Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2425HM)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Pro 24 Monitor (E2425HM)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)DellPro 24 Monitor (E2425HM)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002March 2025
Display
Screen size23″23.8″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)1920 × 1080 (Full HD)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)93 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–100 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–5 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits250 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Colour range–72% NTSC
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth16.7 million colours
Response time detail–5 ms (Fast), 8 ms (Normal) grey to grey
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical)
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2745 mm x 0.2745 mm (93 ppi)
Eye care–ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland Category 3); TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (3 star); flicker-free
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorHDMI 1.4, DisplayPort 1.2
USB-C chargingNoneNone
Ethernet–No
USB ports2 × USB-A–
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–1 x HDMI 1.4 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 100 Hz
DisplayPort detail–1 x DisplayPort 1.2 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 100 Hz; also 1 x VGA, up to 1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hub–
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg3.6 kg
Tilt–-5° to 21°
VESA pattern–100 x 100 mm
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)538.64 x 171 x 412.35 mm (W x D x H)
Size without stand–538.64 x 47.70 x 324.21 mm (W x D x H)
Weight without stand–2.81 kg
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel–
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less14.3 W on mode, 0.3 W standby, 0.3 W off, 28.5 W maximum
Energy class–D
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 0.7 A (typical)
Certifications–TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (3 star), TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light (Category 3), ENERGY STAR 8.0, TCO Certified Edge, EPEAT Gold and Climate+
Warranty–3 years limited hardware with Advanced Exchange Service (UK)
In the box–Stand, power cable, DisplayPort cable (1.8 m)
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.–

More comparisons