Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus QHD USB-C Hub (P2425DE)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Pro 24 Plus QHD USB-C Hub (P2425DE)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)DellPro 24 Plus QHD USB-C Hub (P2425DE)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002March 2025
Display
Screen size23″23.8″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)2560 × 1440 (QHD) (better)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch123 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–100 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–5 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits350 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,500:1
Colour range–99% sRGB
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth16.7 million colours
sRGB coverage–99% (CIE 1931)
Response time detail–5 ms (Fast), 8 ms (Normal)
Variable refresh range–48–100 Hz (vertical scan range)
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical)
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2058 mm x 0.2058 mm
Eye care–ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland Category 2); TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (4 star); flicker-free
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorHDMI 2.1 (TMDS), DisplayPort 1.4, USB-C
USB-C chargingNoneUp to 90 W (better)
USB ports2 × USB-AUSB-C, 3 × USB-A
Ethernet–Yes
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–1 x HDMI (HDCP 1.4), up to 2560 x 1440 at 100 Hz TMDS as specified in HDMI 2.1
DisplayPort detail–1 x DisplayPort 1.4 in (HDCP 1.4), up to 2560 x 1440 at 100 Hz; 1 x DisplayPort out with MST
USB-C detail–USB-C 5Gbps upstream (DisplayPort 1.4 Alt Mode, Power Delivery up to 90 W); 1 x USB-C 5Gbps downstream quick-access port (15 W)
Daisy chaining–DisplayPort out (MST)
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubUSB 5Gbps; 2 x USB-A rear; quick access ports with 1 x USB-A and 1 x USB-C (15 W)
Design
Stand adjustsTiltHeight, tilt, swivel, pivot (better)
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg5.61 kg
Height adjustment–150 mm
Tilt–-5° to 21°
Swivel–-45° to 45°
Pivot–-90° to 90°
VESA pattern–100 x 100 mm
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)538.70 x 181.54 x 364.00–496.55 mm (W x D x H)
Size without stand–538.70 x 49.74 x 315.25 mm (W x D x H)
Weight without stand–3.78 kg
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel–
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less16.5 W on mode, 0.3 W standby, 1.0 W networked standby, 0.3 W off, 185 W maximum
Energy class–E
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 2.0 A (typical)
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Dell Display and Peripheral Manager
Certifications–TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (4 star), TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light (Category 2)
Warranty–3 years limited hardware with Advanced Exchange Service (UK)
In the box–Stand, power cable, DisplayPort 1.4 cable (1.8 m), USB-C to USB-C 5Gbps 100 W cable (1.8 m), USB-C to USB-A 5Gbps cable (1.8 m), cable tie

More comparisons