Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) compared with LED Cinema Display (24-inch)
AppleCinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)AppleLED Cinema Display (24-inch)
Overview
ReleasedOctober 2004November 2008
Display
Screen size29.7″24″
Resolution2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) (better)1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)
Sharpness102 pixels per inch (better)94 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple June 2004 Technology Overview); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 30-inch datasheet. Main brightness and contrast describe the original published generation.)IPS
Refresh rate60 Hz60 Hz
Brightness (typical)270 nits330 nits (better)
Contrast ratio400:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified. Macworld UK identifies an H-IPS LG-Philips LM240WU6-SDA1 panel; Apple describes TFT LCD without naming the IPS subtype.
Response time detailOriginal June 2004 Apple Technology Overview specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions, so main grey-to-grey response is omitted. Original brightness is 270 cd/m² and contrast 400:1. Archived support table later gives 400 cd/m² and 400:1; Japanese specifications give 400 cd/m², 700:1 and 14 ms. These later figures are not substituted into the original main fields.Typical 14 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing anglesOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.178° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch0.250 mm–
Connections
Video inputsDVIMini DisplayPort
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
Speakers–Yes
Webcam–iSight camera with microphone
DisplayPort detail–Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; original manual requires the separate USB connection for audio, camera, microphone and hub functions
Other connectionsCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computerThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 system with 12 W output in the original A1267 manual
Webcam detail–Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesYes
Weight with stand12.5 kg9.5 kg
VESA patternOptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 CRequires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand688 × 543 × 215 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specificationsCurrent specifications give 573.2 × 478.4 × 197.1 mm (width × height × depth) and 9.5 kg. Original manual gives 573.22 × 478.38 × 197.10 mm and 9.49 kg; the current rounded weight is retained.
ControlsSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferencesResolution, brightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursAluminium enclosureAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 150 W; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 212 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less
Power supplyExternal A1098 150 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC outputInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Separate captive universal MagSafe charging connector; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareApple's June 2004 UK press release promised August sale, but delivery slipped into autumn (Computerworld/Macworld). Main release month follows MacRumors' October 2004 shipping report. At launch Apple specified Power Mac G5 with NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL for native resolution; a dual-link DVI graphics connection is required. Original manual explicitly specifies 2560 × 1600 at 60 Hz and 29.7-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows June 2004 maker Technology Overview (12.5 kg); original manual gives 12.31 kg and archived support table 12.47 kg. No basis for the discrepancies is stated.Original requirement MacBook, MacBook Air or MacBook Pro with Mini DisplayPort. October 2008 announcement specifies November availability.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 4.0; EPEAT Gold
In the boxDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning clothDisplay, AC power cord, cleaning cloth and printed documentation

More comparisons