Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) compared with Studio Display (2026)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC)AppleStudio Display (2026)
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2003March 2026
Display
Screen size20″27″
Resolution1680 × 10505120 × 2880 (5K) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch218 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS (5K Retina)
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Brightness (typical)230 nits600 nits (better)
Colour range–Wide colour (P3)
Contrast ratio350:1–
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth1 billion colours
Colour modes–Apple Display (P3-600 nits), HDTV Video (BT.709–BT.1886), NTSC Video (BT.601 SMPTE-C), PAL and SECAM Video (BT.601 EBU), Digital Cinema (P3-DCI), Digital Cinema (P3-D65), Design and Print (P3-D50), Photography (P3-D65), Internet and Web (sRGB)
Viewing angles170° horizontally and vertically–
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorThunderbolt 5
USB-C chargingNoneUp to 96 W (better)
USB ports2 × USB-AThunderbolt 5, 2 × USB-C
Ethernet–No
SpeakersNoYes
Webcam–12MP Center Stage with Desk View
USB-C detail–Upstream Thunderbolt 5 (up to 120 Gb/s) with 96 W host charging
Daisy chaining–Downstream Thunderbolt 5 port daisy-chains more displays; up to four Studio Display models with a MacBook Pro with M5 Max
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hub1 × Thunderbolt 5 downstream (up to 120 Gb/s), 2 × USB-C (up to 10 Gb/s) for peripherals, storage and networking
Speaker detail–Six speakers with force-cancelling woofers; wide stereo; Spatial Audio with Dolby Atmos
Webcam detail–Three-mic array with directional beamforming; camera features and firmware updates need a Mac
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand8.6 kg6.3 kg
Height adjustment–105 mm with the optional tilt- and height-adjustable stand
Tilt–−5° to +25°
Pivot–Landscape only on either stand; portrait with the VESA mount adapter
VESA pattern–100 × 100 mm (VESA mount adapter option)
Size with stand542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)Tilt stand 62.3 × 16.8 × 47.8 cm; tilt- and height-adjustable stand 62.3 × 20.7 × 47.9–58.3 cm and 7.6 kg (W × D × H)
Size without stand–62.3 × 3.1 × 36.2 cm with VESA mount adapter (W × D × H)
Weight without stand–5.4 kg with VESA mount adapter
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel–
Power and support
Power useMaximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less–
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz, single phase
SoftwareMac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Needs an Apple silicon Mac with macOS Tahoe 26.3.1 or later, or an iPad with iPadOS 26.3.1 or later
Certifications–ENERGY STAR
Warranty–1-year limited warranty and 90 days of complimentary technical support from Apple
In the box–Studio Display, Thunderbolt 5 Pro cable (1 m)

More comparisons