OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8T

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

OnePlus 8 compared with OnePlus 8T
OnePlusOnePlus 8OnePlusOnePlus 8T
Overview
ReleasedApril 2020October 2020
Display
Screen size6.55″6.55″
Resolution2400 × 10802400 × 1080
Sharpness402 pixels per inch402 pixels per inch
PanelOLEDOLED
Refresh rate90 Hz120 Hz (better)
Peak brightness1,100 nits1,100 nits
Display typeFluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio; 6.55 inches as a full rectangle or 6.34 inches accounting for rounded cornersFlat Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio
Pixel density402 ppi402 ppi
Brightness detailUp to 1,100 nits, stated in the UK overview footnoteUp to 1,100 nits and 8,192 automatic brightness levels, stated in the UK overview
Always-on display–Always-on display with OxygenOS 11; Insight, Canvas and Bitmoji styles described in Android Central's updated review
Screen protection3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the makerCorning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheet
Display features90 Hz; HDR10 and HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color Effect; maker reports JNCD 0.4 colour accuracy. OnePlus's product manager confirms 180 Hz touch response in the official launch Q&A.120 Hz, sRGB and Display P3; HDR10+ according to the full reviews; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color
Performance
ChipSnapdragon 865Snapdragon 865
Memory8 GB – 12 GB8 GB – 12 GB
Storage128 GB, 256 GB128 GB, 256 GB
CPUQualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modemQualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem
GPUAdreno 650Adreno 650
Storage typeLPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisorLPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; EU 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed in the maker's Dutch launch release
Cooling–Enlarged vapour cooling chamber, described by Android Central from the maker's explanation
Cameras
Main camera48 MP48 MP
Ultra wide camera16 MP16 MP
Telephoto cameraNoneNone
Optical zoomNoneNone
Front camera16 MP16 MP
Main cameraSony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.75, 0.8 µm pixels, six-element lens, OIS and EISSony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.7, six-element lens, 0.8 µm pixels or 1.6 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS and EIS
Ultra wide camera16 MP, f/2.2, 116° field of view16 MP, f/2.2, 123° field of view
Front cameraSony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EISSony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS
ZoomNo optical telephoto; 2× in-sensor zoomNo dedicated telephoto; digital zoom up to 10×, tested by TechRadar
Video recording4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor
Front video1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse
Camera featuresAdditional 2 MP macro camera, f/2.4, 1.75 µm pixels and 4 cm focus distance confirmed in the official camera Q&A; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, cat and dog focus, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouchingAdditional 5 MP macro and 2 MP monochrome cameras; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, video portrait, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Macro, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, Smart Pet Capture, AI scene detection, RAW, filters, video focus tracking, Super Stable and Video Nightscape
Battery and charging
Battery4,300 mAh4,500 mAh (better)
Wired chargingUp to 30 WUp to 65 W (better)
Wireless chargingNoneNone
Battery life detailNon-removable battery; 4,300 mAh typical and 4,230 mAh ratedNon-removable dual-cell battery, two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typical; UK overview gives 4,400 mAh rated. The specification's footnote calls 4,400 mAh typical, conflicting with its own 4,500 mAh main entry and the overview.
Wired chargingWarp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 22 minutes under laboratory conditions. OnePlus's product manager also confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A.Warp Charge 65, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports a full charge in 39 minutes and twelve temperature sensors; included USB-C adapter also supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devices
Design
TypeStandardStandard
Weight180 g (better)188 g
Thickness8 mm (better)8.4 mm
Height × width160.2 × 72.9 mm160.7 × 74.1 mm
Materials–Glass back and aluminium frame, described by TechAdvisor
ColoursUK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Interstellar Glow was also announced globally with later May availability in the German maker releaseAquamarine Green and Lunar Silver; UK Lunar Silver with 8/128 GB and Aquamarine Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Dutch launch availability differs
ButtonsAlert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supportedAlert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported
Water resistance detailNo maker-published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; US carrier certification is not applied to itNo published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; certification of the separate US T-Mobile 8T+ is not substituted
BiometricsIn-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlockOptical in-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock
SensorsFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity and sensor coreFingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and flicker detection
SpeakersDual stereo speakers; Dolby AtmosDual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos
MicrophonesNoise cancellation supportNoise cancellation support
Software
Operating systemAndroidAndroid
Software at launchOxygenOS based on Android 10OxygenOS 11 based on Android 11
In the boxPhone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejectorPhone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector
Connectivity
Mobile networkSnapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modesSnapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload, 2.0 Gbit/s and 200 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78 and SA n41/n78
SIMDual nano-SIM; the historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verifiedDual nano-SIM; historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHzWi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz
BluetoothBluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBCBluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC
NFCYesYes
USBUSB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included USB-C cable supports USB 2.0
PositioningDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPSDual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS

More comparisons