Google Pixel 5 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| GooglePixel 5 | OnePlusOnePlus 8 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | October 2020 | April 2020 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6″ | 6.55″ |
| Resolution | 2340 × 1080 | 2400 × 1080 (better) |
| Sharpness | 430 pixels per inch (better) | 402 pixels per inch |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 90 Hz | 90 Hz |
| Peak brightness | – | 1,100 nits |
| Display type | Flexible OLED; 19.5:9 aspect ratio; hole-punch camera | Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio; 6.55 inches as a full rectangle or 6.34 inches accounting for rounded corners |
| Pixel density | 432 ppi | 402 ppi |
| Brightness detail | – | Up to 1,100 nits, stated in the UK overview footnote |
| Always-on display | Now Playing | – |
| Screen protection | Corning Gorilla Glass 6 | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker |
| Display features | Smooth Display up to 90 Hz; HDR support; 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio; 24-bit colour | 90 Hz; HDR10 and HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color Effect; maker reports JNCD 0.4 colour accuracy. OnePlus's product manager confirms 180 Hz touch response in the official launch Q&A. |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G | Snapdragon 865 |
| Memory | 8 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB (better) |
| Storage | 128 GB | 128 GB, 256 GB (better) |
| CPU | 64-bit octa-core CPU; 2.4/2.2/1.8 GHz; Titan M security module | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 620 | Adreno 650 |
| Storage type | 128 GB storage; 8 GB LPDDR4x RAM; no microSD slot | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 12.2 MP | 48 MP (better) |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Telephoto camera | None | None |
| Optical zoom | None | None |
| Front camera | 8 MP | 16 MP (better) |
| Main camera | Dual-pixel phase-detection autofocus; f/1.7; 1.4 μm pixels; 77° field of view; optical and electronic image stabilisation | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.75, 0.8 µm pixels, six-element lens, OIS and EIS |
| Ultra wide camera | f/2.2; 1.0 μm pixels; 118.7° maximum field of view with RAW capture enabled | 16 MP, f/2.2, 116° field of view |
| Front camera | f/2.0; 1.12 μm pixels; fixed focus; 83° field of view | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | – | No optical telephoto; 2× in-sensor zoom |
| Video recording | Rear 4K at 30/60 fps; 1080p at 30/60/120/240 fps | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse |
| Camera features | Night Sight in Portrait Mode; astrophotography; Portrait Light; Cinematic Pan; Super Res Zoom | Additional 2 MP macro camera, f/2.4, 1.75 µm pixels and 4 cm focus distance confirmed in the official camera Q&A; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, cat and dog focus, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouching |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,080 mAh | 4,300 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 18 W | Up to 30 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | Yes (wattage not published) | None |
| Battery life detail | Typical 4,080 mAh, minimum 4,000 mAh; maker claims all-day use or up to 48 hours with Extreme Battery Saver | Non-removable battery; 4,300 mAh typical and 4,230 mAh rated |
| Wired charging | Up to 18 W using the supplied USB-C adaptor; USB-PD 2.0; actual rates may vary | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 22 minutes under laboratory conditions. OnePlus's product manager also confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A. |
| Wireless charging | Qi-compatible wireless charging; charger sold separately; maker hardware sheet does not specify wattage | – |
| Charges other devices | Battery Share wirelessly charges Qi-certified devices; cases can interfere and charging reduces phone battery life | – |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 151 g (better) | 180 g |
| Thickness | 8 mm | 8 mm |
| Height × width | 144.7 × 70.4 mm | 160.2 × 72.9 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | – |
| Materials | Back housing made from 100% recycled aluminium | – |
| Colours | Just Black, Sorta Sage | UK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Interstellar Glow was also announced globally with later May availability in the German maker release |
| Buttons | Power button and volume controls | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported |
| Water resistance detail | IP68; charger and accessories are not water or dust resistant; protection can diminish with wear, repair or damage | No maker-published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; US carrier certification is not applied to it |
| Biometrics | Pixel Imprint rear fingerprint sensor | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Proximity and ambient light; accelerometer; gyrometer; magnetometer; barometer; spectral and flicker sensor | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity and sensor core |
| Speakers | Stereo speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos |
| Microphones | Three microphones with noise suppression | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | Android 11 | OxygenOS based on Android 10 |
| Software updates | No longer receives Android version or security updates according to Google's current support policy; original promise was at least three years | – |
| AI features | Recorder with on-device transcription and audio editing; Google Assistant; Hold for Me launched as a US preview, not a UK launch feature | – |
| Safety features | Personal Safety app; functions vary by region | – |
| In the box | UK package includes 18 W USB-C power adaptor, USB-C to USB-C cable (1 m, USB 2.0), Quick Switch adaptor, SIM tool and quick start guide; earbuds included only in certain other regions | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | UK GTT9Q supports sub-6 GHz 5G and LTE; US GD1YQ adds mmWave; network and operator dependent | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes |
| SIM | One nano-SIM and eSIM; operator dependent | Dual nano-SIM; the historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified |
| Wi-Fi | Dual-band 2.4/5 GHz 802.11a/b/g/n/ac; 2x2 MIMO | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.0 + LE; A2DP; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC |
| NFC | NFC; Google Cast | Yes |
| USB | USB-C 3.1 Gen 1; supplied cable runs at USB 2.0; no 3.5 mm headphone jack | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 |
| Positioning | Dual-band GNSS; GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou and NavIC outside the US | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- Google Pixel 11 vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 11 Pro vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 11 Pro Fold vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 11 Pro XL vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 10a vs Google Pixel 5
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- Google Pixel 10 Pro Fold vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 10 vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 10 Pro vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 5 vs Google Pixel 8
- Google Pixel 5 vs Google Pixel 6
- Google Pixel 5 vs Sony Xperia 5 III
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- Google Pixel 4 vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 4a (5G) vs Google Pixel 5
- Google Pixel 5 vs Sony Xperia 5 II
