Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) | AppleStudio Display (2026) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | April 2002 | March 2026 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 23″ | 27″ |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) | 5120 × 2880 (5K) (better) |
| Sharpness | 98 pixels per inch | 218 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet) | IPS (5K Retina) |
| Refresh rate | – | 60 Hz |
| Brightness (typical) | 200 nits | 600 nits (better) |
| Colour range | – | Wide colour (P3) |
| Contrast ratio | 350:1 | – |
| Screen finish | Matte | Glossy |
| Shape | Flat | Flat |
| Colour depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth | 1 billion colours |
| Colour modes | – | Apple Display (P3-600 nits), HDTV Video (BT.709–BT.1886), NTSC Video (BT.601 SMPTE-C), PAL and SECAM Video (BT.601 EBU), Digital Cinema (P3-DCI), Digital Cinema (P3-D65), Design and Print (P3-D50), Photography (P3-D65), Internet and Web (sRGB) |
| Viewing angles | Apple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically | – |
| Pixel pitch | 0.258 mm | – |
| Connections | ||
| Video inputs | Apple Display Connector | Thunderbolt 5 |
| USB-C charging | None | Up to 96 W (better) |
| USB ports | 2 × USB-A | Thunderbolt 5, 2 × USB-C |
| Ethernet | – | No |
| Speakers | No | Yes |
| Webcam | – | 12MP Center Stage with Desk View |
| USB-C detail | – | Upstream Thunderbolt 5 (up to 120 Gb/s) with 96 W host charging |
| Daisy chaining | – | Downstream Thunderbolt 5 port daisy-chains more displays; up to four Studio Display models with a MacBook Pro with M5 Max |
| Other connections | Captive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac | – |
| USB hub detail | Two-port self-powered USB hub | 1 × Thunderbolt 5 downstream (up to 120 Gb/s), 2 × USB-C (up to 10 Gb/s) for peripherals, storage and networking |
| Speaker detail | – | Six speakers with force-cancelling woofers; wide stereo; Spatial Audio with Dolby Atmos |
| Webcam detail | – | Three-mic array with directional beamforming; camera features and firmware updates need a Mac |
| Design | ||
| Stand adjusts | Tilt | Tilt |
| VESA mount | No | Yes |
| Weight with stand | 11.5 kg | 6.3 kg |
| Height adjustment | – | 105 mm with the optional tilt- and height-adjustable stand |
| Tilt | – | −5° to +25° |
| Pivot | – | Landscape only on either stand; portrait with the VESA mount adapter |
| VESA pattern | – | 100 × 100 mm (VESA mount adapter option) |
| Size with stand | 614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth) | Tilt stand 62.3 × 16.8 × 47.8 cm; tilt- and height-adjustable stand 62.3 × 20.7 × 47.9–58.3 cm and 7.6 kg (W × D × H) |
| Size without stand | – | 62.3 × 3.1 × 36.2 cm with VESA mount adapter (W × D × H) |
| Weight without stand | – | 5.4 kg with VESA mount adapter |
| Controls | System power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control | – |
| Colours | Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel | – |
| Power and support | ||
| Power use | Maximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less | – |
| Power supply | 24.5–28 V DC through ADC | 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz, single phase |
| Software | Mac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row. | Needs an Apple silicon Mac with macOS Tahoe 26.3.1 or later, or an iPad with iPadOS 26.3.1 or later |
| Certifications | – | ENERGY STAR |
| Warranty | – | 1-year limited warranty and 90 days of complimentary technical support from Apple |
| In the box | – | Studio Display, Thunderbolt 5 Pro cable (1 m) |
More comparisons
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs BenQ ZOWIE XQ2566X
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2426H)
- Apple Studio Display (2026) vs Samsung ViewFinity S8 (S80HF)
- Apple Multiple Scan 1705 Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple AppleVision 750 Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple AppleColor High-Resolution RGB Monitor vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Macintosh Portrait Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Apple Color Plus 14-inch Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple AppleVision 850 vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple AppleVision 850AV vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Multiple Scan 15 Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Multiple Scan 17 Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Multiple Scan 20 Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Multiple Scan 720 Display vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple AppleVision 1710AV vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Studio Display (17-inch LCD, 2001) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)

