OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

OnePlus 8 Pro compared with Mi 10 Pro
OnePlusOnePlus 8 ProXiaomiMi 10 Pro
Overview
ReleasedApril 2020February 2020
Display
Screen size6.78″6.67″
Resolution3168 × 1440 (better)2340 × 1080
Sharpness513 pixels per inch (better)386 pixels per inch
PanelOLEDOLED
Refresh rate120 Hz (better)90 Hz
Peak brightness1,300 nits (better)1,200 nits
Display typeFluid AMOLED; 19.8:9 aspect ratio; 6.78 inches as a full rectangle or 6.55 inches accounting for rounded cornersCurved AMOLED with Gorilla Glass 5.
Pixel density513 ppi–
Brightness detailUp to 1,300 nits, stated in the maker's overview and launch release500 nits typical, 800 nits high-brightness mode and 1,200 nits peak.
Screen protection3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker–
Display features120 Hz at QHD resolution; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Adaptive Display, Vibrant Color Effect Pro, motion graphics smoothing, Reading Mode and Night ModeHDR10+, P3 colour and 180 Hz touch sampling.
Performance
ChipSnapdragon 865Qualcomm Snapdragon 865
Memory8 GB – 12 GB (better)8 GB
Storage128 GB, 256 GB256 GB
CPUQualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem7 nm Snapdragon 865 with one CPU core at 2.84 GHz, three at 2.42 GHz and four at 1.8 GHz.
GPUAdreno 650Adreno 650.
Storage typeLPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisorLPDDR5 and UFS 3.0; no microSD expansion (Android Authority).
Cameras
Main camera48 MP108 MP (better)
Ultra wide camera48 MP20 MP
Telephoto camera8 MP8 MP
Optical zoomNoneNone
Front camera16 MP20 MP (better)
Main cameraSony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.4-inch sensor, f/1.78, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels or 2.24 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS, EIS, dual native ISO and 2×2 on-chip lensf/1.69, 1/1.33-inch sensor, optical stabilisation, eight-element lens and four-pixel binning.
Ultra wide cameraSony IMX586, 48 MP, f/2.2, 120° field of view; Super Macro focuses down to 3 cm, confirmed in OnePlus's official camera Q&Af/2.2 and 117° field of view; also used for macro photography (Android Central).
Telephoto camera8 MP output, f/2.44, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; official camera Q&A identifies a 13 MP sensor with 57 mm equivalent focal length and an 8 MP crop for the 3× setting8 MP f/2.0 with optical stabilisation and 10× hybrid zoom. The maker does not state this lens's optical zoom ratio; hybrid zoom is not entered as optical zoom.
Front cameraSony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS–
ZoomMaker specifies 3× hybrid zoom and up to 30× digital zoom; a 3× optical magnification is not published and is not inferred from the hybrid setting–
Video recording4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editorRear 8K at 30 fps, 4K at 30/60 fps and 1080p at 30/60 fps; 720p and 1080p slow motion at 120/240/960 fps.
Front video1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse1080p at 30 fps; 720p at 30 fps and slow motion at 120 fps.
Camera featuresAdditional 5 MP colour-filter camera, f/2.4; all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus; dual LED flash; cinematic aspect ratio, video HDR, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Super Macro, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, pet focus, AI scene detection, RAW, Audio Zoom and Audio 3DAdditional 12 MP f/2.0 portrait camera with 2× optical zoom and dual-pixel autofocus; laser autofocus sensor.
Battery and charging
Battery4,510 mAh (better)4,500 mAh
Wired chargingUp to 30 WUp to 50 W (better)
Wireless chargingUp to 30 WUp to 30 W
Battery life detailNon-removable battery; 4,510 mAh typical and 4,410 mAh rated4,400 mAh minimum capacity.
Wired chargingWarp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 23 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter and cable. OnePlus's product manager confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A.Phone charges at 50 W; the included adapter is rated at 65 W and supports USB Power Delivery and PPS.
Wireless chargingWarp Charge 30 Wireless at 30 W with the separate OnePlus stand; maker reports 1–50% in 30 minutes under laboratory conditions; Qi BPP/EPP compatibility up to 10 W30 W wireless charging.
Charges other devicesReverse Qi wireless charging, tested by TechRadar; maker wattage not verified–
Design
TypeStandardStandard
Weight199 g (better)208 g
Thickness8.5 mm (better)8.96 mm
Height × width165.3 × 74.3 mm162.5 × 74.8 mm
Water and dust resistanceIP68–
MaterialsMatte AG glass finish on Glacial Green; body thickness ranges from 8.5 to 8.99 mm in the maker's footnoteGorilla Glass 5 display; frosted glass back and aluminium frame (Android Central).
ColoursUK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Ultramarine Blue was also announced globallyAlpine White and Solstice Grey.
ButtonsAlert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported–
Water resistance detailIP68 under IEC 60529 laboratory conditions; maker warns that resistance can decrease with age–
BiometricsIn-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlockIn-display fingerprint reader and face unlock (Android Authority).
SensorsFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, laser, flicker detection and front RGB sensorInfrared blaster, proximity, ambient light, accelerometer, gyroscope, compass, barometer and Hall sensor.
SpeakersDual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos, Audio 3D and Audio ZoomDual dedicated speakers with Hi-Res Audio certification.
MicrophonesNoise cancellation support–
Software
Operating systemAndroidAndroid
Software at launchOxygenOS based on Android 10MIUI 11; Android 10 confirmed by Android Authority and Android Central.
In the boxPhone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejectorUK charger, cable, USB-C audio adapter, case, SIM tool and documents. February 2020 is the conservative first-sale month from Notebookcheck's actual China sale report; the precise maker-confirmed day remains unverified. The UK configuration became available later.
Connectivity
Mobile networkSnapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes5G and 4G; bands vary by market.
SIMDual nano-SIM; historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verifiedSingle nano-SIM on the UK model.
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHzWi-Fi 6, 2×2 MIMO and WPA3.
BluetoothBluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBCBluetooth 5.1 with AAC, LDAC, LHDC and LLAC.
NFCYesMultifunction NFC with Google Pay.
USBUSB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0USB-C; no 3.5 mm socket (Android Authority).
PositioningDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS–

More comparisons