OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

OnePlus 9 compared with OnePlus 9 Pro
OnePlusOnePlus 9OnePlusOnePlus 9 Pro
Overview
ReleasedMarch 2021March 2021
Display
Screen size6.55″6.7″
Resolution2400 × 10803216 × 1440 (better)
Sharpness402 pixels per inch526 pixels per inch (better)
PanelOLEDOLED
Refresh rate120 Hz120 Hz
Peak brightness1,100 nits1,300 nits (better)
Display typeFlat Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratioCurved LTPO Fluid AMOLED; 20.1:9 aspect ratio
Pixel density402 ppi525 ppi
Brightness detailUp to 1,100 nits; two ambient light sensors and 8,192 automatic brightness levels, stated in the maker's launch releaseUp to 1,300 nits; dual ambient light sensors and 8,192 automatic brightness levels
Always-on displayAlways-on display with OxygenOS 11, described by TechAdvisorSuper AOD always-on display
Screen protectionCorning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheetCorning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheet
Display features120 Hz; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Comfort Tone, Reading Mode, Night Mode, Vibrant Color Effect and Ultra-high Video ResolutionAdaptive 1–120 Hz; native 10-bit colour; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; MEMC, Reading Mode, Night Mode, Vibrant Color Effect, Ultra-high Video Resolution and Color Tone; Hyper Touch synchronisation in supported games
Performance
ChipSnapdragon 888Snapdragon 888
Memory8 GB – 12 GB8 GB – 12 GB
Storage128 GB, 256 GB128 GB, 256 GB
CPUQualcomm Snapdragon 888 with Snapdragon X60 5G modemQualcomm Snapdragon 888 with Snapdragon X60 5G modem
GPUAdreno 660Adreno 660
Storage typeLPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisorLPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; European 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by the maker
CoolingOnePlus Cool Play with thicker graphite layers and a larger vapour chamber–
Cameras
Main camera48 MP48 MP
Ultra wide camera50 MP50 MP
Telephoto cameraNone8 MP
Optical zoomNone3.3× (better)
Front camera16 MP16 MP
Main cameraSony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.43-inch sensor, f/1.8, 23 mm equivalent, seven-element lens and 1.12 µm pixels; maker's sheet does not publish OIS and the reviews confirm its absenceSony IMX789, 48 MP, f/1.8, 23 mm equivalent, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels and OIS; physical 1/1.35-inch sensor, effective area up to 1/1.43-inch for photographs
Ultra wide cameraSony IMX766, 50 MP, 1/1.56-inch sensor, f/2.2, 14 mm equivalent, seven-element freeform lensSony IMX766, 50 MP, 1/1.56-inch sensor, f/2.2, 14 mm equivalent, seven-element freeform lens; macro photography from 4 cm
Telephoto camera–8 MP, f/2.4, 77 mm equivalent, five-element lens, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; 3.3× optical zoom
Front cameraSony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EISSony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS
ZoomDigital zoom; no dedicated telephoto camera3.3× optical telephoto; digital zoom up to 30×
Video recording8K at 30 fps; 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor8K at 30 fps; 4K at 30, 60 or 120 fps; 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor
Front video1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse
Camera featuresHasselblad Camera for Mobile and Natural Color Calibration; additional 2 MP monochrome camera, all-pixel omnidirectional phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, Nightscape, Super Macro, UltraShot HDR, Smart Scene Recognition, Portrait, Pro with 12-bit RAW, Panorama, Tilt-shift, focus peaking, pet focus, filters, Super Stable, Video Nightscape, Video HDR, video portrait, focus tracking and HyperlapseHasselblad Camera for Mobile and Natural Color Calibration; additional 2 MP monochrome camera, all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, Nightscape, Super Macro, UltraShot HDR, Portrait, Pro with 12-bit RAW, Panorama, Tilt-shift, focus peaking, pet focus, filters, Super Stable, Video Nightscape, Video HDR, video portrait, focus tracking and Hyperlapse
Battery and charging
Battery4,500 mAh4,500 mAh
Wired chargingUp to 65 WUp to 65 W
Wireless chargingUp to 15 WUp to 50 W (better)
Battery life detailNon-removable dual-cell battery; two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typicalNon-removable dual-cell battery; two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typical
Wired chargingWarp Charge 65T, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports 1–100% in 29 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devicesWarp Charge 65T, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports 1–100% in 29 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devices
Wireless charging15 W Qi wireless charging on the European model; regional variants differWarp Charge 50 Wireless; maker reports 1–100% in 43 minutes with its separate wireless charger; two coils allow portrait and landscape placement
Charges other devicesReverse wireless charging, described by Android Central; maker wattage not verifiedReverse wireless charging, described by Expert Reviews; maker wattage not verified
Design
TypeStandardStandard
Weight192 g (better)197 g
Thickness8.7 mm8.7 mm
Height × width160 × 74.2 mm163.2 × 73.6 mm
Water and dust resistance–IP68
MaterialsGlass back and plastic frame, described by TechRadarGlass back and aluminium frame; matte Pine Green and Stellar Black, reflective Morning Mist
ColoursArctic Sky, Astral Black and Winter Mist; UK Winter Mist is tied to 12/256 GB according to TechAdvisorMorning Mist, Pine Green and Stellar Black; UK Pine Green is paired with 12/256 GB according to Expert Reviews
ButtonsAlert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supportedAlert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported
Water resistance detailNo published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; the separate US T-Mobile certification is not appliedIP68; maker test covers up to 1.5 metres of fresh water for 30 minutes; resistance can diminish and liquid damage is not covered
BiometricsIn-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlockIn-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock
SensorsFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and flicker detectionFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, flicker detection and front RGB sensor
SpeakersDual stereo speakers; Dolby AtmosDual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos
MicrophonesNoise cancellation supportNoise cancellation support
Software
Operating systemAndroidAndroid
Software at launchOxygenOS based on Android 11OxygenOS based on Android 11
Software updatesThree Android OS upgrades and four years of security updates from launch, reported by TechAdvisor; this is the original commitment, not a claim of continuing support–
In the boxPhone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejectorPhone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector
Connectivity
Mobile networkSnapdragon X60; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload, 2 Gbit/s and 200 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n78 and SA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78Snapdragon X60; 4×4 MIMO, LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78 and SA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78
SIMDual nano-SIMDual nano-SIM
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHzWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz
BluetoothBluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AACBluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC
NFCYesYes
USBUSB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included cable supports USB 2.0USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included cable supports USB 2.0
PositioningDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPSDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS

More comparisons