Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Approach S12

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Approach J1 compared with Approach S12
GarminApproach J1GarminApproach S12
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2026March 2021
Display
Case sizes43 mm43.7 mm
PanelOLEDMemory-in-pixel
Always-on displayYesYes
Display detail1.2-inch AMOLED colour touchscreen, 390 × 390 pixels; optional always-on mode and two physical buttons. Brightness and refresh rate are not published.Sunlight-visible, transflective monochrome memory-in-pixel display, 23 x 23 mm (0.9 x 0.9 inch), 175 x 175 pixels. Four physical buttons; no touchscreen. Big Numbers mode enlarges green yardages. The grouped March 2021 launch and Swiss datasheet incorrectly describe 23 mm as 1.3 inches; the exact current UK and US specifications give 0.9 inches.
Screen protectionChemically strengthened glass.Chemically strengthened glass, according to the exact S12 Swiss technical datasheet.
Health and fitness
ECGNoNo
Blood oxygenNoNo
Skin temperatureNoNo
Sleep apnoea alertsNoNo
High blood pressure alertsNoNo
Body compositionNoNo
Fall detectionNoNo
Crash detectionNoNo
GPSSingle-bandSingle-band
Water resistance50 m50 m
SensorsGPS, GLONASS and Galileo positioning, compass, gyroscope, accelerometer and ambient-light sensor. All Systems mode combines satellite systems; multi-frequency reception is not specified.Built-in GPS receiver. No published multi-band, GLONASS/Galileo, optical heart-rate or Pulse Ox support.
Health featuresDaily step counting and automatic step goals. No wrist heart-rate or blood-oxygen sensor; no ECG, sleep-apnoea or skin-temperature measurement.Golf-focused device; no wrist heart-rate, sleep or daily activity-tracking features listed in the exact specifications or owner guide.
Fitness featuresMore than 43,000 preloaded golf courses, forward-tee guidance, adjustable personal par, pace-of-play timer and club suggestions. Front/middle/back yardages, hazards and layups, Green View with movable pin, digital scorecard, stroke/putt/fairway statistics, handicap scoring and AutoShot distance recording. Automatic shot detection does not record putts and may miss chips. Walking, running, cycling and pool-swimming profiles, GPS pace/distance, cadence, Auto Lap, Auto Pause and Move IQ. The exact German datasheet marks CT1 and CT10 incompatible; the owner’s guide nevertheless mentions paired Approach sensors in generic shot-detection instructions. Compatibility is unresolved and not claimed.Current preloaded coverage exceeds 43,000 worldwide golf courses; the original launch listed 42,000. Front/middle/back green yardages, layup/dogleg/hazard distances, Green View with manual pin positioning, manual shot-distance measurement, digital scorecard, statistics for strokes, putts, greens and fairways, round timer and odometer. Automatic course and hole selection. No AutoShot without club sensors, touch targeting, full colour course maps, PlaysLike distances or virtual caddie. Optional complete set of 14 Approach CT10 sensors enables automatic club tracking; sensors are not included. Current overview specifies the full set rather than the three-sensor starter pack.
Safety featuresPairing and account management may require a parent or guardian depending on the child’s age and region. Incident detection and emergency calls are not published.–
Battery and connections
Battery life (maker's claim)Up to 10 daysUp to 70 days
Mobile data optionNoNo
Works withiPhone and AndroidiPhone and Android
Storage4 GB–
Battery life detailUp to 10 days in watch mode with gesture wake-up; up to 15 hours in GPS mode with always-on display during golf. The March 2026 owner’s guide labels the 15-hour claim All satellite systems mode. A Battery Saver setting exists but no separate runtime is published.Built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery. Up to 10 weeks in watch-only mode and up to 30 hours playing golf with GPS. The March 2021 Swiss comparison sheet claims 15 weeks watch use, conflicting with the exact English owner guide and current UK/US table; use 10 weeks. Actual life depends on GPS usage and cold temperatures.
ChargingGarmin proprietary plug charging/data cable; USB media-transfer and Garmin modes are documented. Rechargeable lithium-ion battery; operating/storage -20 to 60°C and charging 0 to 45°C. Capacity, charging power and charge time are not published.Garmin proprietary four-contact USB charging/data cable. USB mass-storage and Garmin modes are documented. Operating -20 to 60°C; charging 0 to 45°C. Capacity, charging wattage and charging time are not published.
ConnectivityBluetooth LE; pairs through Garmin Golf with compatible iPhone or Android phones. Golf data and fitness activities sync to Garmin Golf/Garmin Connect; Garmin Express provides computer software and course updates. No cellular connectivity, Wi-Fi or Garmin Pay is listed.Bluetooth Smart pairing with iPhone or Android through Garmin Golf for scorecard upload, statistics, leaderboards, live scoring, software updates and automatic updates of frequently played courses. Garmin Express on a computer handles course/software updates over USB. No phone notification display, Wi-Fi, Garmin Pay, standalone cellular or offline music. Owner guide indexes ANT+ sensors, while the Swiss comparison table marks ANT+ absent; CT10 pairing is explicitly supported, without claiming a general ANT+ sensor platform.
Storage4 GB memory/history.125 MB memory/history according to the exact current maker table.
Design
Weight (lightest version)29 g (better)34.1 g
SoftwareGarminGarmin
Case materialsFibre-reinforced polymer case, anodised aluminium bezel, plastic buttons and elastic nylon fabric hook-and-loop ComfortFit band.Polymer case and bezel, chemically strengthened glass and silicone quick-release band, per exact S12 Swiss datasheet. White band has black hardware accents.
Size43 × 43 × 11.4 mm; 29 g; fits wrists 115–195 mm.43.7 x 43.7 x 11.5 mm; 34.1 g. Fits wrists 125–202 mm. The Swiss launch table rounds dimensions to 44 x 44 x 12 mm.
Water resistance detail5 ATM: pressure equivalent to 50 m, not a diving-depth claim. Pool-swimming activity is supported; the touchscreen is unavailable during swims.5 ATM, equivalent pressure to 50 m; not a dive-depth rating. Do not press the keys under water.
Reference and release detailAvailable now in the US and Germany on 20 January 2026; the first UK shipping day was not established. Current UK security updates are promised until at least 20 January 2028, which is not an end-of-support announcement. No direct predecessor is claimed.Available now in Garmin’s US 16 March 2021 release and same-day Swiss launch. Exact first UK shipping day was not specified. No explicit maker predecessor statement found. The current UK security table states updates until at least 16 March 2023; this minimum date is not a claim that support has ended.
Bands20 mm quick-release ComfortFit fabric band. Current UK/US tables describe industry-standard bands; the March 2026 owner’s guide says the watch is not compatible with third-party bands. This conflict remains unresolved; use exact Approach J1 replacement bands.20 mm quick-release bands; compatible replacement bands are sold separately.
ColoursCloud blue aluminium bezel with black/azure ComfortFit band (010-03898-00); silver aluminium bezel with lilac ComfortFit band (010-03898-10). Both are sellable in the current UK catalogue. The launch calls the second bezel lilac, while current product naming says silver.Black, Granite Blue and White original finishes; later UK entries include Slate Gray, Tidal Blue and Neo Tropic. At the source read only Black and White were sellable on the UK page; the US page offered Black. Official photos of all six finishes are retained as configurations, not separate models.
In the boxApproach J1 junior GPS golf watch with fabric band, charging/data cable and documentation.Approach S12 golf watch, charging/data cable and documentation. CT10 club sensors are sold separately.

More comparisons