Honor HONOR 90 vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| HonorHONOR 90 | OnePlusNord CE3 5G | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | June 2023 | August 2023 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.7″ | 6.7″ |
| Resolution | 2664 × 1200 (better) | 2412 × 1080 |
| Sharpness | 436 pixels per inch (better) | 394 pixels per inch |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 1,600 nits | – |
| Display type | Quad-curved AMOLED; 1.07 billion colours, DCI-P3 gamut, 5 million:1 contrast; 19.98:9 aspect ratio and 93.3% screen-to-body ratio | Fluid AMOLED; 20.1:9 aspect ratio; 93.4% stated screen-to-body ratio |
| Pixel density | 435 ppi | 394 ppi |
| Brightness detail | 1,600 nits peak brightness, maker laboratory figure | Digit measured 948 nits outdoors with automatic brightness; this is a review measurement, not a maker peak rating |
| Display features | HDR10+, up to 3,840 Hz PWM dimming at 120 Hz refresh, dynamic dimming, circadian night display, hardware low blue light and 400-level dimming adjustment; TÜV Rheinland Flicker-free certification | 60, 90 and 120 Hz modes; up to 240 Hz touch response; sRGB, Display P3, 10-bit colour and HDR10+; up to 2,160 Hz PWM below 90 nits and DC dimming above 90 nits; maker advertises Netflix and Prime HDR, but FoneArena and Digit found Netflix HDR unavailable during their reviews |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 7 Gen 1 Accelerated Edition | Qualcomm Snapdragon 782G |
| Memory | 8 GB – 12 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB |
| Storage | 256 GB, 512 GB (better) | 128 GB, 256 GB |
| CPU | 4 nm, octa-core (one Cortex-A710 at 2.5 GHz, three Cortex-A710 at 2.36 GHz, four Cortex-A510 at 1.8 GHz) | Qualcomm Snapdragon 782G; up to 2.7 GHz, according to the maker overview |
| GPU | Adreno 644 | Adreno 642L |
| Storage type | UK factory 8 GB / 256 GB and 12 GB / 512 GB pairs; other regions have different configurations | LPDDR4X RAM and UFS 3.1 storage; India configurations of 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB; no UK configuration asserted |
| Cooling | 4,483 mm² arterial biomimetic vapour chamber, third-generation high-conductivity graphite sheet and AI thermal management | 4,129.8 mm² vapour chamber |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 200 MP (better) | 50 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 12 MP | 8 MP |
| Telephoto camera | None | None |
| Optical zoom | None | None |
| Front camera | 50 MP (better) | 16 MP |
| Main camera | 200 MP f/1.9, 1/1.4-inch sensor, 2.24 µm equivalent 16-in-one pixels; EIS, no OIS (Expert Reviews) | Sony IMX890, 50 MP, f/1.8, 1/1.56-inch sensor, 24 mm equivalent focal length, six-element lens and 1.0 µm pixels; PDAF, OIS and EIS |
| Ultra wide camera | 12 MP f/2.2, 112° field of view and autofocus macro at 2.5 cm | Sony IMX355, 8 MP, f/2.2, 112° field of view, 1.12 µm pixels and fixed focus |
| Front camera | 50 MP f/2.4 and 100° field of view | 16 MP, f/2.4, 24 mm equivalent focal length, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | Up to 10x digital zoom; 1x and 2x portrait focal selections, no dedicated telephoto | 0.6× to 20× digital zoom; no optical telephoto lens |
| Video recording | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 with EIS | 4K at 30 fps; 1080p and 720p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 120 fps or 720p 240 fps; Ultra Steady at 1080p 60 fps; 1080p 30 fps time-lapse and video editor |
| Front video | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 | 1080p or 720p at 30 fps, including Steady Mode |
| Camera features | Additional 2 MP f/2.4 depth camera; moving photos, AI photography, aperture mode, multi-video, night, portrait, pro, panorama, HDR, document scan, high-resolution, super macro, time-lapse, slow motion and Solo Cut; HONOR Image Engine RAW portrait processing | Additional 2 MP macro camera with 4 cm shooting distance; all-pixel omnidirectional PDAF and contrast autofocus; LED flash; TurboRAW, ICE 2.0, Nightscape, Portrait, Dual-view Video, HDR, panorama, text scanning, Extra HD and Pro Mode |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 5,000 mAh | 5,000 mAh |
| Video playback (maker's claim) | Up to 20 hours | – |
| Wired charging | Up to 66 W | Up to 80 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | None | None |
| Battery life detail | 5,000 mAh typical, 4,900 mAh rated lithium-polymer; maker about 20 hours of continuous local video playback under laboratory conditions | Non-removable dual-cell battery, two 2,500 mAh cells and 5,000 mAh equivalent capacity; maker states at least 80% capacity after 1,600 charging cycles under laboratory conditions |
| Wired charging | 66 W HONOR SuperCharge, up to 11 V/6 A; compatible with 10 V/4 A and 5 V/2 A; standard UK box contains no charger | 80 W SUPERVOOC; maker measured 1–61% in 15 minutes at 25°C with the screen off; 11 temperature sensors and a dedicated charging chip |
| Charges other devices | OTG reverse power supply up to 5 V/1 A | – |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 183 g (better) | 184 g |
| Thickness | 7.8 mm (better) | 8.2 mm |
| Height × width | 161.9 × 74.1 mm | 162.7 × 75.5 mm |
| Materials | Textured glass back and plastic frame described by Expert Reviews; silver diamond pattern, frosted green/blue or glossy black finishes described by maker | Plastic rear, confirmed by FoneArena and Digit |
| Colours | Diamond Silver, Peacock Blue, Emerald Green and Midnight Black; colour/configuration availability varies | Aqua Surge and Gray Shimmer |
| Buttons | – | Volume and power keys on the right; infrared remote transmitter; no Alert Slider, confirmed by Digit |
| Water resistance detail | – | IP54 dust and splash resistance reported by FoneArena and Digit; not specified in the maker pages read |
| Biometrics | Fingerprint sensor and 2D face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Gravity, fingerprint, gyroscope, compass and ambient light; ultrasonic non-physical proximity sensing | Fingerprint, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and temperature; infrared blaster; X-axis linear vibration motor |
| Speakers | HONOR Histen 7.1 audio processing; Expert Reviews identifies a single bottom speaker, conflicting with Tech Advisor's dual-speaker wording | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos and wired and wireless Hi-Res Audio |
| Microphones | – | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | MagicOS 7.1 based on Android 13; maker China first-sale date 7 June 2023, UK availability followed in July | OxygenOS 13.1 based on Android 13 |
| Software updates | At review launch, two Android upgrades and three years of security support were promised (Tech Advisor); no current extension inferred | Maker promised at least two Android generations and three years of security updates from launch; the original security support period has elapsed |
| AI features | Magic Text recognition, Magic Guard privacy and voice enhancement for external video playback | – |
| In the box | Phone with battery, USB-C cable, quick-start guide, SIM eject tool, regional warranty card and pre-attached protective film | Phone, 80 W SUPERVOOC adapter, USB 2.0 Type-C cable, case, pre-applied screen protector, SIM ejector, welcome letter, quick guide, brand sticker, Red Cable Club card and safety guide |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | 5G NR, LTE TDD/FDD, WCDMA and GSM | India bands; 5G SA n1/n3/n5/n8/n28A/n40/n41/n78 and NSA n1/n3/n41/n77/n78; LTE 4×4 MIMO, Cat 15 download up to 800 Mbit/s and Cat 13 upload up to 150 Mbit/s, subject to carrier support |
| SIM | Nano-SIM plus nano-SIM or eSIM on dual-SIM models, depending on market and carrier | Hybrid slot for two nano-SIMs or one nano-SIM and a microSD card up to 1 TB |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, 2x2 MIMO; 2.4 and 5 GHz, hotspot and Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz bands |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2, BLE; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX and aptX HD | Bluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, aptX Adaptive, LDAC, LHDC, AAC and SBC |
| NFC | Reader/writer and card-emulation modes; SIM-based NFC on SIM1 only, no peer-to-peer mode | Yes |
| USB | USB-C with OTG; maker UK sheet does not specify generation | USB-C, USB 2.0; Type-C earphones supported; no 3.5 mm headphone socket, confirmed by FoneArena |
| Positioning | GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou and Galileo; network and Wi-Fi positioning | GPS, A-GPS, BeiDou, GLONASS, Galileo and QZSS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE6
- Honor HONOR 600 vs Honor HONOR 90
- Honor HONOR 90 vs Samsung Galaxy A57 5G
- Honor HONOR 90 vs Nothing Phone (3a) Lite
- Honor HONOR 400 vs Honor HONOR 90
- Google Pixel 9a vs Honor HONOR 90
- Honor HONOR 90 vs Motorola motorola edge 60 fusion
- Honor HONOR 90 vs Samsung Galaxy A56 5G
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs OnePlus OnePlus Nord CE5
- Honor HONOR 200 vs Honor HONOR 90
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE4
- Honor HONOR 90 vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro 5G
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro 5G
- Honor HONOR 90 vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro+ 5G
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro+ 5G
- OnePlus Nord 2T 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G

