Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Approach S44
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| GarminApproach J1 | GarminApproach S44 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | January 2026 | January 2025 |
| Display | ||
| Case sizes | 43 mm | 43 mm |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
| Display detail | 1.2-inch AMOLED colour touchscreen, 390 × 390 pixels; optional always-on mode and two physical buttons. Brightness and refresh rate are not published. | 30.4 mm (1.2 inch) AMOLED touchscreen, 390 x 390 pixels; optional always-on display, ambient-light sensor and large-font option. Two physical buttons. |
| Screen protection | Chemically strengthened glass. | Corning Gorilla Glass 3 lens. |
| Health and fitness | ||
| ECG | No | No |
| Blood oxygen | No | No |
| Skin temperature | No | No |
| Sleep apnoea alerts | No | No |
| High blood pressure alerts | No | No |
| Body composition | No | No |
| Fall detection | No | No |
| Crash detection | No | No |
| GPS | Single-band | Single-band |
| Water resistance | 50 m | 50 m |
| Sensors | GPS, GLONASS and Galileo positioning, compass, gyroscope, accelerometer and ambient-light sensor. All Systems mode combines satellite systems; multi-frequency reception is not specified. | GPS, GLONASS and Galileo; compass, gyroscope, accelerometer and ambient-light sensor. No multi-band positioning or wrist heart-rate sensor. Do not infer a heart-rate sensor from generic heart-rate alert wording in the cycling table. |
| Health features | Daily step counting and automatic step goals. No wrist heart-rate or blood-oxygen sensor; no ECG, sleep-apnoea or skin-temperature measurement. | Step counting, move alerts, automatic daily step goal, calories, distance and intensity minutes. No wrist heart rate, Pulse Ox, sleep/stress monitoring or Body Battery; these belong to the S50. The current maker table and October 2025 guide document activity tracking beyond the step-only description in an April 2025 review. |
| Fitness features | More than 43,000 preloaded golf courses, forward-tee guidance, adjustable personal par, pace-of-play timer and club suggestions. Front/middle/back yardages, hazards and layups, Green View with movable pin, digital scorecard, stroke/putt/fairway statistics, handicap scoring and AutoShot distance recording. Automatic shot detection does not record putts and may miss chips. Walking, running, cycling and pool-swimming profiles, GPS pace/distance, cadence, Auto Lap, Auto Pause and Move IQ. The exact German datasheet marks CT1 and CT10 incompatible; the owner’s guide nevertheless mentions paired Approach sensors in generic shot-detection instructions. Compatibility is unresolved and not claimed. | Over 43,000 preloaded golf courses; front/middle/back green distances, hazards, layups/doglegs, Green View with manual pin position, PinPointer, digital scorecard, handicap scoring, statistics, Swing Tempo and custom targets. AutoShot detects shots and measures distance without tags; it does not detect putts, and some chips may be missed. Club Prompt records the selected club. Optional CT1 tags require tapping the watch before each shot; CT10 sensors add automatic club tracking, and the Z30 laser range finder shares measured distances. Full vector CourseView maps, touch targeting, green contours and elevation-adjusted PlaysLike distances require Garmin Golf membership. Tournament mode disables non-permitted features. Current UK activity profiles include running, indoor track running, biking, indoor biking and golf. The exact owner guide additionally documents pool swimming; the current web profile list omits it. No open-water swimming claim. |
| Safety features | Pairing and account management may require a parent or guardian depending on the child’s age and region. Incident detection and emergency calls are not published. | Incident detection in supported outdoor activities and assistance require Garmin Connect, a paired compatible phone with data service and network coverage. They message emergency contacts; they are not standalone emergency communication. |
| Battery and connections | ||
| Battery life (maker's claim) | Up to 10 days | Up to 10 days |
| Mobile data option | No | No |
| Works with | iPhone and Android | iPhone and Android |
| Storage | 4 GB | 4 GB |
| Battery life detail | Up to 10 days in watch mode with gesture wake-up; up to 15 hours in GPS mode with always-on display during golf. The March 2026 owner’s guide labels the 15-hour claim All satellite systems mode. A Battery Saver setting exists but no separate runtime is published. | Built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery. Up to 10 days in smartwatch mode with gesture wake-up, or 15 hours in GPS mode with always-on display while golfing. October 2025 owner guide describes the 15-hour claim as all-satellite-systems typical use. Actual life varies with settings and notifications. |
| Charging | Garmin proprietary plug charging/data cable; USB media-transfer and Garmin modes are documented. Rechargeable lithium-ion battery; operating/storage -20 to 60°C and charging 0 to 45°C. Capacity, charging power and charge time are not published. | Garmin proprietary four-contact plug to USB-C charging/data cable. Owner guide specifies operating/storage -20 to 60°C and charging 0 to 45°C. Battery capacity, fast-charge wattage and charge duration are not published. |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth LE; pairs through Garmin Golf with compatible iPhone or Android phones. Golf data and fitness activities sync to Garmin Golf/Garmin Connect; Garmin Express provides computer software and course updates. No cellular connectivity, Wi-Fi or Garmin Pay is listed. | Bluetooth LE with iPhone and Android; Garmin Golf and Garmin Connect. Phone notifications, calendar, weather, find-phone/find-watch and smartphone music controls. Text response, rejecting calls by text and notification images are Android-only. No standalone cellular connection, Wi-Fi, downloaded music or Garmin Pay. The manual’s 13.56 MHz radio entry and CT1 tap function do not establish payment support. |
| Storage | 4 GB memory/history. | 4 GB for preloaded golf/course data and activity history; no offline music storage capability. |
| Design | ||
| Weight (lightest version) | 29 g (better) | 42 g |
| Software | Garmin | Garmin |
| Case materials | Fibre-reinforced polymer case, anodised aluminium bezel, plastic buttons and elastic nylon fabric hook-and-loop ComfortFit band. | Anodised aluminium bezel and fibre-reinforced polymer case; silicone band. Swiss exact-model datasheet labels the buttons as plastic. |
| Size | 43 × 43 × 11.4 mm; 29 g; fits wrists 115–195 mm. | 43 x 43 x 11.4 mm; 42 g including the silicone band. Fits wrists 125–202 mm. |
| Water resistance detail | 5 ATM: pressure equivalent to 50 m, not a diving-depth claim. Pool-swimming activity is supported; the touchscreen is unavailable during swims. | 5 ATM, pressure equivalent to 50 m; this is not a dive-depth rating. Do not press buttons under water. |
| Reference and release detail | Available now in the US and Germany on 20 January 2026; the first UK shipping day was not established. Current UK security updates are promised until at least 20 January 2028, which is not an end-of-support announcement. No direct predecessor is claimed. | Available now in Garmin’s US and German 21 January 2025 announcements; exact UK first shipping day was not specified. Current UK standalone and CT1-bundle SKUs are sellable. No explicit maker predecessor relationship found. |
| Bands | 20 mm quick-release ComfortFit fabric band. Current UK/US tables describe industry-standard bands; the March 2026 owner’s guide says the watch is not compatible with third-party bands. This conflict remains unresolved; use exact Approach J1 replacement bands. | 20 mm industry-standard quick-release bands; not QuickFit. |
| Colours | Cloud blue aluminium bezel with black/azure ComfortFit band (010-03898-00); silver aluminium bezel with lilac ComfortFit band (010-03898-10). Both are sellable in the current UK catalogue. The launch calls the second bezel lilac, while current product naming says silver. | Silver aluminium bezel with Black or Twilight silicone band; Black also sold with 16 CT1 club tags. |
| In the box | Approach J1 junior GPS golf watch with fabric band, charging/data cable and documentation. | Approach S44, USB-C charging/data cable and documentation. Black CT1 bundle additionally includes 16 club tags; the tags are not included with the standalone watches. |
More comparisons
- Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Forerunner 170
- Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Forerunner 170 Music
- Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Forerunner 70
- Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Approach S50
- Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Approach S70
- Garmin Approach J1 vs Garmin Approach S12
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin Venu X1
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin vívoactive 6
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin Descent G2
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin Approach S50
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin Approach S70
- Garmin Approach S12 vs Garmin Approach S44
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin Forerunner 165
- Garmin Approach S44 vs Garmin Forerunner 165 Music

