OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 7T Pro 5G McLaren
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OnePlusOnePlus 7 Pro | OnePlusOnePlus 7T Pro 5G McLaren | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | May 2019 | December 2019 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.67″ | 6.67″ |
| Resolution | 3120 × 1440 | 3120 × 1440 |
| Sharpness | 515 pixels per inch | 515 pixels per inch |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 90 Hz | 90 Hz |
| Display type | Fluid AMOLED; 19.5:9 aspect ratio; 6.67 inches as a full rectangle, 6.46 inches accounting for rounded corners | Fluid AMOLED; curved display; 19.5:9 aspect ratio |
| Pixel density | 516 ppi | – |
| Screen protection | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; maker does not specify its generation | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not stated |
| Display features | 90 Hz; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; claimed 100,000:1 contrast; Video Enhancer, Reading Mode and Night Mode | sRGB and Display P3; 6.67 inches measured as a rectangle, 6.46 inches accounting for rounded corners |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 855 | Snapdragon 855 Plus |
| Memory | 6 GB – 12 GB | 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB | 256 GB |
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon 855; octa-core, 7 nm, up to 2.84 GHz; Qualcomm AI Engine | Snapdragon 855 Plus, 7 nm, octa-core up to 2.96 GHz; separate Snapdragon X55 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 640 | Adreno 640 |
| Storage type | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage |
| Cooling | Liquid cooling with ten cooling layers | – |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 48 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 8 MP | 8 MP |
| Optical zoom | 2.87× | 2.87× |
| Front camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.6, seven-element lens, 0.8 µm pixels or 1.6 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS and EIS | Sony IMX586, f/1.6, seven-element lens; OIS and EIS; 0.8 µm pixels, 1.6 µm with four-to-one binning |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP, f/2.2, 117° field of view; the Spanish launch release's f/2.4 conflicts with the full specification | f/2.2; 117° nominal field of view, 102° with distortion correction |
| Telephoto camera | 8 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS | 8 MP, f/2.4, 1 µm pixels; maker equivalent focal length 73.7 mm |
| Front camera | Pop-up Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.0, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS; maker reports 300,000 mechanism cycles in laboratory testing and automatic retraction when a fall is detected | Pop-up Sony IMX471, f/2.0, fixed focus; EIS; 1 µm pixels |
| Zoom | Maker's updated footnote specifies 2.87× optical magnification, from 73.7 mm telephoto and 25.7 mm main equivalent focal lengths; the interface rounds this to 3× and the specification calls it 3× lossless zoom. TechRadar's earlier 2.2× optical interpretation differs. | Maker’s rounded 3× optical claim is 2.87× in its footnote, comparing the 73.7 mm telephoto and 25.7 mm main-camera equivalent focal lengths; effective telephoto output is 8 MP |
| Video recording | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse and video editor | 4K and 1080p at 30/60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps. The spec page promised 720p 960 fps in a later update; that promise is not treated as proof it shipped. |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse | 1080p at 30 fps |
| Camera features | Phase, laser and contrast autofocus; dual LED flash; UltraShot, Nightscape, Studio Lighting, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, HDR, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouching | PDAF, laser autofocus and continuous autofocus; dual LED flash; Nightscape, portrait, Pro mode and RAW |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,000 mAh | 4,085 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 30 W | Up to 30 W |
| Wireless charging | None | None |
| Battery life detail | Non-removable 4,000 mAh battery | 4085 mAh typical; 4010 mAh rated; non-removable |
| Wired charging | Warp Charge 30, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 0–50% in 20 minutes under laboratory conditions; adapter and proprietary cable included | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; supplied adapter and braided cable. Maker’s approximately 68% in 30 minutes claim uses its supplied charger and laboratory conditions. |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 206 g (better) | 210 g |
| Thickness | 8.8 mm | 8.8 mm |
| Height × width | 162.6 × 75.9 mm | 162.6 × 75.9 mm |
| Materials | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass back | – |
| Colours | Mirror Gray, Nebula Blue and Almond; EU launch configurations are 6/128 GB in Mirror Gray, 8/256 GB in Mirror Gray or Nebula Blue and 12/256 GB in Nebula Blue; Almond 8/256 GB followed in June | Papaya Orange detailing on black; McLaren software theme and protective case included |
| Buttons | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported | Alert Slider |
| Water resistance detail | Maker describes everyday dust resistance without an IP rating; reviewers also note the absence of certification | – |
| Biometrics | Optical in-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor; camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and laser sensor | – |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos |
| Microphones | Noise cancellation support | – |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | OxygenOS based on Android 9 | OxygenOS based on Android 10; US carrier version |
| In the box | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, pre-applied screen protector and SIM ejector | – |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | 4G LTE, not the separate 5G model; 4×4 MIMO, five-carrier download aggregation, up to Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier support; the surviving US specification's regional band list is not substituted for a UK band list | US T-Mobile-specific 5G model; the exact maker table lists FR1 n71 (600 MHz). This launch table is not a claim of every later firmware-supported band. LTE mandatory bands 2/4/5/12/25/26/41/46/48/66/71; roaming bands 1/3/7/8/20/28/38/39; additional bands 17/18/19/29/34/40. LTE Cat 18 downlink and Cat 13 uplink; theoretical maxima depend on carrier support. The 4G McLaren model is separate. Carrier evidence confirms US retail sale on 6 December 2019, following preorders from 2 December. |
| SIM | Dual nano-SIM on the unlocked model; US carrier variants differ | Single nano-SIM |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 5, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz | Wi-Fi 5, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac; 2.4 and 5 GHz; 2×2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.0; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC | Bluetooth 5.0; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; supplied cable supports USB 2.0; no 3.5 mm headphone socket |
| Positioning | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou, SBAS and A-GPS | GPS L1/L5; Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 7T Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 7T Pro 5G McLaren
- OnePlus OnePlus 7T Pro 5G McLaren vs Samsung Galaxy Note10+
- OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 7T Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 7T
- OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy Note10+
- OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S10+
- Google Pixel 3 XL vs OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 6 vs OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 6T vs OnePlus OnePlus 7 Pro

