announced 22 January 2026, with maker-planned dealer availability in March 2026. Exact updated 95 PS models are now in stock at UK dealers; an independently confirmed first retail month was not found. This is the revised 2026 generation, distinct from the earlier 81 PS Trident 660 |
More comparisons
- Triumph Trident 660 (2026) vs Yamaha MT-09 (2024)
- Honda CB650R (2024 generation) vs Triumph Trident 660 (2026)
- Triumph Trident 660 (2026) vs Yamaha MT-07 (2025)
- Honda CB750 Hornet (2025 generation) vs Yamaha MT-07 (2025)
- Honda CB650R (2024 generation) vs Honda CB750 Hornet (2025 generation)
- Honda CB750 Hornet (2025 generation) vs Yamaha MT-09 (2024)

