Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Alienware 25 320Hz (AW2525HM)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Alienware 25 320Hz (AW2525HM)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)DellAlienware 25 320Hz (AW2525HM)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002July 2025
Display
Screen size23″24.5″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)1920 × 1080 (Full HD)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)90 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS (Fast IPS)
Refresh rate–320 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–0.5 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits400 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Colour range–99% sRGB
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Adaptive sync–G-Sync Compatible, FreeSync Premium, VESA AdaptiveSync, HDMI VRR
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth16.7 million colours
sRGB coverage–99%
Colour modes–FPS, MOBA/RTS, RPG, Sports, three custom game modes
Response time detail–0.5 ms grey-to-grey minimum, 1 ms typical (Extreme)
Variable refresh range–48–320 Hz over DisplayPort; 48–255 Hz over HDMI (vertical scan range)
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical)
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2829 mm x 0.2802 mm (90 ppi)
Eye care–ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland Category 3); flicker-free
Connections
Video inputsApple Display Connector2 × HDMI 2.1 (TMDS), DisplayPort 1.4
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
Ethernet–No
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–2 x HDMI (HDCP 1.4 and 2.3), up to 1920 x 1080 at 255 Hz (TMDS) with HDR and VRR as specified in HDMI 2.1
DisplayPort detail–1 x DisplayPort 1.4 (HDCP 1.4 and 2.3), up to 1920 x 1080 at 320 Hz with HDR
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubUSB 5Gbps; 1 x USB-B upstream; 2 x USB-A (one with BC1.2 charging)
Design
Stand adjustsTiltHeight, tilt, swivel, pivot (better)
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg6.07 kg
Height adjustment–110 mm
Tilt–-5° to 21°
Swivel–-20° to 20°
Pivot–-90° to 90°
VESA pattern–100 x 100 mm
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)555.59 x 206 x 390.73–500.73 mm (W x D x H)
Size without stand–555.59 x 68.89 x 329.50 mm (W x D x H)
Weight without stand–3.69 kg
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelDark blue
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less18.1 W on mode, 0.5 W standby, 0.3 W off, 65 W maximum
Energy class–E
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.5 A (typical)
Certifications–NVIDIA G-SYNC Compatible, AMD FreeSync Premium, VESA AdaptiveSync Display, TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light (Category 3)
Warranty–3 years limited hardware with Advanced Exchange Service (UK)
In the box–Stand, power cable, DisplayPort 1.4 cable (1.8 m), HDMI 2.1 TMDS cable (1.8 m), USB-A to USB-B 5Gbps cable (1.8 m), Alienware sticker
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.–

More comparisons