OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OnePlusOnePlus 8 Pro | OnePlusOnePlus 9 Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | April 2020 | March 2021 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.78″ | 6.7″ |
| Resolution | 3168 × 1440 | 3216 × 1440 (better) |
| Sharpness | 513 pixels per inch | 526 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 1,300 nits | 1,300 nits |
| Display type | Fluid AMOLED; 19.8:9 aspect ratio; 6.78 inches as a full rectangle or 6.55 inches accounting for rounded corners | Curved LTPO Fluid AMOLED; 20.1:9 aspect ratio |
| Pixel density | 513 ppi | 525 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Up to 1,300 nits, stated in the maker's overview and launch release | Up to 1,300 nits; dual ambient light sensors and 8,192 automatic brightness levels |
| Always-on display | – | Super AOD always-on display |
| Screen protection | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker | Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheet |
| Display features | 120 Hz at QHD resolution; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Adaptive Display, Vibrant Color Effect Pro, motion graphics smoothing, Reading Mode and Night Mode | Adaptive 1–120 Hz; native 10-bit colour; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; MEMC, Reading Mode, Night Mode, Vibrant Color Effect, Ultra-high Video Resolution and Color Tone; Hyper Touch synchronisation in supported games |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 865 | Snapdragon 888 |
| Memory | 8 GB – 12 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB | 128 GB, 256 GB |
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem | Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 with Snapdragon X60 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 650 | Adreno 660 |
| Storage type | LPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor | LPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; European 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by the maker |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 48 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 48 MP | 50 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 8 MP | 8 MP |
| Optical zoom | None | 3.3× (better) |
| Front camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Sony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.4-inch sensor, f/1.78, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels or 2.24 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS, EIS, dual native ISO and 2×2 on-chip lens | Sony IMX789, 48 MP, f/1.8, 23 mm equivalent, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels and OIS; physical 1/1.35-inch sensor, effective area up to 1/1.43-inch for photographs |
| Ultra wide camera | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/2.2, 120° field of view; Super Macro focuses down to 3 cm, confirmed in OnePlus's official camera Q&A | Sony IMX766, 50 MP, 1/1.56-inch sensor, f/2.2, 14 mm equivalent, seven-element freeform lens; macro photography from 4 cm |
| Telephoto camera | 8 MP output, f/2.44, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; official camera Q&A identifies a 13 MP sensor with 57 mm equivalent focal length and an 8 MP crop for the 3× setting | 8 MP, f/2.4, 77 mm equivalent, five-element lens, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; 3.3× optical zoom |
| Front camera | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | Maker specifies 3× hybrid zoom and up to 30× digital zoom; a 3× optical magnification is not published and is not inferred from the hybrid setting | 3.3× optical telephoto; digital zoom up to 30× |
| Video recording | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor | 8K at 30 fps; 4K at 30, 60 or 120 fps; 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse |
| Camera features | Additional 5 MP colour-filter camera, f/2.4; all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus; dual LED flash; cinematic aspect ratio, video HDR, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Super Macro, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, pet focus, AI scene detection, RAW, Audio Zoom and Audio 3D | Hasselblad Camera for Mobile and Natural Color Calibration; additional 2 MP monochrome camera, all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, Nightscape, Super Macro, UltraShot HDR, Portrait, Pro with 12-bit RAW, Panorama, Tilt-shift, focus peaking, pet focus, filters, Super Stable, Video Nightscape, Video HDR, video portrait, focus tracking and Hyperlapse |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,510 mAh (better) | 4,500 mAh |
| Wired charging | Up to 30 W | Up to 65 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | Up to 30 W | Up to 50 W (better) |
| Battery life detail | Non-removable battery; 4,510 mAh typical and 4,410 mAh rated | Non-removable dual-cell battery; two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typical |
| Wired charging | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 23 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter and cable. OnePlus's product manager confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A. | Warp Charge 65T, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports 1–100% in 29 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devices |
| Wireless charging | Warp Charge 30 Wireless at 30 W with the separate OnePlus stand; maker reports 1–50% in 30 minutes under laboratory conditions; Qi BPP/EPP compatibility up to 10 W | Warp Charge 50 Wireless; maker reports 1–100% in 43 minutes with its separate wireless charger; two coils allow portrait and landscape placement |
| Charges other devices | Reverse Qi wireless charging, tested by TechRadar; maker wattage not verified | Reverse wireless charging, described by Expert Reviews; maker wattage not verified |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 199 g | 197 g (better) |
| Thickness | 8.5 mm (better) | 8.7 mm |
| Height × width | 165.3 × 74.3 mm | 163.2 × 73.6 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | IP68 |
| Materials | Matte AG glass finish on Glacial Green; body thickness ranges from 8.5 to 8.99 mm in the maker's footnote | Glass back and aluminium frame; matte Pine Green and Stellar Black, reflective Morning Mist |
| Colours | UK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Ultramarine Blue was also announced globally | Morning Mist, Pine Green and Stellar Black; UK Pine Green is paired with 12/256 GB according to Expert Reviews |
| Buttons | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported |
| Water resistance detail | IP68 under IEC 60529 laboratory conditions; maker warns that resistance can decrease with age | IP68; maker test covers up to 1.5 metres of fresh water for 30 minutes; resistance can diminish and liquid damage is not covered |
| Biometrics | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, laser, flicker detection and front RGB sensor | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, flicker detection and front RGB sensor |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos, Audio 3D and Audio Zoom | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos |
| Microphones | Noise cancellation support | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | OxygenOS based on Android 10 | OxygenOS based on Android 11 |
| In the box | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector | Phone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes | Snapdragon X60; 4×4 MIMO, LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78 and SA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78 |
| SIM | Dual nano-SIM; historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified | Dual nano-SIM |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC | Bluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included cable supports USB 2.0 |
| Positioning | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 11 5G vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 13 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 10 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 10 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- Google Pixel 6 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 11T Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs vivo X70 Pro+
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs vivo X70 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
- Apple iPhone 12 Pro Max vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs vivo X60 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro vs vivo X60 Pro+

