OnePlus OnePlus 7T vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OnePlusOnePlus 7T | OnePlusOnePlus 8 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | September 2019 | April 2020 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.55″ | 6.55″ |
| Resolution | 2400 × 1080 | 2400 × 1080 |
| Sharpness | 402 pixels per inch | 402 pixels per inch |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 90 Hz | 90 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 1,000 nits | 1,100 nits (better) |
| Display type | Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio; flat screen with a waterdrop notch | Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio; 6.55 inches as a full rectangle or 6.34 inches accounting for rounded corners |
| Pixel density | 402 ppi | 402 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Up to 1,000 nits, stated in the maker's launch release | Up to 1,100 nits, stated in the UK overview footnote |
| Screen protection | 2.5D Corning Gorilla Glass; maker does not state its generation | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker |
| Display features | 90 Hz, HDR10+, sRGB and Display P3; video enhancer, reading mode and night mode | 90 Hz; HDR10 and HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color Effect; maker reports JNCD 0.4 colour accuracy. OnePlus's product manager confirms 180 Hz touch response in the official launch Q&A. |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 855 Plus | Snapdragon 865 |
| Memory | 8 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB (better) |
| Storage | 128 GB | 128 GB, 256 GB (better) |
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 Plus; octa-core, 7 nm, up to 2.96 GHz; Qualcomm AI Engine | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 640 | Adreno 650 |
| Storage type | 8 GB LPDDR4X RAM; 128 GB UFS 3.0 two-lane storage in the UK; the 256 GB Indian review configuration is not substituted for UK availability | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 48 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 12 MP | None |
| Optical zoom | 2× (better) | None |
| Front camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, 1/2-inch sensor, f/1.6, seven-element lens, 0.8 µm pixels or 1.6 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS and EIS | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.75, 0.8 µm pixels, six-element lens, OIS and EIS |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP, f/2.2, 117° field of view; close-up focusing down to 2.5 cm with Macro Mode | 16 MP, f/2.2, 116° field of view |
| Telephoto camera | 12 MP, f/2.2, 1.0 µm pixels; 2× optical zoom | – |
| Front camera | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.0, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | 2× optical telephoto | No optical telephoto; 2× in-sensor zoom |
| Video recording | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse and video editor. The historical sheet promises 720p 960 fps through a later update; completion was not verified. | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse |
| Camera features | Phase and contrast autofocus; dual LED flash; UltraShot, Nightscape, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, HDR, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouching | Additional 2 MP macro camera, f/2.4, 1.75 µm pixels and 4 cm focus distance confirmed in the official camera Q&A; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, cat and dog focus, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouching |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 3,800 mAh | 4,300 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 30 W | Up to 30 W |
| Wireless charging | None | None |
| Battery life detail | Non-removable 3,800 mAh battery | Non-removable battery; 4,300 mAh typical and 4,230 mAh rated |
| Wired charging | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; proprietary charging adapter and cable included | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 22 minutes under laboratory conditions. OnePlus's product manager also confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A. |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 190 g | 180 g (better) |
| Thickness | 8.13 mm | 8 mm (better) |
| Height × width | 160.94 × 74.44 mm | 160.2 × 72.9 mm |
| Materials | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass back | – |
| Colours | Glacier Blue and Frosted Silver | UK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Interstellar Glow was also announced globally with later May availability in the German maker release |
| Buttons | Alert Slider, volume and power buttons; gestures and on-screen navigation supported | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported |
| Water resistance detail | No maker-published IP rating; the reviews also note the absence of certification | No maker-published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; US carrier certification is not applied to it |
| Biometrics | Optical in-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity and sensor core | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity and sensor core |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos |
| Microphones | Noise cancellation support | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | OxygenOS based on Android 10 | OxygenOS based on Android 10 |
| In the box | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, pre-applied screen protector and SIM ejector | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | 4G LTE; 4×4 MIMO, five-carrier download aggregation, up to Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier support; EU LTE includes bands 20, 28 and 32 | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes |
| SIM | Dual nano-SIM on the unlocked model | Dual nano-SIM; the historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 5, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.0; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC and AAC | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; supplied Warp cable supports USB 2.0 | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 |
| Positioning | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 7T
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- Google Pixel 5 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 7T vs OnePlus OnePlus 8T
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8T
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs vivo X50 Pro+
- OnePlus Nord vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs vivo X50 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs vivo X50
- OnePlus OnePlus 7T vs vivo X50
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs Xiaomi POCO F2 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs Samsung Galaxy S20
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs Xiaomi Mi 10

