Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell 24 240Hz Monitor (SE2426HG)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with 24 240Hz Monitor (SE2426HG)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)Dell24 240Hz Monitor (SE2426HG)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002January 2026
Display
Screen size23″23.8″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)1920 × 1080 (Full HD)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)93 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–240 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–0.5 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits300 nits (better)
HDR formats–HDR10
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Colour range–99% sRGB
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Adaptive sync–FreeSync Premium, HDMI VRR
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth16.7 million colours (8-bit)
sRGB coverage–99%
Colour modes–FPS, MOBA/RTS, Sports, RPG and three custom game modes
HDR detail–HDR10 (Dell UK), over DisplayPort and HDMI
Response time detail–0.5 ms minimum, 1 ms (Extreme); 3 ms (Super Fast); 5 ms (Fast) grey to grey
Variable refresh range–48–240 Hz (vertical refresh range)
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical)
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2745 mm x 0.2745 mm (93 ppi)
Eye care–ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland Category 3); TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (3 star); flicker-free
Connections
Video inputsApple Display Connector2 × HDMI 2.1 (TMDS), DisplayPort 1.4
USB-C chargingNoneNone
Ethernet–No
USB ports2 × USB-A–
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–2 x HDMI (HDCP 2.3), up to 1920 x 1080 at 240 Hz with VRR and HDR as specified in HDMI 2.1 (TMDS)
DisplayPort detail–1 x DisplayPort 1.4 (HDCP 2.3), up to 1920 x 1080 at 240 Hz with HDR
Audio out–3.5 mm headphone jack
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hub–
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg3.36 kg
Tilt–-5° to 21°
VESA pattern–100 x 100 mm
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)538.84 x 188 x 412.30 mm (W x D x H)
Size without stand–538.84 x 47.20 x 317.05 mm (W x D x H)
Weight without stand–2.72 kg
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelBlack
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less14 W on mode, 0.3 W standby, 0.3 W off, 40 W maximum
Energy class–D
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 0.8 A
Certifications–AMD FreeSync Premium, TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (3 star), TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light (Category 3)
Warranty–3 years limited hardware with Advanced Exchange Service (UK)
In the box–Stand, power cable, HDMI cable (1.8 m)
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.–

More comparisons