Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Sony GDM-F520

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) compared with GDM-F520
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC)SonyGDM-F520
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 20032001
Display
Screen size20″19.8″
Resolution1680 × 1050–
Sharpness99 pixels per inch–
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)CRT (Flat FD Trinitron aperture-grille CRT; marketed as a 21-inch tube with a 19.8-inch viewable image. No fixed pixel matrix or native refresh rate.)
Colour modes–PROFESSIONAL, STANDARD and DYNAMIC Picture Effect modes; EASY, PRESET, EXPERT and sRGB colour settings; 5000 K, 6500 K and 9300 K presets with 5000–11000 K adjustment in EASY
Brightness (typical)230 nits–
Contrast ratio350:1–
Screen finishMatte–
ShapeFlat–
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth–
Viewing angles170° horizontally and vertically–
Pixel pitch0.258 mmUniform 0.22 mm aperture-grille pitch across the screen; not an LCD pixel pitch
Supported signal modes–Sony specifies a maximum 2048 × 1536 at 85 Hz and recommends 1600 × 1200 at 85 Hz. Horizontal scan range 30–137 kHz; vertical scan range 48–170 Hz. These are supported timings, not native resolution or refresh. Maximum viewable area approximately 403.8 × 302.2 mm; standard image area 388 × 291 mm (4:3) or 364 × 291 mm (5:4).
Screen coating–High Contrast AR screen coating
Calibration–RGB gain/bias, horizontal/vertical convergence, top/bottom vertical convergence, corner landing, geometry and moiré controls; automatic/manual degaussing and Image Restoration after a 30-minute warm-up
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorVGA
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A4 × USB-A
SpeakersNo–
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped MacOne HD15 VGA input and one analogue RGB video input comprising five BNC connectors (R, G, B, horizontal sync and vertical sync). Separate/composite sync and sync-on-green supported; DDC Plug & Play is available over HD15 only.
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubOne square USB-B upstream connector and four rectangular USB-A downstream connectors on the right side; hub operates while the monitor is on or in power-saving mode
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt, swivel (better)
VESA mountNo–
Weight with stand8.6 kg30 kg
Tilt–5° down to 15° up
Swivel–90° left or right
Size with stand542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)Approximately 497 × 499 × 487 mm (W × H × D)
Weight detail–Approximately 30 kg for the complete monitor; Sony's instructions say not to remove the stand
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlFront input selector, Picture Effect button, menu button and up/down/push control button; automatic sizing/centring, control lock and nine menu languages
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel–
Power and support
Power useMaximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessUp to 145 W in normal operation and up to 3 W in active-off deep sleep, without USB peripherals connected
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCInternational operating instructions specify 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz, 2.0–1.0 A; Japanese archive specifies 100 V AC. Use the appropriate supplied regional mains lead.
SoftwareMac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.DDC2B/DDC2Bi over HD15, with stored preset/user timings and GTF support; exact signal support also depends on the graphics card
Certifications–ENERGY STAR, TCO'99 and MPR II in the international operating instructions; Japanese archive also lists VCCI Class B and FCC Class B
In the box–Power cord, HD15 video-signal cable, USB cable, Power Mac G3/G4 adapter and operating instructions (international manual; regional contents may vary)

More comparisons