Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) compared with Thunderbolt Display
AppleCinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)AppleThunderbolt Display
Overview
ReleasedOctober 2004September 2011
Display
Screen size29.7″27″
Resolution2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) (better)2560 × 1440 (QHD)
Sharpness102 pixels per inch109 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple June 2004 Technology Overview); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 30-inch datasheet. Main brightness and contrast describe the original published generation.)IPS
Refresh rate60 Hz60 Hz
Brightness (typical)270 nits375 nits (better)
Contrast ratio400:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detailOriginal June 2004 Apple Technology Overview specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions, so main grey-to-grey response is omitted. Original brightness is 270 cd/m² and contrast 400:1. Archived support table later gives 400 cd/m² and 400:1; Japanese specifications give 400 cd/m², 700:1 and 14 ms. These later figures are not substituted into the original main fields.Apple specifies 12 ms without identifying the transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing anglesOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.178° horizontally and vertically
Eye care–Ambient light sensor automatically adjusts brightness
Pixel pitch0.250 mm–
Connections
Video inputsDVIThunderbolt
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
Ethernet–Yes
Speakers–Yes
Webcam–FaceTime HD camera with microphone
Thunderbolt detail–Captive first-generation Thunderbolt input cable; two bidirectional 10 Gbps channels. Requires a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, not a Mini DisplayPort-only Mac.
Other connectionsCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slotGigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000Base-T), FireWire 800 with up to 7 W power, downstream Thunderbolt port and Kensington security slot
Daisy chaining–Downstream Thunderbolt supports compatible devices and a second Thunderbolt Display where the Mac permits it. The port does not directly support Mini DisplayPort, DVI or VGA displays or adapters.
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computerThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; device charging can work without a host attached
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 speaker system with 49 W output
Webcam detail–FaceTime HD camera and microphone; Apple does not publish a megapixel figure in the specifications
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesYes
Weight with stand12.5 kg10.8 kg
Tilt–Tilt adjustment only; no height, swivel or pivot adjustment (Macworld)
VESA patternOptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 CRequires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand688 × 543 × 215 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specificationsCurrent UK support specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). The original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm and 10.7 kg rather than the support page's 10.8 kg.
ControlsSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferencesBrightness and colour profile through macOS Displays preferences; no on-screen menu or physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursAluminium enclosureAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 150 W; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 2 W or less. Apple environmental report at 230 V gives 108 W on at full brightness, 1.9 W sleep and 0.75 W off.
Power supplyExternal A1098 150 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC outputInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Captive Universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W separately from the Thunderbolt cable; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareApple's June 2004 UK press release promised August sale, but delivery slipped into autumn (Computerworld/Macworld). Main release month follows MacRumors' October 2004 shipping report. At launch Apple specified Power Mac G5 with NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL for native resolution; a dual-link DVI graphics connection is required. Original manual explicitly specifies 2560 × 1600 at 60 Hz and 29.7-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows June 2004 maker Technology Overview (12.5 kg); original manual gives 12.31 kg and archived support table 12.47 kg. No basis for the discrepancies is stated.Original requirement OS X 10.6.8 or later and a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac. Announced 20 July 2011 with availability within 60 days; September sale month follows contemporary MacRumors reports of customer shipments, rather than the announcement date.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 5.1; EPEAT Gold in the US and Canada
Warranty–One-year limited warranty and 90 days of telephone support
In the boxDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning clothThunderbolt Display, AC power cord and printed documentation

More comparisons