OnePlus OnePlus 8T vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OnePlusOnePlus 8T | OnePlusOnePlus 9 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | October 2020 | March 2021 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.55″ | 6.55″ |
| Resolution | 2400 × 1080 | 2400 × 1080 |
| Sharpness | 402 pixels per inch | 402 pixels per inch |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 1,100 nits | 1,100 nits |
| Display type | Flat Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio | Flat Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio |
| Pixel density | 402 ppi | 402 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Up to 1,100 nits and 8,192 automatic brightness levels, stated in the UK overview | Up to 1,100 nits; two ambient light sensors and 8,192 automatic brightness levels, stated in the maker's launch release |
| Always-on display | Always-on display with OxygenOS 11; Insight, Canvas and Bitmoji styles described in Android Central's updated review | Always-on display with OxygenOS 11, described by TechAdvisor |
| Screen protection | Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheet | Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified in the maker's sheet |
| Display features | 120 Hz, sRGB and Display P3; HDR10+ according to the full reviews; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color | 120 Hz; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Comfort Tone, Reading Mode, Night Mode, Vibrant Color Effect and Ultra-high Video Resolution |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 865 | Snapdragon 888 |
| Memory | 8 GB – 12 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB | 128 GB, 256 GB |
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem | Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 with Snapdragon X60 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 650 | Adreno 660 |
| Storage type | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; EU 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed in the maker's Dutch launch release | LPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.1 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor |
| Cooling | Enlarged vapour cooling chamber, described by Android Central from the maker's explanation | OnePlus Cool Play with thicker graphite layers and a larger vapour chamber |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 48 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP | 50 MP |
| Telephoto camera | None | None |
| Optical zoom | None | None |
| Front camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.7, six-element lens, 0.8 µm pixels or 1.6 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS and EIS | Sony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.43-inch sensor, f/1.8, 23 mm equivalent, seven-element lens and 1.12 µm pixels; maker's sheet does not publish OIS and the reviews confirm its absence |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP, f/2.2, 123° field of view | Sony IMX766, 50 MP, 1/1.56-inch sensor, f/2.2, 14 mm equivalent, seven-element freeform lens |
| Front camera | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.4, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | No dedicated telephoto; digital zoom up to 10×, tested by TechRadar | Digital zoom; no dedicated telephoto camera |
| Video recording | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor | 8K at 30 fps; 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse |
| Camera features | Additional 5 MP macro and 2 MP monochrome cameras; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, video portrait, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Macro, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, Smart Pet Capture, AI scene detection, RAW, filters, video focus tracking, Super Stable and Video Nightscape | Hasselblad Camera for Mobile and Natural Color Calibration; additional 2 MP monochrome camera, all-pixel omnidirectional phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, Nightscape, Super Macro, UltraShot HDR, Smart Scene Recognition, Portrait, Pro with 12-bit RAW, Panorama, Tilt-shift, focus peaking, pet focus, filters, Super Stable, Video Nightscape, Video HDR, video portrait, focus tracking and Hyperlapse |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,500 mAh | 4,500 mAh |
| Wired charging | Up to 65 W | Up to 65 W |
| Wireless charging | None | Up to 15 W (better) |
| Battery life detail | Non-removable dual-cell battery, two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typical; UK overview gives 4,400 mAh rated. The specification's footnote calls 4,400 mAh typical, conflicting with its own 4,500 mAh main entry and the overview. | Non-removable dual-cell battery; two 2,250 mAh cells equivalent to 4,500 mAh typical |
| Wired charging | Warp Charge 65, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports a full charge in 39 minutes and twelve temperature sensors; included USB-C adapter also supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devices | Warp Charge 65T, 10 V/6.5 A; maker reports 1–100% in 29 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter supports USB Power Delivery up to 45 W for other compatible devices |
| Wireless charging | – | 15 W Qi wireless charging on the European model; regional variants differ |
| Charges other devices | – | Reverse wireless charging, described by Android Central; maker wattage not verified |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 188 g (better) | 192 g |
| Thickness | 8.4 mm (better) | 8.7 mm |
| Height × width | 160.7 × 74.1 mm | 160 × 74.2 mm |
| Materials | Glass back and aluminium frame, described by TechAdvisor | Glass back and plastic frame, described by TechRadar |
| Colours | Aquamarine Green and Lunar Silver; UK Lunar Silver with 8/128 GB and Aquamarine Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Dutch launch availability differs | Arctic Sky, Astral Black and Winter Mist; UK Winter Mist is tied to 12/256 GB according to TechAdvisor |
| Buttons | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported |
| Water resistance detail | No published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; certification of the separate US T-Mobile 8T+ is not substituted | No published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; the separate US T-Mobile certification is not applied |
| Biometrics | Optical in-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and flicker detection | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core and flicker detection |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos |
| Microphones | Noise cancellation support | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | OxygenOS 11 based on Android 11 | OxygenOS based on Android 11 |
| Software updates | – | Three Android OS upgrades and four years of security updates from launch, reported by TechAdvisor; this is the original commitment, not a claim of continuing support |
| In the box | Phone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector | Phone, Warp Charge 65 adapter, USB-C to USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload, 2.0 Gbit/s and 200 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78 and SA n41/n78 | Snapdragon X60; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 20 download and Cat 18 upload, 2 Gbit/s and 200 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G NSA n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n78 and SA n1/n3/n7/n28/n41/n78 |
| SIM | Dual nano-SIM; historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified | Dual nano-SIM |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC | Bluetooth 5.2; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included USB-C cable supports USB 2.0 | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included cable supports USB 2.0 |
| Positioning | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8T
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 11 5G vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- Nothing Phone (1) vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- iQOO Neo6 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 8T vs Samsung Galaxy S21 FE 5G
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 12
- Google Pixel 6 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8T
- Google Pixel 6 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 11T Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs vivo X70
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9R
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs Samsung Galaxy S21
- OnePlus OnePlus 9 vs vivo X60

