Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, DVI)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) compared with Cinema Display (22-inch, DVI)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC)AppleCinema Display (22-inch, DVI)
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2003December 1999
Display
Screen size20″22″
Resolution1680 × 1050 (better)1600 × 1024
Sharpness99 pixels per inch (better)86 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)LCD (Thin-film transistor active-matrix LCD; Apple does not identify the panel subtype in the original documentation read)
Brightness (typical)230 nits (better)180 nits
Contrast ratio350:1300:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not identify the panel bit depth
Viewing angles170° horizontally and vertically160° horizontally and vertically, typical
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorDVI
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
SpeakersNo–
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped MacCaptive 24-pin DVI connector with TMDS; separate DC power input and USB connection
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubTwo-port self-powered USB 1.1 hub; up to 500 mA per port
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNo–
Weight with stand8.6 kg11.4 kg
Tilt–10° to 30°
Size with stand542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)588 × 479 × 210 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 310 mm (width × height × depth)
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlSystem startup and sleep, power on and off, brightness
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelClear acrylic enclosure with graphite bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessApple Support lists maximum 77 W and energy saver 35 W; original AppleCare specifications list operating consumption below 62 W
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCExternal power supply, 100–240 V AC; adapter weighs 398 g, separate from the 11.4 kg display
SoftwareMac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Requires a Power Mac G4 with AGP 2X slot, DVI graphics card and built-in USB

More comparisons