Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC)

Apple · Cinema Display

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC)

Released January 2003

Apple's original 20-inch Cinema Display provides a widescreen LCD workspace and USB hub through a single ADC connection.

Size
20″
Resolution
1680 × 1050
PPI
99
Panel
IPS
Refresh
–
Brightness
230 nits
HDR
–
USB-C power
–

What reviewers say

Macworld rated the colour fidelity and wide viewing angles among the best in its comparison. ZDNet praised sharp text, saturated colours and the stable case, but found highlight detail suffered at maximum brightness and preferred the Formac in its tests. Both highlighted compatibility restrictions and limited adjustments.

From macworld.com and cnetfrance.fr

Display

Screen size
20″
Resolution
1680 × 1050
Sharpness
99 pixels per inch
Panel
IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)
Brightness (typical)
230 nits
Contrast ratio
350:1
Screen finish
Matte
Shape
Flat
Colour depth
Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Viewing angles
170° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch
0.258 mm

Connections

Video inputs
Apple Display Connector
USB-C charging
None
USB ports
2 × USB-A
Speakers
No
Other connections
Captive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac
USB hub detail
Two-port self-powered USB hub

Design

Stand adjusts
Tilt
VESA mount
No
Weight with stand
8.6 kg
Size with stand
542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)
Controls
System power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control
Colours
Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel

Power and support

Power use
Maximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supply
24.5–28 V DC through ADC
Software
Mac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Widescreen digital display
  • Two-port USB hub
  • Tilt-adjustable easel stand

Cons

  • Proprietary ADC connection
  • No height or swivel adjustment

Closest rivals

Model
SizeResolutionPPIPanelRefreshBrightnessHDRUSB-C powerReleased
20.1″1680 × 105099IPS60 Hz250 nits––Jul 2004
19.8″––CRT––––2001
22″1600 × 102486LCD–180 nits––Dec 1999

Sources

  1. macoffice.no/resources/PDF/maskinvare/Displays_TO_0103.pdf
  2. apple.com/uk/newsroom/2003/01/28Apple-Introduces-20-Cinema-Display-at-Breakthro…
  3. prad.de/technische-daten/monitor-datenblatt/apple-cinema-display-20
  4. macworld.com/article/167125/eightflatpanelmonitors.html
  5. cnetfrance.fr/produits/apple-cinema-display-1004318.htm

Photo: prad.de

Spot a mistake? Tell us