Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) compared with Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, DVI)AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)
Overview
ReleasedJuly 2004July 2004
Display
Screen size20.1″23″
Resolution1680 × 10501920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch (better)98 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); IPS identification from Les Numériques' exact 2005 review)IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 23-inch datasheet, which lists later panel specifications)
Refresh rate60 Hz60 Hz
Brightness (typical)250 nits270 nits (better)
Contrast ratio400:1400:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detailApple specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions; not entered in the grey-to-grey row. Its later Japanese sheet lists 14 ms.Apple specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions; not entered in the grey-to-grey row. Its later Japanese sheet lists 14 ms.
Viewing anglesOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.Original archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.258 mm
Connections
Video inputsDVIDVI
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
Other connectionsCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slotCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computerTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computer
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesYes
Weight with stand6.6 kg7.03 kg
VESA patternOptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 COptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 C
Size with stand471 × 410 × 174 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specifications536 × 450 × 187 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specifications
ControlsSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferencesSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferences
ColoursAluminium enclosureAluminium enclosure
Power and support
Power useMaximum 65 W; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 90 W; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supplyExternal A1096 65 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC outputExternal A1097 90 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC output
SoftwareApple's UK announcement specifies July 2004 availability. Original manual supports Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later on listed DVI Macs, with compatible DVI-equipped Windows PCs also possible. Original manual explicitly specifies 1680 × 1050 at 60 Hz and 20.1-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows archived maker specs (6.6 kg); original manual gives 6.3 kg without explaining the discrepancy.Apple's UK announcement specifies July 2004 availability. Original manual supports Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later on listed DVI Macs, with compatible DVI-equipped Windows PCs also possible. Original manual explicitly specifies 1920 × 1200 at 60 Hz. Main weight follows archived maker specs (7.03 kg); original manual gives 6.75 kg without explaining the discrepancy.
In the boxDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning clothDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning cloth

More comparisons