Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| HonorMagic6 Pro | HonorMagic8 Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | January 2024 | January 2026 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.8″ | 6.71″ |
| Resolution | 2800 × 1280 (better) | 2808 × 1256 |
| Sharpness | 453 pixels per inch | 458 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | LTPO OLED | LTPO OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 5,000 nits | 6,000 nits (better) |
| Display type | Quad-curved OLED; 1.07 billion colours; 19.69:9 aspect ratio | LTPO OLED, FHD+, 1.07 billion colours |
| Pixel density | 453 ppi | – |
| Brightness detail | 5,000 nits HDR peak and 1,600 nits all-screen peak, maker laboratory figures | 6,000 nits HDR peak; 4,000 nits peak at 20% of the screen; 1,800 nits global peak; 1 nit minimum |
| Always-on display | All-round always-on display with messages and incoming-call notifications | – |
| Screen protection | HONOR NanoCrystal Shield; SGS five-star glass drop-resistance certification | HONOR NanoCrystal Shield (SGS 5-star drop resistance) |
| Display features | 1–120 Hz adaptive LTPO; 4,320 Hz PWM dimming at low brightness, dynamic dimming, circadian mode and Natural Tone; TÜV Rheinland Full Care, Circadian Friendly and Flicker Free certifications | 1–120 Hz adaptive refresh rate; 4320 Hz PWM dimming (switched on manually, works in low light); Chip-Level AI Defocus Display; Dynamic Dimming; Circular Polarized Display 2.0; AI Circadian Night Display; TÜV Rheinland Full Care Display 5.0 certification |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 |
| Memory | 12 GB | 12 GB |
| Storage | 512 GB | 512 GB |
| CPU | Octa-core (one Cortex-X4 at 3.3 GHz, three Cortex-A720 at 3.2 GHz, two Cortex-A720 at 3.0 GHz, two Cortex-A520 at 2.3 GHz) | Octa-core; 2 × Prime cores at 4.6 GHz and 6 × Performance cores at 3.62 GHz |
| GPU | Adreno 750 | Adreno 840 |
| Storage type | UK factory 12 GB / 512 GB pair; no expansion (Tech Advisor). Maker pair controls over Tech Advisor's conflicting 16 GB prose and 12 GB table. | – |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 180 MP | 200 MP |
| Optical zoom | 2.5× | 3.7× (better) |
| Front camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Main camera | 50 MP, 1/1.3-inch sensor, f/1.4–f/2.0 adjustable aperture and OIS | 50 MP Ultra Night Main Camera, 23 mm, ƒ/1.6, 1/1.3-inch sensor, OIS, 4-in-1 2.4 μm large pixel output |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP f/2.0, 122° field of view and 2.5 cm macro | 50 MP Ultra Wide Camera, ƒ/2.0, 122° field of view, 2.5 cm HD macro |
| Telephoto camera | 180 MP periscope, 1/1.49-inch sensor, f/2.6 and OIS | 200 MP Ultra Night Telephoto Camera, 85 mm, 3.7× optical zoom, ƒ/2.6, 1/1.4-inch sensor, OIS |
| Front camera | 50 MP f/2.0 autofocus, 90° field of view, plus 3D depth-sensing camera | 50 MP, ƒ/2.0, 90° field of view, plus a 3D depth-sensing camera |
| Zoom | 2.5x optical and up to 100x digital zoom | 3.7× optical; digital zoom up to 200× (added by a software update) |
| Video recording | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 at 60 fps; OIS plus EIS | Up to 4K (3840 × 2160) at 120 fps; EIS and OIS |
| Front video | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 | Up to 4K (3840 × 2160) |
| Camera features | AI Motion Sensing Capture, AI photography, aperture control, multi-video, night, portrait, pro, panorama, document scan, high-resolution, super macro, time-lapse, slow motion, light painting and HDR | CIPA 6.5-stop stabilisation on the main and telephoto cameras; Magic Color AI colour tuning; Ultra Night, Stabilization and Portrait engines; Stage Mode; Moving Photo; High-Res photos up to 16,320 × 12,288 pixels; single LED flash |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 5,600 mAh | 6,270 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 80 W | Up to 100 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | Up to 66 W | Up to 80 W (better) |
| Battery life detail | 5,600 mAh typical, 5,500 mAh rated lithium-polymer silicon-carbon battery; HONOR E1 power-management chip | Silicon-carbon battery; rated capacity 6,090 mAh; EU energy label class A, 63 h 53 min per charge, 1,600 charge cycles |
| Wired charging | 80 W HONOR SuperCharge, up to 20 V/4 A; compatible with 11 V/6 A, 10 V/4 A, 10 V/2.25 A, 5 V/4.5 A and 9 V/2 A. Maker rating controls over Tech Advisor's 100 W claim. | 100 W HONOR SuperCharge (up to 20 V/5 A); charger sold separately |
| Wireless charging | Up to 66 W Wireless SuperCharge; compatible charging base sold separately | 80 W HONOR Wireless SuperCharge; wireless charger sold separately |
| Charges other devices | OTG reverse power supply up to 5 V/1 A; reverse wireless charging supported (Tech Advisor), wattage not specified | Wired reverse power over USB-C OTG, up to 5 V/1 A |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 229 g | 219 g (better) |
| Thickness | 8.9 mm | 8.4 mm (better) |
| Height × width | 162.5 × 75.8 mm | 161.15 × 75 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | IP68 |
| Stylus | – | No |
| Materials | Black glass back, 229 g; Epi Green PU back, 225 g. Main weight and image show Black; aluminium frame described by Tech Advisor. | – |
| Colours | Black and Epi Green | Sunrise Gold, Sky Cyan, Black |
| Buttons | – | AI Button, separate from the power button (double press opens Camera, long press opens AI Screen Suggestions; customisable) |
| Water resistance detail | IP68 laboratory test at up to 1.5 m static water for 30 minutes, water/device temperature difference no more than 5°C; resistance can decrease with wear | IP68 and IP69 under IEC 60529, IP69K under ISO 20653:2023; EU label gives immersion to 2 m |
| Biometrics | Fingerprint reader and secure 3D face unlock; optical in-screen reader identified by Tech Advisor | 3D face unlock (time-of-flight depth camera) and 3D ultrasonic in-display fingerprint sensor |
| Sensors | Gravity, infrared, fingerprint, gyroscope, compass, ambient light and proximity; infrared remote control | Gravity sensor, infrared sensor (infrared remote control), fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope, compass, ambient light sensor, proximity sensor |
| Speakers | Stereo with DTS:X Ultra | Stereo speakers (dual 1216 units); HONOR AI Surround Subwoofer with an 8 cc sound chamber; HONOR Sound |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | MagicOS 8.0 based on Android 14; first China sales in January 2024, later UK/global launch | MagicOS 10 (based on Android 16) |
| Software updates | Four major Android updates and five years of security updates; maker UK buy page lists February 2024 to February 2029 security period | At least 5 years of security, corrective and functionality updates (EU product information sheet) |
| AI features | Magic Portal drag-and-drop across apps, AI Privacy Call, HONOR C1+ RF chip and S1 discrete security chip; Magic Capsule and Magic Ring described by Tech Advisor | HONOR AI with AI Screen Suggestions, AI Settings Agent and AI Photos Agent (AI Eraser, AI Outpainting, AI Cutout); Magic Portal; Google Gemini with Gemini Live |
| Safety features | – | AI Deepfake Detection and AI Voice Cloning Detection for calls and video chats |
| In the box | Phone with battery, USB-C cable, quick-start guide, SIM eject tool, regional warranty card and pre-attached protective film; no charger | Phone, USB-C cable, quick start guide, eject tool, warranty card, screen protector film (fitted); no charger |
| Connectivity | ||
| Satellite messaging | – | No |
| Mobile network | 5G NR, LTE TDD/FDD, WCDMA and GSM; HONOR C1+ RF enhancement chip | 5G (NR); 4G (LTE TDD and FDD); 3G (WCDMA); 2G (GSM) |
| SIM | Nano-SIM plus nano-SIM or eSIM depending on market and carrier | Dual SIM (SIM1 + SIM2, SIM1 + eSIM, or eSIM1 + eSIM2) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be, 2x2 MIMO; maker lists 2.4 and 5 GHz, hotspot and Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be), 2.4, 5 and 6 GHz, 2×2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3, BLE; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX and aptX HD. Maker version controls over Tech Advisor's 5.4 prose. | Bluetooth 6.0; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX, aptX HD, aptX Adaptive, aptX Lossless, LC3 and LHDC 5.0 |
| NFC | Reader/writer and card-emulation modes; SIM-based NFC on SIM1 only, no peer-to-peer mode | NFC (card emulation and reader/writer modes) |
| USB | USB-C with OTG; generation not stated in maker sheet | USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 1; no headphone jack |
| Positioning | GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou and Galileo; network and Wi-Fi positioning | GPS (L1+L5), A-GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou (B1I+B1C+B2a+B2b), Galileo (E1+E5a+E5b), QZSS (L1+L5) |
More comparisons
- Honor Magic8 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S26 FE
- Honor Magic8 Pro vs OPPO Find X9 Ultra
- Honor Magic8 Pro vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 17T
- Honor Magic8 Pro vs Nothing Phone (4a) Pro
- Honor Magic V6 vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic V6 vs Honor Magic6 Pro
- Honor Magic8 Pro vs Nothing Phone (4a)
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
- Honor Magic8 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S26+
- Honor HONOR 400 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic7 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic5 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic8 Lite vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Lite
- Honor Magic V5 vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic7 Lite vs Honor Magic8 Pro

