Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) compared with Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC)AppleCinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2003October 2004
Display
Screen size20″29.7″
Resolution1680 × 10502560 × 1600 (WQXGA) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch102 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple June 2004 Technology Overview); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 30-inch datasheet. Main brightness and contrast describe the original published generation.)
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Brightness (typical)230 nits270 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:1400:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detail–Original June 2004 Apple Technology Overview specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions, so main grey-to-grey response is omitted. Original brightness is 270 cd/m² and contrast 400:1. Archived support table later gives 400 cd/m² and 400:1; Japanese specifications give 400 cd/m², 700:1 and 14 ms. These later figures are not substituted into the original main fields.
Viewing angles170° horizontally and verticallyOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.250 mm
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorDVI
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
SpeakersNo–
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped MacCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computer
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand8.6 kg12.5 kg
VESA pattern–Optional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 C
Size with stand542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)688 × 543 × 215 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specifications
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferences
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelAluminium enclosure
Power and support
Power useMaximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 150 W; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCExternal A1098 150 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC output
SoftwareMac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Apple's June 2004 UK press release promised August sale, but delivery slipped into autumn (Computerworld/Macworld). Main release month follows MacRumors' October 2004 shipping report. At launch Apple specified Power Mac G5 with NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL for native resolution; a dual-link DVI graphics connection is required. Original manual explicitly specifies 2560 × 1600 at 60 Hz and 29.7-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows June 2004 maker Technology Overview (12.5 kg); original manual gives 12.31 kg and archived support table 12.47 kg. No basis for the discrepancies is stated.
In the box–Display with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning cloth

More comparisons