OnePlus OnePlus 10 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

OnePlus 10 Pro compared with OnePlus 8 Pro
OnePlusOnePlus 10 ProOnePlusOnePlus 8 Pro
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2022April 2020
Display
Screen size6.7″6.78″
Resolution3216 × 1440 (better)3168 × 1440
Sharpness526 pixels per inch (better)513 pixels per inch
PanelOLEDOLED
Refresh rate120 Hz120 Hz
Peak brightness1,300 nits1,300 nits
Display typeCurved Fluid AMOLED with LTPO 2.0; 20.1:9 aspect ratioFluid AMOLED; 19.8:9 aspect ratio; 6.78 inches as a full rectangle or 6.55 inches accounting for rounded corners
Pixel density525 ppi513 ppi
Brightness detail1,300-nit peak reported by TechAdvisor, TechRadar and Expert Reviews; current maker sheet does not specify peak brightnessUp to 1,300 nits, stated in the maker's overview and launch release
Always-on display1 Hz always-on display–
Screen protectionCorning Gorilla Glass; Victus front and Gorilla Glass 5 back identified by TechAdvisor and Expert Reviews3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker
Display featuresAdaptive 1–120 Hz; sRGB, Display P3 and 10-bit colour; HDR10+ reported by TechAdvisor and TechRadar; Up to 1,000 Hz touch response in supported gaming scenarios; Dual Color Calibration at 100 and 500 nits, Nature Tone, Eye Comfort, image sharpening, video colour enhancement, colour personalisation, AI adaptive brightness and Night Mode120 Hz at QHD resolution; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Adaptive Display, Vibrant Color Effect Pro, motion graphics smoothing, Reading Mode and Night Mode
Performance
ChipSnapdragon 8 Gen 1Snapdragon 865
Memory8 GB – 12 GB8 GB – 12 GB
Storage128 GB, 256 GB128 GB, 256 GB
CPUQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 with Snapdragon X65 5G modemQualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem
GPUAdreno 730Adreno 650
Storage typeLPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by the reviews; China-only 512 GB Extreme Edition omitted from UK configurationsLPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor
CoolingFive-layer 3D Passive Cooling System; HyperBoost Gaming Engine, GPA Frame Stabilizer and O-Sync for supported games–
Cameras
Main camera48 MP48 MP
Ultra wide camera50 MP48 MP
Telephoto camera8 MP8 MP
Optical zoom3.3× (better)None
Front camera32 MP (better)16 MP
Main cameraSony IMX789, 48 MP, f/1.8, 23 mm equivalent, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels and OIS; physical 1/1.35-inch sensor with effective area up to 1/1.43-inch for photographsSony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.4-inch sensor, f/1.78, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels or 2.24 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS, EIS, dual native ISO and 2×2 on-chip lens
Ultra wide cameraSamsung JN1, 50 MP, 1/2.76-inch sensor, six-element lens and 150° field of view; dedicated 150° and fisheye modes; f/2.2 reported by TechAdvisor, TechRadar and Expert ReviewsSony IMX586, 48 MP, f/2.2, 120° field of view; Super Macro focuses down to 3 cm, confirmed in OnePlus's official camera Q&A
Telephoto camera8 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; 3.3× optical zoom confirmed by all three reviews8 MP output, f/2.44, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; official camera Q&A identifies a 13 MP sensor with 57 mm equivalent focal length and an 8 MP crop for the 3× setting
Front cameraSony IMX615, 32 MP, fixed focus and EIS; aperture omitted because the reviews disagree and the maker's sheet does not specify itSony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS
Zoom3.3× optical telephoto; up to 30× digital zoom reported by TechRadarMaker specifies 3× hybrid zoom and up to 30× digital zoom; a 3× optical magnification is not published and is not inferred from the hybrid setting
Video recording8K at 24 fps; 4K at 30, 60 or 120 fps; 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; Movie Mode with manual controls and LOG capture4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor
Front video1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse
Camera featuresSecond-generation Hasselblad Camera for Mobile; 10-bit photographs, 12-bit RAW and RAW+ on all rear cameras; Nightscape, Ultra HDR, Smart Scene Recognition, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, Tilt-shift, Long Exposure, 150° Mode, Dual-View Video, Movie Mode, XPan, focus peaking, pet focus, filters, Super Stable, Video Nightscape, Video HDR, Video Portrait and focus lock; all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus; dual LED flashAdditional 5 MP colour-filter camera, f/2.4; all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus; dual LED flash; cinematic aspect ratio, video HDR, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Super Macro, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, pet focus, AI scene detection, RAW, Audio Zoom and Audio 3D
Battery and charging
Battery5,000 mAh (better)4,510 mAh
Wired chargingUp to 80 W (better)Up to 30 W
Wireless chargingUp to 50 W (better)Up to 30 W
Battery life detailNon-removable dual-cell battery; two 2,500 mAh cells equivalent to 5,000 mAh typicalNon-removable battery; 4,510 mAh typical and 4,410 mAh rated
Wired chargingUK 80 W SUPERVOOC; maker reports 1–100% in 32 minutes under laboratory conditions; North American version instead supports 65 W and a stated 34 minutes; Smart Charge ProtectionWarp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 23 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter and cable. OnePlus's product manager confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A.
Wireless charging50 W AIRVOOC; maker reports 1–100% in 47 minutes with its separate charger; dual coils support portrait and landscape placementWarp Charge 30 Wireless at 30 W with the separate OnePlus stand; maker reports 1–50% in 30 minutes under laboratory conditions; Qi BPP/EPP compatibility up to 10 W
Charges other devicesReverse wireless charging, confirmed by TechAdvisor and TechRadar; maker wattage not verifiedReverse Qi wireless charging, tested by TechRadar; maker wattage not verified
Design
TypeStandardStandard
Weight200.5 g199 g (better)
Thickness8.55 mm8.5 mm (better)
Height × width163 × 73.9 mm165.3 × 74.3 mm
Water and dust resistance–IP68
MaterialsAluminium frame and glass back; ceramic rear camera coverMatte AG glass finish on Glacial Green; body thickness ranges from 8.5 to 8.99 mm in the maker's footnote
ColoursVolcanic Black and Emerald Forest; UK Black 8/128 GB and Green 12/256 GB identified by the reviews; Chinese Ceramic White edition is region-specificUK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Ultramarine Blue was also announced globally
ButtonsAlert Slider; X-axis linear haptic motor; gestures and on-screen navigation supportedAlert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported
Water resistance detailNo published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; US carrier certification is not appliedIP68 under IEC 60529 laboratory conditions; maker warns that resistance can decrease with age
BiometricsIn-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlockIn-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock
SensorsFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, flicker detection and front RGB sensorFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, laser, flicker detection and front RGB sensor
SpeakersDual stereo speakers; Dolby AtmosDual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos, Audio 3D and Audio Zoom
MicrophonesNoise cancellation supportNoise cancellation support
Software
Operating systemAndroidAndroid
Software at launchOxygenOS 12.1 based on Android 12; Chinese software differsOxygenOS based on Android 10
Software updatesOriginal maker commitment of three major Android updates and four years of security updates from launch; not a claim of continuing support–
In the boxPhone, 80 W SUPERVOOC adapter, USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, pre-applied screen protector, case and SIM ejectorPhone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector
Connectivity
Mobile networkSnapdragon X65; 4×4 MIMO and four-carrier aggregation; LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload; UK 5G SA and NSA n1/n2/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n25/n28/n30/n38/n40/n41/n48/n66/n71/n77/n78Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes
SIMDual nano-SIMDual nano-SIM; historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHzWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz
BluetoothBluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AACBluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC
NFCYesYes
USBUSB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included cable supports USB 2.0USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0
PositioningDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPSDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS

More comparisons