Nothing Phone (2) vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| NothingPhone (2) | OnePlusNord CE3 5G | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | July 2023 | August 2023 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.7″ | 6.7″ |
| Resolution | 2412 × 1080 | 2412 × 1080 |
| Sharpness | 394 pixels per inch | 394 pixels per inch |
| Panel | LTPO OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 1,600 nits | – |
| Display type | Flexible LTPO OLED; hosted historical product sheet lists 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio | Fluid AMOLED; 20.1:9 aspect ratio; 93.4% stated screen-to-body ratio |
| Pixel density | 394 ppi, from the hosted historical product sheet | 394 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Hosted historical product sheet lists 1,000 nits outdoor full-screen brightness and 1,600 nits HDR peak pixel brightness | Digit measured 948 nits outdoors with automatic brightness; this is a review measurement, not a maker peak rating |
| Screen protection | Corning Gorilla Glass, from the hosted historical product sheet; generation not specified | – |
| Display features | Hosted historical product sheet lists HDR10+, 10-bit colour, adaptive 1–120 Hz refresh, 240 Hz touch sampling and SGS Low Blue Light certification | 60, 90 and 120 Hz modes; up to 240 Hz touch response; sRGB, Display P3, 10-bit colour and HDR10+; up to 2,160 Hz PWM below 90 nits and DC dimming above 90 nits; maker advertises Netflix and Prime HDR, but FoneArena and Digit found Netflix HDR unavailable during their reviews |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1 | Qualcomm Snapdragon 782G |
| Memory | 8 GB – 12 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB (better) | 128 GB, 256 GB |
| CPU | Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1, confirmed by the maker launch release; hosted historical product sheet lists a 4 nm TSMC process | Qualcomm Snapdragon 782G; up to 2.7 GHz, according to the maker overview |
| GPU | Adreno 730, from the hosted historical product sheet | Adreno 642L |
| AI engine | Second-generation Hexagon Tensor Processor V69 with four HVX processors, from the hosted historical product sheet | – |
| Storage type | UK maker store lists 8/128, 12/256 and 12/512 GB configurations | LPDDR4X RAM and UFS 3.1 storage; India configurations of 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB; no UK configuration asserted |
| Cooling | – | 4,129.8 mm² vapour chamber |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP | 8 MP |
| Telephoto camera | None | None |
| Optical zoom | None | None |
| Front camera | 32 MP (better) | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Hosted historical product sheet lists Sony IMX890, 50 MP, f/1.88, 1/1.56-inch sensor, 1 µm pixels and 24 mm focal length; OIS and EIS | Sony IMX890, 50 MP, f/1.8, 1/1.56-inch sensor, 24 mm equivalent focal length, six-element lens and 1.0 µm pixels; PDAF, OIS and EIS |
| Ultra wide camera | Hosted historical product sheet lists Samsung JN1, 50 MP, f/2.2, 1/2.76-inch sensor, EIS and 114° field of view; 4 cm macro mode | Sony IMX355, 8 MP, f/2.2, 112° field of view, 1.12 µm pixels and fixed focus |
| Front camera | Hosted historical product sheet lists Sony IMX615, 32 MP, f/2.45 and 1/2.74-inch sensor | 16 MP, f/2.4, 24 mm equivalent focal length, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | 2× Super-Res digital zoom in the hosted historical product sheet; no telephoto camera | 0.6× to 20× digital zoom; no optical telephoto lens |
| Video recording | Hosted historical product sheet lists 4K at 60 fps; 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; Live HDR 4K at 30 fps; slow motion at 480 fps; night video 1080p at 30 fps; Action Mode, OIS, EIS and 4K time-lapse | 4K at 30 fps; 1080p and 720p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 120 fps or 720p 240 fps; Ultra Steady at 1080p 60 fps; 1080p 30 fps time-lapse and video editor |
| Front video | Hosted historical product sheet lists 1080p at 60 fps and Live HDR 1080p at 30 fps | 1080p or 720p at 30 fps, including Steady Mode |
| Camera features | Hosted historical product sheet lists Advanced HDR, Motion Capture 2.0, Night Mode, Portrait, Motion Photo, Lenticular filter, AI scene detection, Expert Mode, panorama, night panorama and document mode | Additional 2 MP macro camera with 4 cm shooting distance; all-pixel omnidirectional PDAF and contrast autofocus; LED flash; TurboRAW, ICE 2.0, Nightscape, Portrait, Dual-view Video, HDR, panorama, text scanning, Extra HD and Pro Mode |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,700 mAh | 5,000 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 45 W | Up to 80 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | Up to 15 W (better) | None |
| Battery life detail | 4,700 mAh capacity confirmed by current maker support | Non-removable dual-cell battery, two 2,500 mAh cells and 5,000 mAh equivalent capacity; maker states at least 80% capacity after 1,600 charging cycles under laboratory conditions |
| Wired charging | Hosted historical product sheet lists 45 W PPS (3.3–20 V, 2.25 A), full charge in 55 minutes, PD 3.0/2.0 and Quick Charge 4.0/3.0/2.0; current maker FAQ says approximately one hour depending on charger and temperature | 80 W SUPERVOOC; maker measured 1–61% in 15 minutes at 25°C with the screen off; 11 temperature sensors and a dedicated charging chip |
| Wireless charging | Hosted historical product sheet lists 15 W Qi, dual charging support and full charge in 130 minutes | – |
| Charges other devices | 5 W reverse wireless charging, from the hosted historical product sheet | – |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 203 g | 184 g (better) |
| Thickness | 8.6 mm | 8.2 mm (better) |
| Height × width | 162.1 × 76.4 mm | 162.7 × 75.5 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP54 | – |
| Materials | Glass rear and recycled aluminium mid-frame; current maker FAQ states 203 g while the hosted historical product sheet states 201.2 g; the reason for the difference is unpublished | Plastic rear, confirmed by FoneArena and Digit |
| Colours | White and dark grey, confirmed by the UK maker store | Aqua Surge and Gray Shimmer |
| Buttons | Glyph Interface has 33 individually addressable zones, notification alerts, timer, volume indicator, progress tracking, charging indicator and composer, from the hosted historical product sheet | Volume and power keys on the right; infrared remote transmitter; no Alert Slider, confirmed by Digit |
| Water resistance detail | – | IP54 dust and splash resistance reported by FoneArena and Digit; not specified in the maker pages read |
| Biometrics | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based facial recognition, from the hosted historical product sheet | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint, front and rear ambient light, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, proximity and sensor core, from the hosted historical product sheet | Fingerprint, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and temperature; infrared blaster; X-axis linear vibration motor |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers, from the hosted historical product sheet | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos and wired and wireless Hi-Res Audio |
| Microphones | Three high-definition microphones, from the hosted historical product sheet | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | Nothing OS 2.0 based on Android 13, confirmed by the full launch reviews | OxygenOS 13.1 based on Android 13 |
| Software updates | Maker launch release promises three years of Android updates and four years of security updates; hosted historical product sheet specifies security patches every two months | Maker promised at least two Android generations and three years of security updates from launch; the original security support period has elapsed |
| In the box | Phone, USB-C cable, safety and warranty information, pre-applied screen protector and SIM ejector; no charging adapter, from the hosted historical product sheet | Phone, 80 W SUPERVOOC adapter, USB 2.0 Type-C cable, case, pre-applied screen protector, SIM ejector, welcome letter, quick guide, brand sticker, Red Cable Club card and safety guide |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | Hosted historical product sheet lists Gigabit LTE, SA/NSA 5G and 4×4 MIMO; 5G bands n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/28/30/38/40/41/66/71/75/77/78, subject to region and operator | India bands; 5G SA n1/n3/n5/n8/n28A/n40/n41/n78 and NSA n1/n3/n41/n77/n78; LTE 4×4 MIMO, Cat 15 download up to 800 Mbit/s and Cat 13 upload up to 150 Mbit/s, subject to carrier support |
| SIM | Dual SIM, from the hosted historical product sheet | Hybrid slot for two nano-SIMs or one nano-SIM and a microSD card up to 1 TB |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax), 2.4/5 GHz, 2×2 MIMO, MU-MIMO, Wi-Fi Direct and hotspot, from the hosted historical product sheet | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz bands |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3, from the hosted historical product sheet | Bluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, aptX Adaptive, LDAC, LHDC, AAC and SBC |
| NFC | NFC with Google Pay, from the hosted historical product sheet | Yes |
| USB | USB-C; no headphone socket, confirmed by TechAdvisor | USB-C, USB 2.0; Type-C earphones supported; no 3.5 mm headphone socket, confirmed by FoneArena |
| Positioning | GPS L1/L5 and A-GPS; GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, QZSS, NavIC and SBAS, from the hosted historical product sheet | GPS, A-GPS, BeiDou, GLONASS, Galileo and QZSS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE6
- Nothing Phone (2) vs Nothing Phone (4a) Pro
- Nothing Phone (2) vs Nothing Phone (3)
- Nothing Phone (2) vs Nothing Phone (3a) Pro
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs OnePlus OnePlus Nord CE5
- Nothing Phone (2) vs Nothing Phone (2a) Plus
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE4
- Google Pixel 8 vs Nothing Phone (2)
- Nothing Phone (2) vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro 5G
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro 5G
- Nothing Phone (2) vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro+ 5G
- OnePlus Nord CE3 5G vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro+ 5G
- OnePlus Nord 2T 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G
- OnePlus Nord 3 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G
- OnePlus Nord CE 2 5G vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G
- Google Pixel 7a vs OnePlus Nord CE3 5G

