Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) compared with LED Cinema Display (24-inch)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, DVI)AppleLED Cinema Display (24-inch)
Overview
ReleasedJuly 2004November 2008
Display
Screen size20.1″24″
Resolution1680 × 10501920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch (better)94 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); IPS identification from Les Numériques' exact 2005 review)IPS
Refresh rate60 Hz60 Hz
Brightness (typical)250 nits330 nits (better)
Contrast ratio400:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified. Macworld UK identifies an H-IPS LG-Philips LM240WU6-SDA1 panel; Apple describes TFT LCD without naming the IPS subtype.
Response time detailApple specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions; not entered in the grey-to-grey row. Its later Japanese sheet lists 14 ms.Typical 14 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing anglesOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.178° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsDVIMini DisplayPort
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
Speakers–Yes
Webcam–iSight camera with microphone
DisplayPort detail–Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; original manual requires the separate USB connection for audio, camera, microphone and hub functions
Other connectionsCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computerThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 system with 12 W output in the original A1267 manual
Webcam detail–Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesYes
Weight with stand6.6 kg9.5 kg
VESA patternOptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 CRequires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand471 × 410 × 174 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specificationsCurrent specifications give 573.2 × 478.4 × 197.1 mm (width × height × depth) and 9.5 kg. Original manual gives 573.22 × 478.38 × 197.10 mm and 9.49 kg; the current rounded weight is retained.
ControlsSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferencesResolution, brightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursAluminium enclosureAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 65 W; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 212 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less
Power supplyExternal A1096 65 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC outputInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Separate captive universal MagSafe charging connector; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareApple's UK announcement specifies July 2004 availability. Original manual supports Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later on listed DVI Macs, with compatible DVI-equipped Windows PCs also possible. Original manual explicitly specifies 1680 × 1050 at 60 Hz and 20.1-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows archived maker specs (6.6 kg); original manual gives 6.3 kg without explaining the discrepancy.Original requirement MacBook, MacBook Air or MacBook Pro with Mini DisplayPort. October 2008 announcement specifies November availability.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 4.0; EPEAT Gold
In the boxDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning clothDisplay, AC power cord, cleaning cloth and printed documentation

More comparisons