Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC) | AppleThunderbolt Display | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | January 2003 | September 2011 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 20″ | 27″ |
| Resolution | 1680 × 1050 | 2560 × 1440 (QHD) (better) |
| Sharpness | 99 pixels per inch | 109 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet) | IPS |
| Refresh rate | – | 60 Hz |
| Brightness (typical) | 230 nits | 375 nits (better) |
| Contrast ratio | 350:1 | 1,000:1 |
| Screen finish | Matte | Glossy |
| Shape | Flat | Flat |
| Colour depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth |
| Response time detail | – | Apple specifies 12 ms without identifying the transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row |
| Viewing angles | 170° horizontally and vertically | 178° horizontally and vertically |
| Eye care | – | Ambient light sensor automatically adjusts brightness |
| Pixel pitch | 0.258 mm | – |
| Connections | ||
| Video inputs | Apple Display Connector | Thunderbolt |
| USB-C charging | None | None |
| USB ports | 2 × USB-A | 3 × USB-A |
| Ethernet | – | Yes |
| Speakers | No | Yes |
| Webcam | – | FaceTime HD camera with microphone |
| Thunderbolt detail | – | Captive first-generation Thunderbolt input cable; two bidirectional 10 Gbps channels. Requires a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, not a Mini DisplayPort-only Mac. |
| Other connections | Captive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac | Gigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000Base-T), FireWire 800 with up to 7 W power, downstream Thunderbolt port and Kensington security slot |
| Daisy chaining | – | Downstream Thunderbolt supports compatible devices and a second Thunderbolt Display where the Mac permits it. The port does not directly support Mini DisplayPort, DVI or VGA displays or adapters. |
| USB hub detail | Two-port self-powered USB hub | Three powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; device charging can work without a host attached |
| Speaker detail | – | Built-in 2.1 speaker system with 49 W output |
| Webcam detail | – | FaceTime HD camera and microphone; Apple does not publish a megapixel figure in the specifications |
| Design | ||
| Stand adjusts | Tilt | Tilt |
| VESA mount | No | Yes |
| Weight with stand | 8.6 kg | 10.8 kg |
| Tilt | – | Tilt adjustment only; no height, swivel or pivot adjustment (Macworld) |
| VESA pattern | – | Requires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit |
| Size with stand | 542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth) | Current UK support specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). The original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm and 10.7 kg rather than the support page's 10.8 kg. |
| Controls | System power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control | Brightness and colour profile through macOS Displays preferences; no on-screen menu or physical image controls (Macworld) |
| Colours | Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel | Aluminium enclosure with black glass bezel |
| Power and support | ||
| Power use | Maximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less | Maximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 2 W or less. Apple environmental report at 230 V gives 108 W on at full brightness, 1.9 W sleep and 0.75 W off. |
| Power supply | 24.5–28 V DC through ADC | Internal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz |
| Laptop charging | – | Captive Universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W separately from the Thunderbolt cable; no USB-C power delivery |
| Software | Mac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row. | Original requirement OS X 10.6.8 or later and a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac. Announced 20 July 2011 with availability within 60 days; September sale month follows contemporary MacRumors reports of customer shipments, rather than the announcement date. |
| Certifications | – | ENERGY STAR 5.1; EPEAT Gold in the US and Canada |
| Warranty | – | One-year limited warranty and 90 days of telephone support |
| In the box | – | Thunderbolt Display, AC power cord and printed documentation |
More comparisons
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Studio Display (2026) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
- Apple Studio Display XDR vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
- Apple Studio Display (2022) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor (U2722D)
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp 27 USB-C Hub Monitor (U2722DE)
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp 27 USB-C Hub Monitor (U2721DE)
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp 27 USB-C Monitor (U2719DC)
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp U2719D
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp U2717D
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor with PremierColor (UP2716D)
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp U2715H
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp U2713H
- Apple Thunderbolt Display vs Dell UltraSharp U2713HM
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, DVI) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display

