Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleLED Cinema Display (24-inch) | AppleLED Cinema Display (27-inch) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | November 2008 | September 2010 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 24″ | 27″ |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) | 2560 × 1440 (QHD) (better) |
| Sharpness | 94 pixels per inch | 109 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | IPS | IPS |
| Refresh rate | 60 Hz | 60 Hz |
| Brightness (typical) | 330 nits | 375 nits (better) |
| Contrast ratio | 1,000:1 | 1,000:1 |
| Screen finish | Glossy | Glossy |
| Shape | Flat | Flat |
| Colour depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified. Macworld UK identifies an H-IPS LG-Philips LM240WU6-SDA1 panel; Apple describes TFT LCD without naming the IPS subtype. | Up to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified |
| Response time detail | Typical 14 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row | Typical 12 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row |
| Viewing angles | 178° horizontally and vertically | 178° horizontally and vertically |
| Eye care | – | Ambient light sensor adjusts brightness automatically |
| Connections | ||
| Video inputs | Mini DisplayPort | Mini DisplayPort |
| USB-C charging | None | None |
| USB ports | 3 × USB-A | 3 × USB-A |
| Speakers | Yes | Yes |
| Webcam | iSight camera with microphone | iSight camera with microphone |
| DisplayPort detail | Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; original manual requires the separate USB connection for audio, camera, microphone and hub functions | Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; audio support depends on the host Mac |
| USB hub detail | Three powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data | Three powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data, camera, microphone and speakers. Device charging works without a host connected. |
| Speaker detail | Built-in 2.1 system with 12 W output in the original A1267 manual | Built-in 2.1 system with 49 W output |
| Webcam detail | Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure | Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure |
| Design | ||
| Stand adjusts | Tilt | Tilt |
| VESA mount | Yes | Yes |
| Weight with stand | 9.5 kg | 10.7 kg |
| VESA pattern | Requires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit | Requires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit |
| Size with stand | Current specifications give 573.2 × 478.4 × 197.1 mm (width × height × depth) and 9.5 kg. Original manual gives 573.22 × 478.38 × 197.10 mm and 9.49 kg; the current rounded weight is retained. | Current UK specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). Original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm; both give 10.7 kg. |
| Controls | Resolution, brightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld) | Brightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld) |
| Colours | Aluminium enclosure with black glass bezel | Aluminium enclosure with black glass bezel |
| Power and support | ||
| Power use | Maximum 212 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less | Maximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less |
| Power supply | Internal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz | Internal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz |
| Laptop charging | Separate captive universal MagSafe charging connector; no USB-C power delivery | Separate captive universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W; no USB-C power delivery |
| Software | Original requirement MacBook, MacBook Air or MacBook Pro with Mini DisplayPort. October 2008 announcement specifies November availability. | Original requirement Mac with Mini DisplayPort and Mac OS X 10.6.4 or later. July 2010 announcement specifies September availability. |
| Certifications | ENERGY STAR 4.0; EPEAT Gold | ENERGY STAR 5.0; EPEAT Gold in the US, Canada, France, Germany and UK |
| In the box | Display, AC power cord, cleaning cloth and printed documentation | Display, AC power cord and printed documentation |
More comparisons
- Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch) vs Apple Studio Display XDR
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Apple Studio Display XDR
- Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch) vs Apple Studio Display (2022)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Apple Studio Display (2022)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor (U2722D)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp 27 USB-C Hub Monitor (U2722DE)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp 27 USB-C Hub Monitor (U2721DE)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp 27 USB-C Monitor (U2719DC)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp U2719D
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp U2717D
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor with PremierColor (UP2716D)
- Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp U2415
- Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp U2715H
- Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch) vs Dell UltraSharp U2414H

