Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC) | AppleCinema Display (22-inch, ADC) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | January 2003 | July 2000 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 20″ | 22″ |
| Resolution | 1680 × 1050 (better) | 1600 × 1024 |
| Sharpness | 99 pixels per inch (better) | 86 pixels per inch |
| Panel | IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet) | LCD (Thin-film transistor active-matrix LCD; Apple does not identify a panel subtype in the original specification sheet read) |
| Brightness (typical) | 230 nits (better) | 180 nits |
| Contrast ratio | 350:1 | 300:1 |
| Screen finish | Matte | Matte |
| Shape | Flat | Flat |
| Colour depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not identify the panel bit depth |
| Viewing angles | 170° horizontally and vertically | 160° horizontally and vertically, typical |
| Pixel pitch | 0.258 mm | – |
| Connections | ||
| Video inputs | Apple Display Connector | Apple Display Connector |
| USB-C charging | None | None |
| USB ports | 2 × USB-A | 2 × USB-A |
| Speakers | No | – |
| Other connections | Captive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac | Captive Apple Display Connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate display power cord |
| USB hub detail | Two-port self-powered USB hub | Two-port self-powered USB hub, with support for Power Mac G4 Cube speakers |
| Design | ||
| Stand adjusts | Tilt | Tilt |
| VESA mount | No | – |
| Weight with stand | 8.6 kg | 11.4 kg |
| Size with stand | 542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth) | 588 × 479 × 210 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 310 mm (width × height × depth) |
| Controls | System power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control | System power, sleep and wake, brightness |
| Colours | Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel | Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with graphite bezel |
| Power and support | ||
| Power use | Maximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less | Maximum 77 W when operating; 35 W or less in energy saver mode |
| Power supply | 24.5–28 V DC through ADC | 28 V DC ± 1.5 V through ADC |
| Software | Mac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row. | Requires a Power Mac G4 or Power Mac G4 Cube with Apple Display Connector |
More comparisons
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2426H)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Dell 24 240Hz Monitor (SE2426HG)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2425HM)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (27-inch)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch)
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) vs Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC)
- Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)
- Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI)

