Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) compared with LED Cinema Display (27-inch)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC)AppleLED Cinema Display (27-inch)
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2003September 2010
Display
Screen size20″27″
Resolution1680 × 10502560 × 1440 (QHD) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch109 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Brightness (typical)230 nits375 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified
Response time detail–Typical 12 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing angles170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontally and vertically
Eye care–Ambient light sensor adjusts brightness automatically
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorMini DisplayPort
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
SpeakersNoYes
Webcam–iSight camera with microphone
DisplayPort detail–Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; audio support depends on the host Mac
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data, camera, microphone and speakers. Device charging works without a host connected.
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 system with 49 W output
Webcam detail–Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand8.6 kg10.7 kg
VESA pattern–Requires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)Current UK specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). Original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm; both give 10.7 kg.
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlBrightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Separate captive universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareMac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Original requirement Mac with Mini DisplayPort and Mac OS X 10.6.4 or later. July 2010 announcement specifies September availability.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 5.0; EPEAT Gold in the US, Canada, France, Germany and UK
In the box–Display, AC power cord and printed documentation

More comparisons