OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OnePlusOnePlus 8 | OnePlusOnePlus 8 Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | April 2020 | April 2020 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.55″ | 6.78″ |
| Resolution | 2400 × 1080 | 3168 × 1440 (better) |
| Sharpness | 402 pixels per inch | 513 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 90 Hz | 120 Hz (better) |
| Peak brightness | 1,100 nits | 1,300 nits (better) |
| Display type | Fluid AMOLED; 20:9 aspect ratio; 6.55 inches as a full rectangle or 6.34 inches accounting for rounded corners | Fluid AMOLED; 19.8:9 aspect ratio; 6.78 inches as a full rectangle or 6.55 inches accounting for rounded corners |
| Pixel density | 402 ppi | 513 ppi |
| Brightness detail | Up to 1,100 nits, stated in the UK overview footnote | Up to 1,300 nits, stated in the maker's overview and launch release |
| Screen protection | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker | 3D Corning Gorilla Glass; generation not specified by the maker |
| Display features | 90 Hz; HDR10 and HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Reading Mode, Night Mode and Vibrant Color Effect; maker reports JNCD 0.4 colour accuracy. OnePlus's product manager confirms 180 Hz touch response in the official launch Q&A. | 120 Hz at QHD resolution; HDR10+; sRGB and Display P3; Adaptive Display, Vibrant Color Effect Pro, motion graphics smoothing, Reading Mode and Night Mode |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 865 | Snapdragon 865 |
| Memory | 8 GB – 12 GB | 8 GB – 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB | 128 GB, 256 GB |
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem | Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 with Snapdragon X55 5G modem |
| GPU | Adreno 650 | Adreno 650 |
| Storage type | LPDDR4X RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor | LPDDR5 RAM; UFS 3.0 two-lane storage; UK 8/128 GB and 12/256 GB pairings confirmed by TechAdvisor |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 48 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP | 48 MP |
| Telephoto camera | None | 8 MP |
| Optical zoom | None | None |
| Front camera | 16 MP | 16 MP |
| Main camera | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/1.75, 0.8 µm pixels, six-element lens, OIS and EIS | Sony IMX689, 48 MP, 1/1.4-inch sensor, f/1.78, seven-element lens, 1.12 µm pixels or 2.24 µm with four-to-one binning at 12 MP; OIS, EIS, dual native ISO and 2×2 on-chip lens |
| Ultra wide camera | 16 MP, f/2.2, 116° field of view | Sony IMX586, 48 MP, f/2.2, 120° field of view; Super Macro focuses down to 3 cm, confirmed in OnePlus's official camera Q&A |
| Telephoto camera | – | 8 MP output, f/2.44, 1.0 µm pixels and OIS; official camera Q&A identifies a 13 MP sensor with 57 mm equivalent focal length and an 8 MP crop for the 3× setting |
| Front camera | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS | Sony IMX471, 16 MP, f/2.45, 1.0 µm pixels, fixed focus and EIS |
| Zoom | No optical telephoto; 2× in-sensor zoom | Maker specifies 3× hybrid zoom and up to 30× digital zoom; a 3× optical magnification is not published and is not inferred from the hybrid setting |
| Video recording | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor | 4K and 1080p at 30 or 60 fps; slow motion at 1080p 240 fps or 720p 480 fps; time-lapse at 1080p or 4K 30 fps; video editor |
| Front video | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse | 1080p at 30 fps; time-lapse |
| Camera features | Additional 2 MP macro camera, f/2.4, 1.75 µm pixels and 4 cm focus distance confirmed in the official camera Q&A; phase and contrast autofocus, dual LED flash, cinematic aspect ratio, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, cat and dog focus, AI scene detection and RAW; front HDR, screen flash and face retouching | Additional 5 MP colour-filter camera, f/2.4; all-pixel omnidirectional phase, laser and contrast autofocus; dual LED flash; cinematic aspect ratio, video HDR, UltraShot HDR, Nightscape, Super Macro, Portrait, Pro, Panorama, pet focus, AI scene detection, RAW, Audio Zoom and Audio 3D |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 4,300 mAh | 4,510 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 30 W | Up to 30 W |
| Wireless charging | None | Up to 30 W (better) |
| Battery life detail | Non-removable battery; 4,300 mAh typical and 4,230 mAh rated | Non-removable battery; 4,510 mAh typical and 4,410 mAh rated |
| Wired charging | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 22 minutes under laboratory conditions. OnePlus's product manager also confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A. | Warp Charge 30T, 5 V/6 A; maker reports 1–50% in 23 minutes under laboratory conditions; included adapter and cable. OnePlus's product manager confirms USB Power Delivery at 5 V/3 A in the launch Q&A. |
| Wireless charging | – | Warp Charge 30 Wireless at 30 W with the separate OnePlus stand; maker reports 1–50% in 30 minutes under laboratory conditions; Qi BPP/EPP compatibility up to 10 W |
| Charges other devices | – | Reverse Qi wireless charging, tested by TechRadar; maker wattage not verified |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 180 g (better) | 199 g |
| Thickness | 8 mm (better) | 8.5 mm |
| Height × width | 160.2 × 72.9 mm | 165.3 × 74.3 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | – | IP68 |
| Materials | – | Matte AG glass finish on Glacial Green; body thickness ranges from 8.5 to 8.99 mm in the maker's footnote |
| Colours | UK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Interstellar Glow was also announced globally with later May availability in the German maker release | UK Onyx Black with 8/128 GB and Glacial Green with 12/256 GB, according to TechAdvisor; Ultramarine Blue was also announced globally |
| Buttons | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported | Alert Slider; gestures and on-screen navigation supported |
| Water resistance detail | No maker-published IP rating for the UK unlocked model; US carrier certification is not applied to it | IP68 under IEC 60529 laboratory conditions; maker warns that resistance can decrease with age |
| Biometrics | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock | In-display fingerprint sensor and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity and sensor core | Fingerprint sensor, accelerometer, electronic compass, gyroscope, ambient light, proximity, sensor core, laser, flicker detection and front RGB sensor |
| Speakers | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos | Dual stereo speakers; Dolby Atmos, Audio 3D and Audio Zoom |
| Microphones | Noise cancellation support | Noise cancellation support |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | OxygenOS based on Android 10 | OxygenOS based on Android 10 |
| In the box | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector | Phone, Warp Charge 30 adapter, Warp USB-C cable, quick start guide, welcome letter, safety and warranty information, logo sticker, case, screen protector and SIM ejector |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes | Snapdragon X55; 4×4 MIMO, up to LTE Cat 18 download and Cat 13 upload, 1.2 Gbit/s and 150 Mbit/s subject to carrier; UK 5G n1/n3/n7/n28 in NSA mode and n78 in SA/NSA modes |
| SIM | Dual nano-SIM; the historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified | Dual nano-SIM; historical maker sheet specifies dual 4G or single 5G at launch, with later dual-SIM improvements promised through an update; completion was not verified |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; 2×2 MIMO on 2.4 and 5 GHz |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC | Bluetooth 5.1; aptX, aptX HD, LDAC, AAC and SBC |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 | USB-C, USB 3.1 Gen 1; standard USB-C earphones supported; included Warp cable supports USB 2.0 |
| Positioning | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS | Dual-band GPS L1/L5 and Galileo E1/E5a; GLONASS, BeiDou and A-GPS |
More comparisons
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 15 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 10 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs Xiaomi Xiaomi 11T Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 9
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs OnePlus OnePlus 9 Pro
- Google Pixel 5 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs OnePlus OnePlus 8T
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy Note20
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 Pro vs Xiaomi Mi 10 Ultra
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs vivo X50 Pro+
- OnePlus Nord vs OnePlus OnePlus 8
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs vivo X50 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs vivo X50
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs Xiaomi POCO F2 Pro
- OnePlus OnePlus 8 vs Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G

