OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OnePlusOnePlus 8 | OnePlusOnePlus 9 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | April 2020 | March 2021 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.55″ | 6.55″ |
| Resolution | 2400 × 1080 | 2400 × 1080 |
| Sharpness | 402 pixels per inch | 402 pixels per inch |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 90 Hz | 120 Hz (better) |
| Peak brightness | 1,100 nits | 1,100 nits |
| Display type | Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio; 6.55 inches as a full rectangle or 6.34 inches accounting for rounded corners | Flat Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio |
| Pixel density | 402 ppi | 402 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Up to 1,100 nits, stated in the UK overview footnote | Up to 1,100 nits; two ambient light sensors and 8,192 automatic brightness levels, stated in the maker's launch release |
| Always-on display | – | Always-on display with OxygenOS 11, described by TechAdvisor |
| Screen protection | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker | Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheet |
| Display features | 90 Hz; HDR10 and HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color Effect; maker reports JNCD 0.4 colour accuracy. OnePlus's product manager confirms 180 Hz touch response in the official launch Q&A. | 120 Hz; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Comfort Tone, Reading Mode, Night Mode, Vibrant Color Effect and Ultra-high Video Resolution |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 865 | Snapdragon 888 |
| Memory | 8 GB – 12 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB | 128 GB, 256 GB |
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem | Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 with Snapdragon X60 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 650 | Adreno 660 |
| Storage type | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor | LPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor |
| Cooling | – | OnePlus Cool Play with thicker graphite layers and a larger vapour chamber |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 48 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP | 50 MP |
| Telephoto camera | None | None |
| Optical zoom | None | None |
| Front camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.75, 0.8 µm pixels, six-element lens, OIS and EIS | Sony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.43-inch sensor, f/1.8, 23 mm equivalent, seven-element lens and 1.12 µm pixels; maker's sheet does not publish OIS and the reviews confirm its absence |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP, f/2.2, 116° field of view | Sony IMX766, 50 MP, 1/1.56-inch sensor, f/2.2, 14 mm equivalent, seven-element freeform lens |
| Front camera | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | No optical telephoto; 2× in-sensor zoom | Digital zoom; no dedicated telephoto camera |
| Video recording | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor | 8K at 30 fps; 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse |
| Camera features | Additional 2 MP macro camera, f/2.4, 1.75 µm pixels and 4 cm focus distance confirmed in the official camera Q&A; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, cat and dog focus, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouching | Hasselblad Camera for Mobile and Natural Color Calibration; additional 2 MP monochrome camera, all-pixel omnidirectional phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, Nightscape, Super Macro, UltraShot HDR, Smart Scene Recognition, Portrait, Pro with 12-bit RAW, Panorama, Tilt-shift, focus peaking, pet focus, filters, Super Stable, Video Nightscape, Video HDR, video portrait, focus tracking and Hyperlapse |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,300 mAh | 4,500 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 30 W | Up to 65 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | None | Up to 15 W (better) |
| Battery life detail | Non-removable battery; 4,300 mAh typical and 4,230 mAh rated | Non-removable dual-cell battery; two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typical |
| Wired charging | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 22 minutes under laboratory conditions. OnePlus's product manager also confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A. | Warp Charge 65T, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports 1–100% in 29 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devices |
| Wireless charging | – | 15 W Qi wireless charging on the European model; regional variants differ |
| Charges other devices | – | Reverse wireless charging, described by Android Central; maker wattage not verified |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 180 g (better) | 192 g |
| Thickness | 8 mm (better) | 8.7 mm |
| Height × width | 160.2 × 72.9 mm | 160 × 74.2 mm |
| Materials | – | Glass back and plastic frame, described by TechRadar |
| Colours | UK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Interstellar Glow was also announced globally with later May availability in the German maker release | Arctic Sky, Astral Black and Winter Mist; UK Winter Mist is tied to 12/256 GB according to TechAdvisor |
| Buttons | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported |
| Water resistance detail | No maker-published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; US carrier certification is not applied to it | No published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; the separate US T-Mobile certification is not applied |
| Biometrics | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity and sensor core | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and flicker detection |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos |
| Microphones | Noise cancellation support | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | OxygenOS based on Android 10 | OxygenOS based on Android 11 |
| Software updates | – | Three Android OS upgrades and four years of security updates from launch, reported by TechAdvisor; this is the original commitment, not a claim of continuing support |
| In the box | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector | Phone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes | Snapdragon X60; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload, 2 Gbit/s and 200 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n78 and SA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78 |
| SIM | Dual nano-SIM; the historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified | Dual nano-SIM |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC | Bluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included cable supports USB 2.0 |
| Positioning | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 11 5G vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- Nothing Phone (1) vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- iQOO Neo6 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 12
- Google Pixel 6 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 11T Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs vivo X70
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9R
- OnePlus OnePlus 8T vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Samsung Galaxy S21
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs vivo X60
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Xiaomi Mi 11
- Google Pixel 5 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8

